We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Veriu Broadway

35 Mountain St Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (126)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bespoke accommodation in Broadway. We welcome wayward travellers with adventure on their minds, business professionals who need a comfortable place to rest their head at the end of a hard day's work and families and friends that need space to spread out, unpack and relax. Our door is open to all. Once upon a time an old federation warehouse sat quietly on Mountain Street. It was a space where hard working people built, made and created. Workers came and went and its strong framework was a space for many an industry, including an old leather tannery. As the years went on, the area around it began to evolve. Change was in the air. Fast forward to 2017 and that old warehouse has been lovingly converted into a Veriu hotel. With a nod to the past through the hotel’s exposed industrial features, the hotel reflects the future of travel and celebrates todays traveller with innovative and stylish design and loft inspired living.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English

Location

35 Mountain St Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007 Australia
Veriu Broadway
581Reviews11Q+A34Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 450
  • 87
  • 21
  • 10
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SweetHeartScene wrote a review Jan 2024
Swansea, United Kingdom104 contributions116 helpful votes
We spent 11 nights at the Veriu and had a wonderful time. The beds are super comfortable and the sheets feel lovely and soft. The AC and WiFi worked really well. We really enjoyed having a little living room area and the convenience of a washer and dryer. The only downside is that a balcony with no furniture was pretty useless in our experience. The staff are all really friendly and the reception area is a good place to hang if you want to enjoy the happy hour. Location wise it’s brilliant. Walking distance to Chinatown but with a bus stop a short walk away to get you to Bondi or Central Station. Even around the hotel there are great restaurants in Glebe as well as a shopping mall. It really is a brilliant location as despite being close to so many things it’s a quiet street so you can get a good nights sleep. The only downside we experienced was that the people above us on floor 5 were seemingly dragging furniture around and the noise carried into our room. This was only for a few nights though. If we were coming back to Sydney we would stay here in a heartbeat. We had a really wonderful time and would recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lou M wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia20 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location and great room for a family adventure. Well appointed (loved the polished concrete floors) and super clean. Was really pleased to have housekeeping during a 2 night stay. Lighting was a bit hit and miss in bunk room but overall a really great central spot in Sydney
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robinson family wrote a review Aug 2023
Park Gate, United Kingdom16 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was an amazing place to stay! We arrived tired from an early morning flight and with a very upset child The staff were incredible and got us checked in early. Nothing was too much throughout our stay. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the room was clean. It exceeded our expectations as we were travelling across different states and washing powder etc was provided.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 7 Sept 2023
Dear Robinson Family, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Broadway. We are glad you found it a comfortable place to stay while you were on a trip with your family. We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Broadway in the future. Kind Regards, Team Veriu Broadway
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lee E wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Room not cleaned properly. Found bags of rubbish in a cupboard and a tub of ice cream left in the freezer. When I attended reception at 8am to raise the matter staff member was literally asleep at the desk. When I woke her to tell about the matter I was assured room would be cleaned up whilst I was out. When I returned I found the room had been serviced but the rubbish (and the smell that came with it) and the ice cream tub all still there. Asked to change rooms but they wouldn’t do that either. Don’t waste your money here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 13 July 2023
Dear Lee, We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of your stay at Veriu Broadway, even though you experienced a number of issues. When it comes to cleanliness, there is no excuse for anything less than excellence in standards. Our housekeeping team at Veriu Broadway takes personal pride in delivering a high standard. However, I accept that we do not always get it right and your feedback helps us to continually improve. We have addressed the issue to our housekeeping department and request immediately improvement. To avoid the same issue happened again, we also review our current staffing arrangement to ensure the room maintain as high quality and high standard. Regards to the front desk staff asleep issue, we had carried out the investigation. According to the staff, she was unwell on the day and was waiting for the back up staff arrived to replace her. However according to the CCTV, we can confirm the staff was not asleep as you mentioned above. We do apologies our staff was not able to present the best service on the day and will review the current staffing arrangement to make sure we always provide the best service as always. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. I trust you will choose to stay with Veriu again in the future and have a more positive experience on your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donna A wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
We had an exceptional stay all-round, service and check-in was perfect, extremely friendly and seamless, the room was exceptional, beyond our expectations & a great location, wished we could’ve stayed longer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 13 June 2023
Dear Donna, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Broadway . We are glad you found it a comfortable place to stay while you were in Sydney. We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Broadway in the future and hope you can stay longer next time. Steve Huang Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Akuswari wrote a review May 2023
Jakarta, Indonesia5 contributions10 helpful votes
This is my first time staying at this place and not so much to be commented on as it is already great. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the food was amazing and I love the concept of this hotel so much with its vintage. I will definitely come again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 11 May 2023
Hello, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Veriu Broadway. We are so glad you liked the vintage concept of our property and enjoyed the accommodation and service here. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay. Kind Regards, Hotel Manager Veriu Broadway
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Plowsers wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom62 contributions28 helpful votes
The room is exactly what we expected (studio with sofa bed). A bit cramped - but Sydney. Not much service to comment on. Room is modern, bed comfortable enough. Housekeeping is a let down. Hardly cleaned the room. Twice only two towels given when needing three. Toilet paper not replaced. Bins/recycling not cleared away. Tea not replaced. All a bit ho hum for a serviced apartment It IS quiet though and location was perfect for us. Also it is very annoying that they don’t send a courtesy email reminding you payment is going out and to check the account and funds. Ended up being charged extra international rates and if warned would have changed cards. All in all - some good, some improvements needed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Remember they take payment out 24 hours before with no reminder
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 18 Apr 2023
Dear Plowsers, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Veriu Broadway. We have escalated the issue about housekeeping service to our Housekeping Supervisor and will make sure the staffs are trained more thoroughly, and that we don't slack behind on providing amenities and proper service to our valuable guests. As for the accommodation charge, we have a 24 hour cancellation policy (adverstised on all the booking websites) therefore, we charge the guests for accommodation 24 hours prior to the arrival date on the card provided to us while making the reservation. But we absolutely understand your disappointment, and will try and come up with better solution for this matter. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope you will give Veriu Broadway one more chance in the future to provide you with the standard of service we are known for. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind Regards, Hotel Manager Veriu Broadway
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ina wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions
The man in the reception was unprofessional, he had airpods in his ears the entire time while he was helping us check in. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist told us that they had tried to withdraw money from our bank account for the room, without letting us know that this would be done at that time, but the payment did not go through. He proceeden to say that he could have cancelled our reservation within 2 hours after the payment did not go through, without letting us know, like we should be thankful that he did not do that. We stayed at one of the studio aprtments, which on the websites said contained a fully equipped kitchen. However, when we arrived the kitchen did not have an oven, but a microwave instead. When we asked the reception if we could switch to a room with a oven they couldn’t help us. The kitchen did not have any cooking pans and only a very small saucepan. When we asked the reception for a bigger saucepan (regular size) the man in the reception told us that he could give us one, but that it was very dirty. He did not try to find us a clean one, or find someone clean it before giving it to us. He gave us a saucepan that was so dirty that we were not able to clean it, even after leaving it with soap and water for almost a week. When we asked for changed bed linen we were told that this would be done the same day, however when we returned to our room later that day the bed linen had not been changed. We also had to pay for the room without being able to see the room first.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 12 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of your stay at Veriu Broadway even though you experienced a number of issues. Payment issue: As per hotel policy, we normally take the full payment at least 24 hours prior to arrival. This is guest's own responsibility to make sure the hotel is able to process the payment on the credit card guest provided when made the booking to make sure the room is secured. For the goodwill, we always try to contact the guest when guest credit card is declined and advise the guest to update the credit card details. We believe there was a miscommunication in between and we do apologies it made you feel that way. We will continually provide the internal training to make sure the staff does not make any joke with the guest to make the guest uncomfortable. Full Kitchen: Please kindly be advised all our suites do have a fully kitchen (2 burner stove, oven microwave, fridge, basic cookware). For the oven, we do mentioned subject to availability on our website and always advise the guest to contact us prior to arrival if they prefer to have oven in the room and our team can arrange it. We do apologies that we were unable to provide the room with oven due to last minute request. Regards to the cooking pan, we only have basic cooking set in the room due to the kitchen space. However, we are more than happy to offer more based on the guest request. Housekeeping service: We are sorry to hear you found your linen was not changed when you return to the hotel. Our housekeeping team will normally perform the service in the late afternoon after all the departure rooms are cleaned. We do appreciate our guest can give our team more time to complete their job. We do apologies for the staff who was wearing the headphone on your arrival. The hotel manager has spoken to the staff individually to make sure this unprofessional behavior won't happen again. Regards to your comment: pay for the room without being able to see, we are always welcome our guest to visit the property few days prior to arrival to inspect the room to have a better understanding the room type and what they can expect while staying with us. However, we can only try our best to allocate the room as per guest preference based on the daily availability. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. I trust you will choose to stay with Veriu again in the future and have a more positive experience on your next stay. Veriu Broadway Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
redandgreen2 wrote a review Oct 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a very enjoyable stay (about 3 weeks) at Veriu Broadway while visiting our son in Sydney. We had a large industrial style room with concrete flooring and wooden ceiling beams - a cool space to spend time in. It was quiet, apart from a couple of weekend nights when we were disturbed by noise from the room above us. Our room was clean and serviced regularly during our stay. Good bathroom with great shower. The staff were helpful and approachable, especially NJ with his warm, welcoming personality. Steve the manager too was friendly and interested in how we were enjoying our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear Graham, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Broadway . We are glad you found the stay was comfortable. We do apologies for the noise issue on the weekend and will keep reminding our guest property no party policy. We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Broadway in the future. Steve Huang/ Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue D wrote a review Aug 2022
Melbourne, Australia20 contributions6 helpful votes
The room was clean and the building nice. Cleaning staff are doing their job well. Issues.... Room cards had to be recalibrated as they were for the wrong room on arrival so very lucky we weren't checking in late and getting cards from lock box. Balcony door couldn't be locked and no key to make it secure, in case you have curious children. Microwave had to be lifted over to sit on stove top as the cord didn't reach power point. Toaster is so old that most of the labelling on the front is missing. Radio & cd broken. There's no house keeping but it's inferred that you may receive supplies if needed. At $400 a night I was expecting a little more perfection. It took over 48 hrs for someone to respond, which is unacceptable, and at the same time telling me the balcony door could be locked. Wrong response! My son and I over 3 days continually tried to lock it and it simply 'DIDN'T'! If a guest wanted to they could've accessed it from apartments on the same level. JUST SAYING! It's rather condescending to imply that we were wrong. Then instead of offering to compensate this trip offered a 30% reduced rate for my next stay. Not good enough and I would've have considered a next time if my issues weren't ignored for two days and only after I sent another email outlying my complete dissatisfaction. Reading previous disgruntled guests reviews I'm not certain who the Hotel Manager is as there's three different people responding and stating they're the HM. Steve Huang Timo Lorenzen Shiva Sanjappa A Hotel needs one Manager! Hotel group such as 'Veriu' should listen to their guests, respond quickly and offer a solution that keeps everyone, particularly the guests, happy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Huang, General Manager at Veriu Broadway
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Veriu Broadway . Your comments assist us in reviewing and improving our service levels. We do apologies for handing the incorrect key card upon your arrival. Please be advised for the late arrival, we always recheck the room key before we put in the key box for the guest to avoid any human error happen. Regards to your feedback of our inhouse appliance, we have already made necessary action to make sure all the guest stay is more enjoyable. For the balcony door, our maintenance team has already checked and confirmed it can now be locked which we mentioned in our response email directly to you. We would appreciate our guest notify us immediately if there is any issue during the stay instead of on departure. This way we can implement the improvement immediately. We are sorry to hear that you have been waiting our response for 48 hours since we receive your email on Sunday. We will do our best and try to increase the response time in the future. It is always our intention to provide guests the best service levels from their time of arrival to departure. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. Veriu Broadway Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$236 - AU$434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Veriu Hotel & Suites
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VERIU BROADWAY (AU$235): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Veriu Broadway
Which popular attractions are close to Veriu Broadway?
Nearby attractions include Glebe (0.4 km), Broadway Sydney (0.2 km), and Friend in Hand Pub (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Veriu Broadway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Veriu Broadway?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Veriu Broadway?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Veriu Broadway?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Veriu Broadway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Something for Jess, Amici Di Toni Italian, and The Glebe Hotel.
Are any cleaning services offered at Veriu Broadway?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Veriu Broadway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Veriu Broadway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (1.7 km), Anzac Memorial (1.6 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (2.0 km).
Is Veriu Broadway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.