We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Show Prices
#37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,927 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,721: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

First time stay here and was impressed with front office staff member Lorna with her manners and attentiveness. Room was clean, bathroom spotless and a room with a balcony great too with views and to grab some fresh air. Check out was easy and was glad to hold our luggage in storage. Loved the little touch of personalised chocolate and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 940gisellac
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi 940gisellac, Thank you for choosing to stay with us its always pleasing to hear that our staff and service exceeds our guests expectations especially Lorna she certainly is an asset to the hotel and thank you for acknowledging this your kind words have been relayed to her and the rest of the team. We are delighted that you found...

Kuraby
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Overall it passed as a place to spend the night. However the walls are scratchy at the corners giving a rough feel. Room cleaning service was a joke. The buffet was so average we ate out despite paying. Overall just ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 645nadam
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi 645nadam, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay it’s disappointing to read that you stay was less than ideal please know that you feedback has been relayed to our Housekeeping and Restaurants mangers this is not the standard we strive to provide our guests we do apologize for any inconvenience. We do hope that we will...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Hotel room bins had not been emptied when we checked in, which made us wonder if anything else had bee left over from previous tenants. Also when we checked out we noticed that they had charged us double what the room cost, the freeze hold was put on a seperate card to what we paid with and even that was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tayla M
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Tayla M, Thank you for your feedback. I believe our Assistant General Manager has been in contact with you regarding the double charge and this has since been rectified and all other feedback discussed further. We do apologise for this experience you had as it certainly isn’t the level of service we strive to provide our guests. I do...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This is a very nice place to stay and in a good location. The hotel staff are friendly and great. There are a number of Restaurants nearby. Easy to walk to Hyde Park and other attractions. Overall a good value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K R
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi K R, We are delighted that you found our staff friendly, your room nice, our location to many of Sydneys great restaurants, attractions well suited for you and the hotel good value for money. Warm regards

.
Reviewed 28 August 2016

$20 for the buffet breakfast, won't be paying that again. Less than impressed. The complimentary chocolate on checkout was a complete surprise. Easy access to Oxford St and Sydney CBD, all walking distance. Will be staying again in future

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleMsDee
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi LittleMsDee, We are delighted to read that you appreciated the hotels location with easy access to the city and the great attractions that Sydney has to offer and you enjoyed your personalised little thank you chocolate on departure. I'm sorry to read that your breakfast experience was not as expected and you felt it was overpriced at $20.00 and...

Switzerland
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Location, price, staff, all wonderful. Off street parking, be it very tight but nothing one doesn't experience in Europe. Room comfortable and clean, for the price, but what is so fantastic is rooms with balconies, very unusual for such a inner city location in Sydney, but absolutely wonderful. Would definitely recommend this establishment. Short walk to groceries and cafes. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Joanne F, We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and you found the hotel good value for money, our location to many great cafes, boutiques, grocery stores and public transport well suited and appreciated by you. It’s also great to read that you enjoyed your room and found it comfortable, clean, our staff happy to...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We have stayed at the hotel now on four occasions - Great location - walking distance to the city - lots of wonderful restaurants - we had a fabulous room over looking the city - thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenpG5046KE
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi karenpG5046KE, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again its pleasing to know that our location to some of Sydney’s great restaurants was convenient for your stay and also that you loved your room and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you took the time to share your stay and we look forward to welcoming...

Melbourne
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Everything was smooth right from the check-in till Check out. I would have given rating 5 if water was included as part of the hotel cost. I had to buy water which I believe is a basic necessity otherwise everything else was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lasily T
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi lasilyt, Thank you for leaving feedback, its pleasing to know that you had a great stay and enjoyed your stay from check in to check out. Its disappointing you felt that our minibar water cost of $2.00 was not included in your room rate, when next you stay if you would like to have a jug for your fridge...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

A reasonable place to stay in Sydney a great front desk, clean rooms, close to the CBD, public transport, restaurants it is also a great walk to Circular Quay of around 30mins for those who like walking. The car park price was a little expensive and the "breakfast not included" was unfortunate considering we had a premium room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Robert D, We are delighted to read that you found our staff at front desk great, your room clean and our location to the CBD and Sydney attractions well suited for your stay. We are dissapointed to read that you found our carparking at $33.00 and Breakfast buffet at $20.00 expensive, our prices are comparable to similar properties in...

Griffith, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed here for first week my husband was in St Vincent's for heart surgery. Nice clean hotel, staff professional & obliging, close to St Vincent's Hospital. Nice rooms bit expensive for what it offers. I did enjoy my stay would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susiewrx
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Susiewrx, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope that all went well with your husbands surgery and he is on the now on the mend, we are delighted that our location to St Vincent’s was well suited and you also found our staff professional, obliging and your room nice. Thank you for sharing your...

592 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (304)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe One Bedroom (50)
Viewed
King City View Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Premium King Balcony Room (34)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (29)
Viewed
Premium Twin Double Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
1,452 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
803 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
2,197 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
5,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Surry Hills

Neighbourhood Profile
Surry Hills
Once regarded as the traditional fashion area, Surry Hills has broadened its appeal. This neighbourhood continues to distinguish itself as a shopping destination, offering the best collection of one-of-a-kind boutiques, designer brands and flagship stores in the city. Today, this area has evolved into a hub of media, design and professional services - a colourful and diverse place equally known for its antique dealers, art galleries, cafes and pubs. Strolling down the street on a Saturday morning, you’ll see a mix of students, artists, hipsters and a few all-nighters from Oxford Street, the “Gay Capital of Sydney”. In this vibrant neighbourhood you will find bohemian chic and modern style co-existing side by side.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Price Range: $133 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cambridge Hotel Sydney staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Cambridge Hotel Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the room types very carefully, Premium doesn't necessarily mean Premium.”
  • Tiny Premium Balcony Room Bathroom.
Calder-Crew, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are nice and bright”
Nod70, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want a nice view, be sure to request a high floor.”
symbiosis379, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe Balcony Room was great.”
EasytravelSydney, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in floor below 5level as no view”
frenchyglasgow, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5