We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Sydney

Show Prices
#59 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,198: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just visited Australia from 16-24 Nov with my family, stayed in Mercure Sydney at Central station for initial 3nights and last night before return to Singapore. Great location and very convenience, room tidiness and cleanliness were so so. But hotel reception staffs seems to be very unfriendly to Asian visitor, they could smile , laugh and joke when serving the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Job C
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Job C I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Sydney. Whilst I am pleased you found the location of the hotel convenient for your needs, I am most disappointed to read your comments of the poor service you encountered at check-in. This is certainly not the usual high level of service to which we aspire to,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mercure Sydney is a fantastic place to stay in Sydney, especially if you are a smoker. My friend and I stayed there on 5th November 2016 to be close to our departure port the next day. We ordered room service which was delicious. We had a twin room and the beds were both double size, and SO COMFORTABLE. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueTjelland
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear SueTjelland Thank you for sharing your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am most pleased you had a comfortable stay with us, particularly enjoying the room service meal and your relaxing room. I trust you had a lovely cruise, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great the staff are friendly and the room are clean. Had a good stay and would stay again. close to shopping, restaurants and a decent place to base yourself while exploring sydney sights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hr682016
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear hr682016 Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. I am delighted you had a great stay, enjoying the facilities available. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B3357YKmatthewg
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Pakenham, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. Firstly, Sydney accomodation is generally overpriced. The Mercure Sydney was no exception. On the other hand, the Mercure was conveniently located to both the CBD and Surry Hills/Glebe. Staf were friendly. Rooms were clean and maintained but relatively average compared to other Accor hotels we have used at a similar price. One issue I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankpic56
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Frankpic56 Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased to note your overall stay was most satisfactory, and I have taken on board your constructive feedback regarding price and power plugs. I appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Kind regards Daniel Barnard...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a little dated and standard rooms are on the small side and a little austere. Blinds and no curtains for example. If you book one of the numerous offers available, often with a room upgrade, then it offers good value for money. All the staff we met were well trained, friendly and helpful. A good buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkAlwaystravelling
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear UkAlwaystravelling Thank you for sharing your review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased you found our staff most friendly and helpful and you enjoyed the buffet breakfast provided. I do advise that we are in the process of undergoing many upgrades around the hotel including a new lobby design and a light rooms refurbishment, just to name a few....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel many months prior to staying through the Accor website at $517 for two nights. We are LeClub Accor members so receive free internet and two drink vouchers. Booking was on a book now pay later deal so allows for flexibility in case of the unexpected. The room tariff included buffet breakfast for the two of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommomelbourne
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear tommomelbourne Thank you for sharing your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am most delighted you had a great stay, enjoying all the facilities we have available including the hotel's ideal location, excellent value for money, and the service provided by our staff, in particular Raj from Eve's Bar. I have passed on your comments both to Raj and the...

Canberra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by Sunny with a great smile and terrific personality. We were upgraded to a balcony room with great views to the city and it was comfortable with the usual amenities. We have stayed several times at this hotel so we knew that it was a great location. the staff is always friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mardez55
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Mardez55 Thank you for your positive review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased you had a great stay with us, highlighting the excellent service provided by Sunny. I have shared your comments with all the team and have personally thanked Sunny for her efforts. I appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel...

Batlow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Mercure Central in Sydney. The location is excellent offering access to all public transport options and major attractions of the city. There are very good eating places nearby and the welcome drink and bar at the Mercure was very good. The breakfast was also excellent. The facilities offered are comprehensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassidyp
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Cassidyp Thank you for sharing your review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased you had a great stay with us, enjoying the hotel's location and the facilities we have available. I appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Kind regards, Daniel Barnard General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would recommend Sydney Mercure to all. I have never come across a friendlier hotel team with such high regard for the happiness and comfort of guests. Everyone went above and beyond to see that I enjoyed my stay. Like all hotels some rooms vary from boxy to large but the cleanliness and creature comforts are all there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elise K
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Elise, Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Mercure Sydney. I am most delighted you had an enjoyable stay and am pleased to pass on your comments to all the team. Thank you for choosing Mercure Sydney and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

1,054 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (478)
Viewed
Room/Suite (146)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Balcony Room (51)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Privilege Room King (62)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (64)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Superior City View Room (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
1,159 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#35 of 179 in Sydney
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $176 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Sydney staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Western Australia

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms have less noise. Views of other buildings and general area”
 of 5 bubbles HolidayVibes, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Street facing,that will give a good view of the shopping area.”
 of 5 bubbles 392sampathn, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“North facing rooms have a better view,ask if you can get an up grade for a little price its worth every cent”
 of 5 bubbles Q9290KCdebbieb, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“city view facing clock tower so you know the time when you awake and on higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lucy9908, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a smoking room if you're a smoker.”
  • View from our double bed room on the 11th floor.
  • View from our double bed room on the 11th floor.
  • Our 'smoking' room. It was fantastic!
 of 5 bubbles SueTjelland, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay