We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Avenue Hotel Canberra

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (578)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (545)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 61 hotels in Canberra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
If you’re looking for a luxurious hotel in the heart of the Canberra CBD, look no further than Avenue Hotel Canberra. Perfectly positioned on Northbourne Avenue, adjacent to the Braddon dining and shopping precinct, guests of Avenue Hotel Canberra can easily experience some of Canberra's most well known attractions. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Avenue Hotel Canberra offers guests free wifi. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the Avenue Hotel difference. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk and room service, the award winning restaurant Marble and Grain, a fitness center and a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, underground secure parking is available. Should time allow, Australian War Memorial, Australian National Botanic Gardens, and Commonwealth Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance. The staff at Avenue Hotel Canberra looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit and let us make you feel right at home. We've been expecting you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Indonesian and 5 more
3248Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,361
  • 633
  • 152
  • 62
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nicol A wrote a review Yesterday
15 contributions1 helpful vote
The last time I stayed at your hotel in august I participated in the promotion that you have where if I don’t get my room cleaned I can earn $10 each day as restaurant vouchers. I never received these!! Then the manager, mark, promised to provide me with double the vouchers on my next trip. These were not waiting for me as promised!! This time I didn’t get involved in the voucher promotion, instead opted for my room to get clean, I left my room at 6am as I had a hospital surgery procedure therefore I pressed the service button, expecting my room to be cleaned. I got back at 12pm and my room still wasn’t cleaned. My room was the second room as soon as you come out of the lift! It should have been cleaned first! I had to grab toilet paper from the cart as it was in the hallway. I waited as long as I could but I needed to sleep after my hospital stay so I had to track down the cleaner and tell her not to come in my room as I’d be sleeping! Therefore I never had my room cleaned again!! Not good enough!! Room cleaning is part of the service!! My first night I ordered a burger as room service. It was delicious and well presented. The second night my husband and I ordered the burger as room service and it was a big sloppy mess! Ffs. The sauce was dripping down my hand and arm! The bun was so soggy that I couldn’t even eat most of it. What is wrong with your chefs!! We had the buffet breakfast! WTF was wrong with your hash browns?? Hard as a rock! I even showed the waiter and was tapping the hash brown on the table to demonstrate how hard it was. Clean your oil. Dont over cook the hash browns! How hard is it to cook! Worst buffet breakfast ever. The cold meats looked shriveled up, Never eaten at your restaurant ever again. This is the second time I’ve had a bad experience with your food! No. The new manager Tusharbhai Ghelani was very insensitive. Unfortunately my stay dates had to be changed about two times because my IVF procedure dates kept being changed by my fertility specialist. It was not in my control. The new manager said if I changed it again that he couldn’t honour the same rate as I was quoted by the previous Manager, Mark. I explained to him that it was out of my control and that ivf was difficult enough that I did not need him making my time any more difficult. Mark had previously quoted me a discount rate due to some inconvenience with my previous stay. I didn’t ask for a discount. He offered it to me. You should have kept him on instead of replacing him. At least he was pleasant enough to deal with, unlike the new Manager.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jeannettel744 wrote a review 27 Feb
Brisbane Region, Australia9 contributions
It is always a pleasure to stay at Avenue Hotel, Canberra, our 6th visit. Apartments are nice and plenty of room. Just need couple of extra things in kitchen area if staying for longer than a couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 2 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay and thank you for your 6th Visit. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rachelmazzon wrote a review 27 Feb
Griffith, Australia1 contribution
Have stayed at the avenue a number of times and the rooms are lovely spacious and clean. Location is perfect close to civic and restaurants in Braddon. Convenience of an onsite restaurant means you don’t have to step outside. The parking is secure and easy to access.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 2 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay & thank you for returning to the Avenue. It was a pleasure having you stay with us i am happy to read your comment re. cleaniness. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jryan2024 wrote a review 26 Feb
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
While from the first viewing, everything looked great, it wasn’t until we started to use things we discovered all wasn’t how it appeared. The main tv didn’t work, despite getting it checked, the fridge was turned off, the shower head was only hand held and not as per the room pictures, and the a/c turned off over night. The I was ‘accidentally’ double charged for the room. Took days to sort out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded yesterday
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I do apologies for the inconvenience caused by the Issued outlined in your review, I have meet with my team to take actions so that such incident do not occur again. I am aware that we have spoken when you called the Hotel re your billing as discussed the double charge was voided on the same day and should appear on our bank statement. I do thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louise and Dave C wrote a review 26 Feb
Columbia, Maryland1 contribution
My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Avenue Hotel. We highly recommend it. Canberra Centre was very easy to access with lots of nice restaurants and work was within walking distance. Gabriell was especially helpful during our stay as were all the other staff members.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 3 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your excelllent feedback to Gabriell. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel. Best regards Mario Stanic General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
donnakoosache wrote a review 22 Feb
2 contributions1 helpful vote
· When you book a superior king room in a beautiful hotel like this, and they do not provide a fridge or a toaster and your milk is sitting on the bench warm to get any other room or to have the minibar emptied would cost another $40 per night for an upgrade for a hotel like this it should at least have the basics like a fridge, I didnt like having to pay for an upgrade just so I can have cold mik!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 1 week ago
Thank for choosing to stay at the Avenue during you recent stay in Canberra. I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused that marred your experience. As you had booked a superior room, no rooms in this category have a toaster or Fridge but do come with many other features as outlined on our web page or other platform upon booking. The next category of room do indeed have both of these items as standard, and many more. I do apologies that you feel that the upgraded price was unjustified? I understand your frustration re. The parking area key card didnt not work for you ,I do apologies this should not have occurred. I do hope to welcome you back to the Avenue on your next trip to Canberra, should you wish to discuss this matter don’t hesitated to contact me via email.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Evonne M wrote a review 21 Feb
6 contributions
I've stayed here a few time and have always enjoyed the stay. The rooms are comfortable with good facilities if you want to stay in and not eat out. The staff very helpful and always friendly. It's a great location, close enough to walk to the city and restaurants. This is a great place to stay for business or leisure. I recommend it to anyone visiting Canberra. For me it's on the way in and easy to access.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 4 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay again. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel. Best regards Mario Stanic General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TravellerPete1475 wrote a review 18 Feb
Melbourne, Australia353 contributions96 helpful votes
Have stayed here many times in the past as it has a perfect location a short walk from the Canberra retail centre, has secure carparking and the rooms are a high stsndard. We had a standard hotel room, a view over the city, asked for and received a coffee pod machine. The room was spacious, had king bed, stocked minibar which we don’t use, and was clean. The ensuite was small but worked well. Only negative was scuff makrs and a small hole in one wall. The room was quiet, well serviced and all staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. This is our preferred hotel in Canberra.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book direct for free parking and cheapest rates, street facing rooms have some city views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 4 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you stay with us again We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel. Best regards Mario Stanic General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Petrina B wrote a review 18 Feb
1 contribution
The rooms are such a good size - even the smallest room is big. And the beds are super comfy. We were there to attend the Canberra Theatre which is very close by. It's also ideally located for shopping and the best restaurants. I can't fault this hotel. It's my fave!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 4 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay & your comfy bed. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel. Best regards Mario Stanic General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David B wrote a review 16 Feb
Seaforth, Australia530 contributions236 helpful votes
Avenue rooms are spacious 1 bedroom suites with everything you could ask for, at a reasonable price. The restaurant, Marble & Grain, is top notch. The car park underneath is convenient and affordable. Out of the back door of the hotel is Braddon’s restaurant strip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mario Stanic, General Manager at Avenue Hotel Canberra
Responded 3 days ago
Warm greetings from The Avenue, Canberra Thank you for your time writing us a review and choosing to stay with us I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your stay i am happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner at Marble & Grain. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to the hotel. Best regards Mario Stanic General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canberra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$186 - AU$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
213
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVENUE HOTEL CANBERRA (AU$184): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Avenue Hotel Canberra
Which popular attractions are close to Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Nearby attractions include Expedition Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Hippo Co (0.4 km), and The Highball Express (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Akiba, Courgette Restaurant, and BentSpoke Brewing Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Avenue Hotel Canberra located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Canberra.
Are any cleaning services offered at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Avenue Hotel Canberra offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Avenue Hotel Canberra?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, Japanese, Thai, Indonesian, and Vietnamese.