We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 556: English reviews
Mollymook, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Location is great and public areas are inviting BUT do not expect a welcome.receptionist sat partially hidden behind desk, did not come out, preferred to talk at distance.finally came to front and said booking for one night only. When clarified mumbled yes, when I asked if he had sorted situation. No information nor offer of help with luggage as I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela S
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela S I'm sorry to hear about your experience but I totally appreciate that our hotel didn't totally suit your needs. I apologise for any inconvenice caused during your stay. The items mentioned in your review have already been addressed with the staff concerned. This is not the service we aim to provide. TInterestingly, the parking rates offered by...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The room was TINY, the bed was sticking into the bathroom. There was no space to stand other than the bathroom or sit on the bed. Room smelt like mildew. The windows were painted shut and frosted. Staff were rude upon trying to make a reservation. I wouldn't recommend this "hotel" (motel) to my worst enemy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mel P
verysatisfied41, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mel P, Thank you for your feedback but I must point out the inaccuracies in your comments. Our Standard Rooms are on average approximately 16-18 square metres and although small, are very clean & comfortable. The bathrooms were added at a later stage (in the 1980's) but are functional and the beds do not stick into the bathrooms. There...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This room was a good price and the hotel is nice and close to the centre of Sydney. The room was really small and it basically had no window (it was blacked out with a permanent blind). This made it seem even smaller. The shower was good! I definitely wouldn't recommend it for more than one night.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deahne R
DenisR-Castlereagh, Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deahne, Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Castlereagh and for sharing your review on your experience. I was very sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your last stay and I would like to thank you for having said exactly what you felt was not perfect as this allows us to constantly improve...

Camden, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Got to the hotel earlier than the check in time to drop our bags off and the room was ready, check in was quick. Room was small but clean. Staff friendly. Great location. Good breakfast. Overall good value of money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
DenisR-Castlereagh, Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, First of all, allow me to thank you for having chosen The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel for your recent visit to Sydney and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We are glad to see that you enjoyed our very central location and that the room, service and our Full Buffet Breakfast contributed to your comfort during your stay...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I became aware of this hotel only through a membership of a group hotel membership program. Having not taken advantage of any of the entitlements of that program and the membership about to expire I took the opportunity to utilize the one free night accommodation voucher at the Castlereagh - a member of the group. On the website, where the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross C
DenisR-Castlereagh, Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ross, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced and if the room accommodations you received were not at par with your expectations. We are very attached to the quality of service delivered and do appreciate to be informed when our guests seem not fully satisfied. I also regret to...

Berry, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We stayed one night here over the Xmas holiday break as my wife got an exceptional deal through a travel site. I would have not liked to pay the full price as our overall experience was not good. We turned up just before check-in and was asked to leave our bags and come back which we did not mind. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
DenisR-Castlereagh, Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you for taking time to write a comprehensive review of our property. I am pleased that you found our location satisfactory, it does indeed allow an easy access to major Sydney attractions within few minutes walk. I am also glad to learn that you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast served in the elegant and refined atmosphere of...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We got a room here through Priceline's bidding site. Keeping our expectations low definitely helped. The room was tiny, barely bigger than the bed itself. That said, it was clean enough, bed was comfy, bathroom was adequate, and the staff was friendly. We felt safe and secure. Sure, this is a Freemason facility, but it wasn't "in your face" about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johnny N
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnny N Thank you sincerely for your honest feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. Indeed, this is not a modern new-build hotel, being actually built in 1927, however we work hard to ensure that it is well maintained, clean, comfortable and we respect our heritage features. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. These are...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2015

After staying 4 nights at this "boutique" hotel our overall view is that they don't know whether to be a 4/5 star hotel or the NSW Masonic Club. This aside, the hotel website says "no stay would be complete without dining in the splendour of their Cello restaurant". Unfortunately during our stay it was closed. The buffet breakfast consisted of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele C
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle C Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Unfortunately Cellos was closed at this time of year for maintenance after a hugely busy function & dining season, however level 2, Castlereagh Lounge was open. All breakfast items are cooked fresh daily but are heated in Bain Marie's, a practice used around the world to heat...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We booked 2 nights in December here as we love the style of the hotel and had our wedding reception here in 2013. It was to celebrate our anniversary so we were looking forward to being in the city for the time. Our room for the first night was on the 6th floor with a window that faced onto the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBruceW46
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DBruceW46, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel and congratulations on your 2nd year Anniversary ! I am sorry that you didn't receive the card & amenity that I personally placed in your room and for your restless first night stay. We don't like hearing this at all. My Maintenance Supervisor and I will...

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely loved by my friend and myself. Very prompt and efficient service by receptionist Armindo who was happy to help us with anything we needed. The room sizes, while relatively small were absolutely perfect. We were using the hotel to sleep and relax and that was perfect! It also helped keep the feel of the boutique historical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachael J
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your Rachael J for your lovely comments. The team works very hard to maintain the Hotel to it's unique look & feel, a fact that we are very proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney. Kind Regards General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#119 of 179 in Sydney
1,855 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#51 of 179 in Sydney
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#44 of 179 in Sydney
554 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#79 of 179 in Sydney
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $162 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castlereagh Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Castlereagh Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room facing Castlereagh street can be noisy during the day because of traffic and construction.”
 of 5 bubbles 713margarets, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If asthmatic, don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles FARNCOMB, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure if there are any alernate room types, might be worth checking when you look to book. Do not get a room by the lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Trudi0, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotels of this nature often have rooms of varying sizes. Book as early as possible and ask for a room near the front.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisR647, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Location is within easy walking distance of the train to and from the Airport. One train station is a little more than a city block away.”
 of 5 bubbles blacklocus, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5