We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Show Prices
#37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,846 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,645: English reviews
Esperance, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I booked a Queen size room online, on a Sunday, for one adult and two children, which exceeded the maximum allowed in the room. The hotel was quick to email me the next day to let me know and to offer me an upgrade to a King size room for an extra $100, which I thought was a good price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jupitar155
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jupitar155, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney, and taking your time to share such positive feedback of the hotel. It’s always a pleasure to hear when a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, for your next stay I would recommend staying in one of our One...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Great location, room was spacious and quiet given the location. Parking is a little tight but certainly not a problem. Will certainly stay here again. Staff were excellent and very helpful. We took advantage of the late checkout, money well spent!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danni B
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Danni B, Good to read that you had great stay with us and you enjoyed our location , your spacious room, you found our staff excellent, very helpful and the hotel good value for money. Thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warm regards

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Hotel room was small but clean. Lift and car park smelled of sewerage. Noisy people in room next door, of which reception did nothing. House cleaning barged into room at 9am without knocking and with no apology.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessicasA7711MR
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi jessicasA7711MR, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are delighted that you found your room clean and our location good. It is disappointing to read that your recent stay was less than ideal, we do apologize that your stay was disturbed by noisy guests, we have a strict no party policy. We do regular security checks throughout...

Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The hotel is easy to get to without having to go through the main middle of the city, parking is reasonably priced and a bit tight, but it does warn about small spaces on the website .... the room was very spacious and clean, very comfy bed and pillows .... super hot shower with good pressure ... breakfast was fine...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caf69
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Caf69, Thank you for such a great review on your recent stay its pleasing to read that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them we are delighted that that you found our location great, your room spacious, clean, good size and the hotel good value for money and you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the Porterhouse pub...

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We always choose the Canbridge as our destination whennwe have functions and gatherings in sydney! The rooms are always clean the beds are comfortable and of decent size. The hotel is central and staff are always happy for us to have guests come by before wr head out. 10/10 would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad B
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jarrad B, We are delighted to read that you chose to stay with us again and we didn’t disappoint it’s also pleasing that you found your room clean , a good size and our cloud 9 beds with triple sheeting made for a good night sleep for you. Thank you for your very kind words regarding our staff they...

Croydon
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Quick trip to Sydney without the kids to go to the footy at the SCG. Hotel is in great/lively location and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, including the SCG. Plenty of eating options along Oxford St and great bars which cater to all tastes. Only complaint about the room was the impracticle mixer tap in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Chris O, It is always pleasing to hear that our staff and service exceeds our guests expectations, our location is great as we are within walking distance to all that Sydney has to offer and hotel is also located on the city-fringe in the vibrant and diverse suburb of Surry Hills, which offers our guests a great range of...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We have been staying with the Cambridge hotel for many years now. The hotel is central and easy to access. whilst it is hard not to, driving and parking at the Cambridge can be challenging. The underground parking is narrow and there is not a lot of it. We always manage to secure a room with a balcony with views...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 577jarradb
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi 577jarradb, Thank you for sharing your most recent stay with us it’s great to read that that you enjoyed your stay and our location well suited. We do have a strict no party policy and do respond if we get complaints from other guests and we do appreciate that you respect our other guests and staff. Our car-parking facilities...

Totness
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Very comfortable, well located and suitably appointed hotel, with great breakfast, and easy walking distance to evening meal options in Crown St and Darlinghurst Rd, if not wanting to eat in house. Off street parking altho a tad pricey for Adelaideans is welcome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D6709GAmarkl
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi D6709GAmarkil, Thank you for sharing your recent stay we are delighted that you had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed our in room amentites, our buffet breakfast and our location well suited. Our parking rates are comparable to similar properties in Sydney and it’s disappointing you felt we were not great value for money but we do understand. We...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

So pleased to have discovered this gem. One of the best value for money places I've ever stayed at in Sydney. I also really appreciated the location as it's not in the business/tourist areas where I usually stay which made it much more interesting and cost effective. So many wonderful eateries and great shops close by too. Could not fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyPossum
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi KittyPossum, Thank you for sharing your stay we are thrilled that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them on many levels throughout your stay. We do apologise that your rooms service meal was less than ideal and your feedback has been forward to the restaurant. It’s great that we will be seeing you again in the future...

Dublin
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stated here for the end of our trip to Australia, we stayed in the hotel for 8 nights, we had booked a triple room and a double room, there were 5 adults travelling together. On arrival in the hotel we were allocated our rooms..The triple room was absolutely tiny with a small double bed and a camp bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFun006
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi HolidayFun006, Thank you for sharing your experience; your feedback is vital in ensuring the continual improvement and development of our accommodation. I have looked into your booking and you booked a King City View room for 3 people and a Premium Double Room for 2 adults. This is what you were allocated and additional beds were given as requested....

581 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (251)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (304)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe One Bedroom (50)
Viewed
King City View Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Premium King Balcony Room (34)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (29)
Viewed
Premium Twin Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
1,368 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
788 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: $154 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cambridge Hotel Sydney staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Cambridge Hotel Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe Balcony Room was great.”
 of 5 bubbles EasytravelSydney, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in floor below 5level as no view”
 of 5 bubbles frenchyglasgow, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask at reception, they can only say no to your request”
 of 5 bubbles scol614, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms further from the lifts are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles terryc385, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views from Higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles Zezz, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5