We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shangri-La Sydney

176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (4819)
Room & Suite (1555)
Dining (334)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#119 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shangri-La Sydney enjoys the most coveted position on Sydney Harbour. The unparalleled views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House enhance the glamour of this destination hotel. Nestled in the historic Rocks District, the contemporary hotel features 564 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, reflecting the vibrant hues of the harbour beyond. Horizon Club on level 30 is Australia’s most sophisticated guest lounge. The finely-decorated space boasts soaring, 13 metre-high windows spanning four floors, and offers 270 degree views. Altitude restaurant takes dining to new heights. Nowhere else in Sydney will you find an award-winning culinary experience with such extraordinary, all-encompassing views of Sydney Harbour’s glittering jewels. Blu Bar on 36 serves creative cocktails by talented bartenders presiding over a sleek space brimming with Sydneysiders and visitors alike, as the city glistens below. Chi, The Spa is the perfect destination for those seeking a tranquil, urban oasis, drawing inspiration from ancient Asian healing and wellness philosophies to create a place of personal peace, enchantment and well-being. Let the breathtaking beauty of Sydney envelop you in its magic at Shangri-La Sydney.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese

Location

176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Shangri-La Sydney
8462Reviews100Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4,782
  • 2,025
  • 832
  • 447
  • 377
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gramalji wrote a review Yesterday
Melbourne, Australia39 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel, while very nice, is expensive. We had an Opera House view with access to Horizon Lounge. Once at the hotel we had a great time and had no complaints. Our main issue was that we were on foot with two big, heavy cases and two smaller ones after having arrived at Circular Quay and where the hotel is located is up steep hills and steps. Therefore, I wouldn’t recommend staying here if you have heavy cases and planning on walking to the hotel. A taxi seems to be the only option.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KPEngland wrote a review 25 Feb
Manchester England121 contributions73 helpful votes
A mix of extremely good and frankly not so good. Check in was confusing and miscommunication about whether we could use the Lounge whilst waiting for our room Luke lounge manager sorted in 5 minutes what reception couldn't do in an hour Room had brilliant views as did the Lounge. Lounge food was excellent Gerry and Mikka(spelling) were wonderful hosts in the lounge. Restaurants were over priced and we were hmm asked to pay and leave the bar at 2345 as the staff had transport to catch Strange ! Bottom line we have rebooked already but they could learn from their colleagues in Manila !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: steep hill with lots of steps to harbour check the best route for you depending on mobility Worth...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 days ago
Good Morning, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience at Shangri-La Sydney's Horizon Club. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, expansive views and that our Horizon Staff delighted you. We have also taken note of the issues you have raised and be rest assured this has been raised with our team. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aaston2014 wrote a review 21 Feb
Somerset, United Kingdom16 contributions26 helpful votes
Very nice hotel but our Premier room with view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge was definitely in need of an update, some of the furniture was tired and worn. For the price we paid, we expected better. Decent club access, nice breakfast and afternoon tea. The position of the hotel is not good if you have mobility problems as it’s very hilly. We enjoyed our stay before our cruise but cancelled our booking for after our cruise as realised it was overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 6 days ago
Good Morning, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience at Shangri-La Sydney. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, expansive views and our Horizon Club. We have also taken note of the issues you have raised and be rest assured this has been raised with our team. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geoffrey T wrote a review 20 Feb
Wargrave, United Kingdom32 contributions14 helpful votes
There is no doubt that the location of this hotel and the views that it allows of both Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House are simply stunning. In addition, the room was lovely and the bed very comfy. However, the quality of some aspects of service was poor: 1) On check in, the luggage failed to appear in the room (after 1 hour, I ended up retrieving it myself). 2) On 2 consecutive days, our room had not been serviced by late afternoon….quote by their management: “Our aim is to service rooms by no later than 6pm”….really! 3) No action was taken to fix a broken telephone and flashing bedside light until the morning of our departure, even though this had been reported 2 days earlier. 4) The quality of service at breakfast was variable. The attitude of their management was indifferent when these points were raised. I recommend you visit the bar / restaurant on the 36th floor to fully appreciate the views but that you stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 6 days ago
Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay and we have taken note of the issues you have shared. Rest assured this has been raised with our team and we hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further. You may like to contact me directly at mandy.huang@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cherie wrote a review 20 Feb
Concord, California3 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We absolutely loved our stay at the Shangri-La Sydney. We stayed in a tower suite for 3 nights which included breakfast and evening cocktails. Loved the view of the harbor and enjoyed watching the boats and cruise ships sailing into the harbor. This hotel was a bit expensive, however we both enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 6 days ago
Good morning, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, expansive views, Horizon Club and that our staff delighted you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ctws wrote a review 18 Feb
Sydney, Australia27 contributions42 helpful votes
The lobby was busy and stressful and gave a chaotic ambience with suitcases everywhere. The hotel was located at the top of a slope so if you wanted to explore the city by ways other than driving or uber, be prepared for a hike every time. The check-in staff was professional in a cold and unfriendly way. Buffet breakfast was not fresh and had limited choices so after the first day we never had it again. That said, the view at breakfast, overlooking Sydney Harbour, was excellent. As a matter of fact, the view was probably the only thing at this hotel that was decent. Rooms were dated but whats worse, was the smell of smelly armpit with hircismus which filled the bathrooms. The first room we had was 1215 and the moment we opened the door of the bathroom we had to hold our breath because all we would smelt was super intense body odour. We had never smelt something so gross at any hotel, let alone a 4-5* hotel. We were worried that another second in the bathroom would make us smell like hircismus, we requested for a change of room and were changed to 1218. 1218's bathroom was initially alright, with a very faint smell of someone's armpit, which we thought was disgusting but more bearable than 1215. We were too exhausted after a long haul to change room for the third time. However, when we went out and returned to the room on the second night, the intense smell of the hircismus once again filled the bathroom. We had to keep the door shut at all times and minimise our time inside the bathroom as the odour was so off-putting. Absolutely disgusting. We knew it wasn't us or anything we carried as the room itself did not have that underarm odour. On the morning we checked out of the hotel (to move to another hotel), the off-putting bodily odour disappeared from the bathroom. We suspect that the smell came from the old, possibly sharing, ventilation on the bathroom (the bathroom hd non ventilation fan). There was probably another guest staying in a room near us that had really strong bodily odour (we did walked past someone with such intense bodily odor at breakfast) and the smell travelled through the ventilation and leaked into the bathroom, so gross. There were no bottled water in the room. We requested for 4 bottles and was told that we could only have 2 a day. We will not stay at Shangri-La Sydney again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 6 days ago
Good morning, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay and we have taken note of the issues you have shared. Rest assured this has been raised with our team and we hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further. You may like to contact me directly at mandy.huang@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan E wrote a review 14 Feb
Cambridge, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
Well located for the Rocks area in Sydney. Easy to access all the harbour area and seethe opera house and shopping areas. Room and bed were very comfortable and everything well appointed. Did not eat in hotel as over priced and found other places locally.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience at Shangri-La Sydney. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, and expansive views. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tamara wrote a review 13 Feb
Sydney, Australia8 contributions6 helpful votes
Customer service is poor and rooms are not completely clean. We stayed in a beautiful room with a great view and got a free upgrade upon check in. However, when we got to our room the desk and chair had not been cleaned (had makeup all over it) and unfortunately we had placed our expensive outfits on it without realising and it dirtied our clothes for a wedding we had that day. We advised the team upon check out and they said a manager would call us. Over several months I had tried to contact them, left several emails and submitted a feedback form but still no response. It has been 5 months since the incident.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tamara G, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the delay you experienced when trying to share your experience with us directly. We hope to be able to resolve this for you as soon as possible, I invite you to connect with me directly on mandy.huang@shangri-la.com to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tel33 wrote a review 13 Feb
New Zealand36 contributions23 helpful votes
We have stayed in the past at Shangri-La Singapore so we had very high expectations of the Sydney hotel. Unfortunately while good its not in the same class as the Singapore hotel. Its in a handy location for visiting the Rocks and the central city. We were going to eat in the main bar/restaurant one night but it was closed. This is a five star hotel not your local pub so were a bit surprised. Our room while a bit dated was of a decent size and very clean. In fact the Hotel overall was very clean. We found the staff extremely helpful, professional and knowledgeable. Check in/out was very easy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience at Shangri-La Sydney. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, expansive views and that our staff delighted you. We have also taken note of the issues you have raised and be rest assured this has been raised with our team. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Molkentin wrote a review 13 Feb
Brisbane, Australia197 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
A beautiful Hotel with lovely staff in reception . So nice to return home after a day out to the great spacious room with wonderful views. I loved the coffee machine . We also found the happy hour drinks down stairs a nice treat and they searved coffee and food also in their lounge and we used this as we had to wait for our cruise later in the afternoon. I will return when in Sydney again . Mathew on reception was very helpful as we had a problem with our booking with an agent . We enjoyed the upgrade . Thanks All staff gave special treatment at this hotel and I have spread the good word about this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A cab rank is very close out front .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shangri-La Sydney, Owner at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning, We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, Happy Hour in our Lobby Lounge and that our staff delighted you. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Mandy Huang Director of Rooms Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$354 - AU$600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shangri la sydney, shangri la hotel sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyThe Rocks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
563
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHANGRI-LA SYDNEY: 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Sydney
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La Sydney?
Nearby attractions include ATTY Gallery (0.3 km), Sydney Pub Tours (0.5 km), and Dave's Pub Walks (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Sydney?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La Sydney?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fish At The Rocks, The Tea Cosy, and Gelato Messina Circular Quay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Shangri-La Sydney have airport transportation?
Yes, Shangri-La Sydney offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Sydney offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.