We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Booking.comUSD 173*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 780: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Unfortunately I was extremely disappointed with the smell of dampness and the out-dated room in 204. I felt sick with the smell and was worried about mould spores. The air con was so loud on top of the traffic noise being so low down. I regret not researching further as I would have asked for a carpark facing, up high,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angusmca360
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to submit feedback on your stay with the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. It was unfortunate to read of the elements you feel impacted your stay with us. We’d like to express our thanks for your feedback, and are regretful to read of the matters experienced during your stay. We ensure that your...

Daylesford, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We were two friends travelling to Sydney to see Collingwood play Sydney at the SCG and chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of the ground, as well as being across the road from Hyde Park and a hop, skip & jump from the Royal Botanic Gardens, St Mary's Cathedral, the NSW Art Gallery & The Domain. We...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Karen M
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Oaks hotels and resorts wish to thank you for making Oaks Hyde Park Plaza your choice accommodation in Sydney. I will proudly pass your feedback to Rachel and the rest of our team. Please note that positive feedback on our customer service goes a long way. Oaks Hyde Park Plaza continues to be well known for its great...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Great friendly helpful staff always happy to help. Location is great and the room was clean, spacious, warm and serviced everyday. I so loved the smell of the reception are every time you walked in. Would stay here again on my next trip to Sydney and I would recommend it to friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Madimuciuli12
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will proudly pass on your feedback to all my departments. It has been our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had a lovely room,full size fridge and lovely kitchen,spacious bathroom.The hotel was a short walk to the station,which was handy for returning to the airport.You can literally walk to everything from here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda255068
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you and appreciate your positive feedback in relation to your stay at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. Oaks Hyde Park Plaza continues to be well known for its great location. If you’re looking for accommodation in the heart of the Sydney CBD; Then Oaks Hyde Park Plaza has just what you’re after. My staff and...

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

BEWARE who you book through, as the apartments in Oaks are privately owned. Some decor quite nice and others poor/disgusting. Unfortunately we got the lower scale of apartment. Old old old from beds to furnishings. It wasnt even that clean. We bought some glen 20 to de bug it. Fantastic location though very central to everything. Wont ever go back....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ckhanmer
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. Your experience at the hotel is certainly not reflective of the standard of service and comfort that we strive to offer our guests and we would like to express our sincere apologies for the disappointment this has caused. It is...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This time I stayed for leisure rather than business and shared a 2 bedroom apartment with a friend. Apartment was well equipped and furnished fabulously! Staff as always were friendly and helpful. I love the new foyer! I have stayed at many places in Sydney and I will continue to return to the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza... See you next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette W
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to have you back with us at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. We were delighted to read of your enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again. Warm regards, Oaks Management

Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our visit to Sydney. The hotel is in a fantastic location and within walking distance to all the main attractions. The first room was good, but a bit faulty as the door kept jamming so we were moved to another room with an amazing view across Hyde park and to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very proud of the recent upgrades to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza and even more overjoyed when guests comment on how much they enjoyed their time here. Oaks Hyde Park Plaza continues to be well known for its great location. If you’re looking for accommodation...

Reviewed 9 August 2015

I was only here for one night on the third floor, staying in a room at the back. The view was nothing special but the room was very quiet. Large comfortable bed, 2 seater lounge, small table with 2 chairs and functional kitchen. No condiments in the kitchen only tea bags, coffee sachets, sugar and small milk tubs. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AVF1970
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Oaks hotels and resorts wish to thank you for making Oaks Hyde Park Plaza your choice accommodation in Sydney. Oaks Hyde Park Plaza continues to be well known for its great location. If you’re looking for accommodation in the heart of the Sydney CBD; Then Oaks Hyde Park Plaza has just what you’re after. Warm regards, Oaks Management

Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

It's was really ice the staff are very helpful and tell you where to go and how to get to the place for a nice meal overall is great I have a wonderful time even by just staying for a day I kind of miss this hotel I moment I left my first hotel stay in Sydney definitely is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cuzack W
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Oaks hotels and resorts would like to welcome you back to the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, you can be sure our friendly staff will be ready to greet you. Warm...

Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I booked a studio 4 apartment with balcony When we went to check in they said oh no there isn't a balcony , lucky I had my booking confirmation , he said sorry we have nothing left So he said I will upgrade you .. Well omg they call what we got an upgrade you have to be joking the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sonjaculburra
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing a valued feedback on your stay with us. I sincerely apologise for an unpleasant stay you had on this occasion due to the issues as mentioned. We always try to accommodate special requests i.e. balcony which are always subject to availability. Unfortunately we were not able to accommodate your balcony request due to non-availability....

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#71 of 176 in Sydney
628 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 176 in Sydney
993 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#70 of 176 in Sydney
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Darlinghurst

Neighbourhood Profile
Darlinghurst
Home of the small bar revolution in Sydney, Darlinghurst has more bars per capita than any other suburb. Themes range from American whiskey bars and 1950’s theme bars to hidden bars requiring secret passwords. Oxford Street is the "Gay Capital" of Australia, where gay and lesbian-friendly venues feature “diva shows” and dancing until the morning. Vintage lovers flock to Crown Street, and small designer boutiques can be found along Victoria and Bourke Streets. Dining in Darlinghurst is a gastronomic adventure. Food from all over the world is on the menu, from American ribs to tapas, sushi to gelato and every ethnicity in between.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Price Range: $138 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Hyde Park Plaza staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Wellington, New Zealand

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Hyde Park Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High up with a view if available (check out photo of the view from the studio I stayed in)!”
kymmccauley, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose the one at the back of the hotel as the room are quiet.”
kensteven1988, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not on the street side are very quiet and provide a city view..”
tomcM8489HQ, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try a room on the eastern side for a more quiet stay.”
maryW1053UK, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You could ask for a room overlooking the park or for one overlooking Oxford Street...both aspects have great views.”
katec477, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 173* /night
View Deal
CancelonUSD 223
PricelineUSD 173
Hotels.comUSD 174
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates