We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Spicers Potts Point

120-124 Victoria St Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the vibrant inner city village of Potts Point the newest Spicers Retreat places the best of Sydney at your doorstep. Just a short walk to trendy cafes, Sydney city and harbour and set amongst a mix of historic art deco and modern architecture, Spicers Potts Point exudes an effortless blend of classic Sydney heritage character with a fresh contemporary feel. Spicers Potts Point is comprised of 20 guest rooms housed within the 1880s Victorian Terrace House with a textured laneway outlook. These former Sydney townhouses are surrounded by fashionable shops, cafes and restaurants and offer convenient access to Sydney’s world class attractions. Although the retreat features muted and calming tones, splashes of rich green and ocean blue, inspired by Martine Emdur’s artworks depicting underwater swimmers exhibited throughout the retreat, act as a tribute to the colours of Australia. The hotel has a private club feel that peacefully envelopes you once inside, away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city. To ensure you feel at home we’ve included a generous breakfast to start your day and a complimentary cocktail and canapes each evening to guarantee the perfect end. Curate your own Sydney experience with our exclusive ‘Spicers Potts Point Passport’ featuring our favourite restaurants, bars, cafes and services and they’ve generously provided many extras just for you to enjoy. Design your own Sydney adventure and experience this charismatic part of one of Australia’s most iconic cities all from the comfort of Spicers Potts Point.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
303Reviews1Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 260
  • 19
  • 9
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
JAG782 wrote a review Yesterday
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania56 contributions14 helpful votes
Very nice stay at this boutique hotel, great location to bars and restaurants, train etc. Staff went above and beyond in offering suggestions of things to go and restanats to try. We were in need of medical attention while staying here and the young woman (morning staff, dark hair, not Australian) ttok the time to make phone calls and find us a dr who cd see us quickly. All ended well. Our room was on the second floor which pls note there is no elevator and you will need to carry any heavy bags up a flight of stairs. Room was spacious w a comfortable bed and large soking tub and top notch shower. Also note neighbors are extremely close and unless you keep your blinds drawn completely, there is no privacy. Breakfast was made to order with multiple selections to choose from. We wd definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are only accessible by foot, no elevator
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Loriol1 wrote a review Dec 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom86 contributions74 helpful votes
We were so disappointed with this hotel. We were allocated a Queen room and it had one window, high up so natural light, but no view. Very small room, barely room to open two cases. Neighbourhood felt shabby and not very safe. No amenities and at least 30 min walk from central Sydney, longer if after 8pm as you can't walk across the Botanic Gardens. On the plus side, staff friendly and helpful and breakfast good. But considering how expensive this hotel is, we were completely underwhelmed. I should have done more research and not relied on reviews, so I blame myself. Despite boutique decor and lovely staff, I really could not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 11 unless you want to be surrounded by 4 walls as the window is high up.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sjgfeld wrote a review Nov 2023
New York City, New York43 contributions23 helpful votes
Our room was super comfy and cozy, well appointed and spacious. The location was a bit away from the central business district and in a more residential neighborhood with plenty of cafes and restaurants. It was about 30 min walk (lots of steps and hills) to Central Quay and Sydney Opera House, or a short train ride. We enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We did not see parking nearby by King Cross train station was just up the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
K8 wrote a review Nov 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
A welcoming, well positioned and beautifully decorated hotel. We arrived very early at the end of a long voyage from the UK. We were immediately invited to leave our bags with the hotel team, and given some great advice about where to get some brunch. On returning mid-afternoon we were greeted with a spacious, well decorated room full of thoughtful additions like some reading material, and by a complementary gin. Spicers is near enough the main city attractions and local restaurants to walk, but far enough away to mean it’s not noisy at night. I would definitely go back - highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Allen from Boston wrote a review Oct 2023
Wayland, Massachusetts38 contributions43 helpful votes
This is a high-end boutique hotel in what appears to be a "trendy" part of town. The hotel was extremely comfortable, the room quite large, the staff friendly and helpful. We had rides to the downtown area but I think one could take the train, too, since the train station is just a short walk away. There's no shortage of restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Dear Allen, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.  We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway with us and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Warm Regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jules6h wrote a review Sept 2023
12 contributions14 helpful votes
A small, boutiquey type accomodation with excellent staff. We had a brilliantly spacious room (# 6) with a fabulous bath big enough for two. There has even been thought given to putting a shelf along the bath so you can pop your favourite beverage there whilst you sink into the tub, including bath salts that were also provided. We loved our stay, even if only for one night. The staff also really made our stay. So welcoming, friendly & just made you feel that they are so happy you were there. The ONLY negative I would say is the sheets felt a bit cheap. You know that crusty kind of cheap hotel feel? But having said that, I would definitely return, & would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 22 Sept 2023
Dear Jules6h, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.  We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway with us and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Warm Regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ransom59 wrote a review July 2023
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom209 contributions116 helpful votes
A superb hotel in a great location when visiting Sydney. Easy walking access and public transport in a boutique area with quaint restaurants and bars,ignoring its seedy past. This hotel is fantastic from the quality of the rooms to the breakfast to the staff. Couldn’t fault. Small number of rooms gives a great friendly feel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 15 July 2023
Dear Ransom59, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.  We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway with us and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Warm Regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharelle H wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Wanting a change from our usual and knowing that every Spicers we've been to thus far has been a wonderful experience, we were excited for Potts Point. What a wonderful little get away. Our room, 20, was large with a lovely verandah. The bath was deep and the bath salts added a lovely touch. Off street, undercover parking is available and our little car was very happy there with her friends. The "happy hour" was wonderful and i fell in love with the mango cocktail. A refreshing change from the usual hotel. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book off street parking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 21 Mar 2023
Dear 502Sharelleh, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.  We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway with us and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home for more mango daiquiris. Warm Regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane S wrote a review Dec 2022
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom125 contributions50 helpful votes
This is a lovely boutique hotel in beautifully converted Victorian Villa. We had a lovely big room that was tastefully and thoughtfully fitted out. The staff are terrific, friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The breakfasts are brilliant, fresh fruit, a choice of hot dishes, try the smashed avocado with a poached egg. Lovely staff, all very helpful but particular mention for Katie, who seemed to anticipate our every need from printing tickets to using the metro. This was our second stay and we'll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Dear Jane, Thank you for taking the time to write you wonderfully kind review. We're thrilled you've enjoyed your stay as much as you have described. We do our very best to make our guests feel comfortable and at home during their stays, and it seems as though we could have been successful in that when it comes to your experience. We're very glad to hear that you'll definitely be back with us, and we look forward to hosting you for that stay. Warm regards, The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa4888 wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney, Australia113 contributions48 helpful votes
I booked a King Room at Spicers as part of a business trip. I was given a room at the very front of the building, near the front door and the main front corridor (Room 1). As soon as I walked into the room, I noticed how dark it was. There is 1 skinny window at the front, but no other window - apart from a glass frosted window in the bathroom at the back which opens onto the restaurant area, so there is a blockout blind in front of it. The room was totally different to the King rooms shown on the Spicers website. I checked in at about 2pm, and after being so disappointed when I saw the room, asked if I could be moved to a different room, but was told that there was no availability. Not only was the noise from the street very loud as people walked past, but the actual soundproofing of the room from the main corridor and reception area was severely lacking. I could hear everything, including conversations and phone calls happening right outside the door, as people walked past and either up the stairs to the higher levels or to the reception area. I could even hear conversations happening in the reception area and the restaurant area. I believe that the ground floor rooms at the front of the building, on street level with minimal natural light and significant noise, should be in a separate category to (and charged significantly less than) the lighter, more modern (and presumably quieter) rooms on higher levels. For the price paid, I was severely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Insist on a higher level room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Dear Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are very sorry to read that you did not find your stay with us or the King room you stayed in to your satisfaction. We were able to offer you the single alternative that was available - an Accessible King room which was declined due to the room type. Our retreat is housed in a trio beautifully restored 1880s terrace houses with wonderful heritage features such as the fireplaces and stained glass windows, along with the new section added just over 5 years ago. We will share your feedback regarding the noise from within and outside the property with the team and look into how we can reduce this. We look forward to welcoming you back to try one of our other rooms. Warm regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$369 - AU$593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPICERS POTTS POINT: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Spicers Potts Point
Which popular attractions are close to Spicers Potts Point?
Nearby attractions include Bamboozle Room (0.2 km), The Running Joke Comedy Club (0.2 km), and Woolloomooloo Wharf (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Spicers Potts Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Spicers Potts Point?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Spicers Potts Point?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Spicers Potts Point?
Conveniently located restaurants include Farmhouse Kings Cross, Friggitoria, and Pizza Boccone.
Are any cleaning services offered at Spicers Potts Point?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Spicers Potts Point?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (1.5 km), Anzac Memorial (1.2 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.9 km).
Is Spicers Potts Point accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.