We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Sydney

Show Prices
#56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Sydney
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,329: English reviews
Smithtown
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mercure Sydney is in a great position with easy access to the CBD, Darling Harbour and Chinatown., The hotel is clean and well appointed. Staff are helpful and very polite. With reasonably priced parking it is a great stepping off point for a trip to Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Dana Thank you for your review. I am most delighted you had a great stay with us, enjoying the hotel's ideal location, friendly & helpful service provided by our staff, and all the amenities we have available to our guests. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Kind regards Daniel Barnard...

Stdney
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor Room Service. Have to change our room three time despite its already confirmed from the hotel our room type. Poor concierge , not helpful at all Lack in communication within the hotel team Housekeeping need to be trained well, not hiring from the agency

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delta V
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Delta I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay with us. I have followed up with the relevant Managers on issues you raised and these will be addressed accordingly with their teams. My sincere apologies for the lapse in our standards on this occasion. I appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed there 4 nights. 2 double beds standard room with breakfast. Toilet is bit small for family but OK. Breakfast was really good. Lots of choices. Staffs are really friendly and good location. You can take bus or train just right front of hotel. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for sharing your review of Mercure Sydney. I am most pleased you and your family had a great stay with us, enjoying the delicious buffet breakfast, friendly service provided by our staff and the hotel's ideal location. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General...

Torquay
Reviewed 1 week ago

Seriously, I am told that my room has a city view. I look at a building and if I lean out I can see two buildings to the right. City View - NO. Air conditioners need a key to run so, hopefully it is not hot during the day - rooms would be very warm and they only provide a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
Daniel_Barnard, Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Justin I appreciate your feedback from your stay with us and sincerely regret your overall disappointment. Your comments are most valid and we will certainly review the issue of the air conditioning control. I do advise however that our receptionist can provide a blank key card specifically for this purpose when required. Further, our maintenance team will address the...

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights on business and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were exceptional, the bed comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. It is an old hotel that has been refurbished but has everything you could possibly need, including a well equipped Gym, sauna and pool on the 15th floor. The location is also pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Mercure Sydney. I am delighted you had a great experience with us, enjoying our facilities and the excellent service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived after our cruise to absolute chaos at the Mercure reception. After a very early disembarkation we really did not need the very long wait, 35 mins. to go thro the check-in process. The "on duty manager" a young girl complete in "career suit" was strutting about doing absolutely nothing! When I suggested she went to one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susieps23
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Susieps23 Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at Mercure Sydney. I sincerely regret your disappointment of your overall stay, in particularly the delay in check-in due to the incoming and outgoing of cruise passengers. This was a very busy period indeed and our staff assisted as best as they could. I do however apologies for the...

Redland City, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed five nights for our grandson's first trip to Sydney. Good friendly staff at reception for our arrival as after seeing our booked room we needed to upgrade to a suite as the twin Queen bed room was a little too small for a lengthy stay. The upgrade saw us with a full sofa as well as a tub chair...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meredith W
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Meredith Thank you for your review of Mercure Sydney. I am delighted you and your grandson had a great time with us, enjoying the friendly service provided by our staff, the comfortable room, and refreshing pool! I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Daniel Barnard General Manager

Wellington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights. The area itself is very central, although a bit soulless. Very handy for the central train station and bus hub. Quick, efficient check in. Fairly spacious room, although bathroom was a little dated. Good air con during a 36 degree heat wave. Not much street noise despite being near a busy road, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cproffitt
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear cproffitt Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Mercure Sydney. I am pleased to note you had a great stay, enjoying many of the facilities and amenities we have available. I do advise that we are in the process of replacing the hallway carpets which should be completed by the end of the year. I...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated next to Central Station, ideal for exploring Sydney. Mainly in a student area. Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, reasonably priced. Popular with airline staff between flights. Darling harbour within reasonable walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank villan52
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear villan52 Thank you for sharing your experience at Mercure Sydney. I am pleased your overall stay was most satisfactory, enjoying the hotel's convenient location and the friendly & helpful service provided by our staff. I appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Daniel Barnard General Manager

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the Mecure after our cruise, sadly we had to cue and wait to check in for over 20minutes, as many had arrived from our cruise and others were checking out. Our room was not available until 2.00pm which was fine. The room was small and a little disappointing, although it did have everything we needed but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
Daniel_Barnard, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lesley Thank you for posting a review. I sincerely regret your disappointment with your overall stay, in particularly the inconvenience caused due to the delay upon check-in with the arrival of the cruise passengers. I trust you had a great cruise and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney. Kind regards Daniel...

1,089 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (512)
Viewed
Room/Suite (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (152)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Balcony Room (51)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Privilege Room King (62)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (64)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (39)
Viewed
Superior City View Room (111)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 179 in Sydney
1,201 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
1,307 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $177 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Sydney staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Western Australia

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“better rooms north side”
 of 5 bubbles hybo, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a a Superior room for a great view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles stephenhO1083YO, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“6th floor was quiet, altho viiew was poor we had no noise from traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Susieps23, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our top floor south east corner room was quite quiet and although not much to view but central station rail yards.”
 of 5 bubbles MeredithW_13, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“City view is the best”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5