We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Panoramas (35)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The York by Swiss-Belhotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 821: English reviews
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We phoned the hotel direct and booked a one bedroom apartment for one night, an easy process. On check-in we were informed that we had been upgraded to a deluxe two bedroom apartment, a delightful surprise. Very spacious apartment, comprising two large bedrooms with comfortable king beds, two bathrooms, large living areas, including separate laundry and kitchen and two balconies....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathtraveler2013
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and you enjoyed your stay with us! We can't wait for you to come back and see us again! Kind Regards

New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These are nice Appartments which were serviced every day. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. They were very clean and well stocked for the appliances to use. The staff were well informed and very friendly. The Appartments were located in the CBD and close to the Wynyard train station. It only took about 20 minutes from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy H
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are certainly very proud of the team and facilities that provided you with a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Great views, very polite and helpful staff and clean but the bed in the master and the single beds let down appartment 2302 could do with an upgrade. apart from that everything else was great and if it wasn't the beds I'd give it 4 stars but because of the older beds I will give it a 2 hopefully next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments some renovations will take place which will lift the standard of our apartments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards

Strathalbyn, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Very relaxing place to stay. Room well appointed with everything one would want for a stay. Outside pool beautiful with spa and sauna. Very much enjoyed my stay there. Clean and cool room. Private with a nice balcony. Staff very accommodating. Looked after us extremely well. Close walking distance to city shopping precinct. Will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selena P
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you found the location to be so convenient. I hope that the next time you are in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our new Swiss Super Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards SAm

Edinburgh
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed in York by Swiss for 3 nights at the end of January. The reception staff were really nice and welcoming. Our room was huge with a kitchen, sitting and dining area. There was also a washing machine and tumble dryer in the bathroom room. The hotel is across the road from Wynyard Station which is one stop from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hsqos
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Sydney. Regards Sam

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We have stayed at the York many , many times so there are no real surprises.We requested a one bedroom apartment similar to the one we had last year and were pleasantly surprised to get exactly what we requested. We were in room 1304 again one of the larger one bedroom apartments facing the church on Jamison and the bridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxim3m
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Sam Fakih

Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Very clean room, very friendly desk staff. Impressed with our delux studio apartment with the fit out and cupboard contents. Have to give zero for effort on request for a view. Being a celebration getaway and as one of us is claustrophobic the room allocated is very disappointing. We are here until Saturday ( a 3 night stay)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bribie-Bs
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and sorry we couldn't meet your request due to the high occupancy and the limited options on the day of your arrival. We look forward to have again with us in an apartment with a view Kind Regards Sam...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Arrival was slow, only one out of three lifts was operating and it took a very long time to get a lift from the car park to reception then to our room on the 27th floor. The view was lovely. We were disappointed that fitting a third person in the room meant a single bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahfromAus
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Stella, Unfortunately we had some issues with elevators on your check in day but all fixed now, we look forward...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

3 or a 4 depending on the price. I had a good price for this trip which made it reasonable, I have seen prices for other dates >$300 and heading to $400 and at those prices, you would question the value. They are very basic apartment rooms but still have what most people would need - doubt though if the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel during your stay. We are delighted that you have had the opportunity to experience the services we provide and make use of our central location. Apologies for the delay you experienced upon check in we are doing our best to maintain the required number of...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Apartment was on the 28th floor. Was so amazing to be able to be amongst the Sydney skyline and still see the harbour each time we looked out. Location was brilliant. Key sites were walkable or in easy reach of public transport. Hotel was clean and had all the facilities we needed. There were 6 of us in the apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
TheYorkSydney, Front Office Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and your and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again! Kind Regards Sam Fakih

631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Apartment (54)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Bedroom Executive Apartment (106)
Viewed
Pool and Jacuzzi (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
1,882 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
596 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $223 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suits have two balconies and a fab view”
 of 5 bubbles helen_greig, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your bed first”
 of 5 bubbles 695dond, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ninth floor. A bit noisy with the early morning traffic”
 of 5 bubbles HappyH805, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High up facing Jamison Street”
 of 5 bubbles Maxim3m, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We needed a 3 bedroom apartment which was on the top level. Was a real find.”
 of 5 bubbles 433clairet, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5