We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast

40 Sheehy St, Canberra 2617 Australia
Traveller (29)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 8 B&Bs in Canberra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

★★★★ AAA Tourism accredited accommodation.

Mark and Debbie offer guests a warm and welcoming English hospitality where guests can experience comfort as well as scrumptious traditional home cooked meals with a great service.Your stay at The Pommy Tree is inclusive of a good hearty breakfast, which includes full english cooked breakfast, a selection of seasonal fruit/ yogurt/ cereal/ buttered toast, orange juice/ tea/ ground coffee. A traditional home cooked evening meal is offered for an additional cost.The Pommy Tree with 2 single bedrooms and 2 double en suite bedrooms showcases fresh and contemporary accommodation in a relaxed setting. Each of guest rooms offers a combination of beautifully selected furnishings with natural tones.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Executive lounge access
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Modern
53Reviews1Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Shane C wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide80 contributions104 helpful votes
This is a large and well-appointed house in a quiet street in the northern suburbs of Canberra. The rooms are very comfortable, with a TV and good wifi. I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom, which was very clean and had all you could ask for. Nobody else seemed to be using this bathroom, so I assume some of the other rooms have their own bathroom. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. On arrival I was shown around the various facilities, including a comfortable lounge room with Foxtel and a kitchen fridge stocked with chilled drinks and light munchies. Breakfast is included in the price and is a very satisfying full English breakfast. As long as I had my own transport, I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wander444979 wrote a review Sept 2019
7 contributions
+1
Arrived for a business trip, booked a single room and i found out that the door of my room cannot be locked from inside or outside and should sleep under this condition. Owner came and played with the Door and after 20 mins said well i cannot do anything and tomorrow (Saturday) i bring someone!!! and when i complained you should check the room before rent it, he said Yes i did, instead of saying apologies and offer something else. The bathroom is also awful and not cleaned, the soups that they left for new customers belong to the previous ones and owners never replaced them. DO NOT ADVISE ANYONE COME HERE to pay $190 and be treated like A SH.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ThePommyTree, Owner at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast
Responded 13 Oct 2019
In response to your review, it was late Friday evening when you reported the door would not lock, attempts were made to remedy the problem before calls were made to the locksmith who attended to the matter first thing the following morning. We were full and therefore unable to offer you an alternative room, other guests commented on how rude and obnoxious you were towards staff trying to remedy the door problem. The bathroom as the rest of the house is clean to the highest standards, this bathroom is shared with one other single room and each guest is provided fresh clean towels/bath mats and toiletries daily. It is obvious that you staged the photographs of the towels across the bath. As a matter of fact you did not pay $190 as the single rooms are $125 which is fully inclusive of a substantial breakfast. This all goes to show you are attempting to mislead readers with your false accusations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Greynomad_10 wrote a review May 2019
Sydney, Australia117 contributions54 helpful votes
This B &B is in the suburbs of Canberra, so it is advisable to have your own transport. On arrival, We were invited to feel at home and to help ourselves to treats in the kitchen and to the honour bar. The B &B section is on the top floor, with owners occupying the lower floor. Apart from the adequate sleeping accommodation, there is a lounge decorated in a nautical style with comfortable leather chairs and a large TV. The very good English breakfast is cooked to order and served in the adjoining dining area. The faint aroma of cigarette smoke and the heavy snoring which could be heard through the wall of the adjoining bedroom, has reduced the overall rating, from what it could have been
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: One with a private en suite
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David_Sharon wrote a review Apr 2019
Gwandalan, Australia5 contributions3 helpful votes
Returned to the Pommy Tree , once again excellent service, very friendly host, most helpful with general knowledge of the area. Enjoyed nibbles on arrival , Rooms are well appointed with own ensuite, spotlessly clean. Love the use of the lounge and kitchen , pool. Love the atmosphere ,away from the city but still close to visit the tourist sites. Also have a gym. Will definitely return to Mark and Debbie for another stay David and Sharon
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Claire H wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution
Thanks for being so welcoming. The comforts of home with a very generous breakfast, clean and comfortable room, magpie entertainment and complimentary English humour. If we are in Canberra again, we’ll definitely be back!! R & C Higgerson
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robyn wrote a review May 2018
Wellington, New Zealand20 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights while visiting family in Canberra. The Pommy Tree is in a quiet location, easy to get to. The guest room and shared upstairs lounge / dining / kitchen areas are very well equipped, immaculately clean, and filled with inviting, comfortable features. Warm welcome on arrival, tea and coffee made for us and lovely cheeseboard and cake offered (and eaten!). Leather and other high-quality chairs, huge-screen TV, interesting nautical themed prints and ornaments. A cooked breakfast by Mark is an experience not to be missed, as is the option of dinner. You will certainly not go hungry and Mark remembers the next day just what you like. My pot of tea was on the table without asking. American guests were heard on leaving to say, "You've treated us like kings!", and that is a good summary of our experience too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carol wrote a review Mar 2018
Balgowlah, Australia20 contributions4 helpful votes
Dear Debbie and Mark Thanks so much for having Aunty Ann and I stay in your lovely B&B! From the moment we arrived yesterday we were made to feel welcome and at home! From the little treats scattered around and in the kitchen, tea, coffee, wine, cheese platter and port! This was a truly amazing place to call home for the night! Debbie thanks for the loan of the socks and Mark next time we will make use of the gymnasium facilities! We will definitely be back! If all B&Bs were as comfortable welcoming and friendly as your establishment we would never stay in a hotel again!!! Thanks also for the great breakfast this morning! It has kept us going all day! We will be back! Best wishes Aunty Ann and Carol
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tania S wrote a review Oct 2017
Armidale, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for 3 nights at this very clean, comfortable and quiet B & B. A convenient location for our activities, and arriving from the north after a road trip through NSW. Very comfortable bed in ensuite room. Snacks on arrival much appreciated. The breakfasts were a full English breakfast with fried toast which was delicious. We took the option for a dinner cooked for us by Mark on the night before our trip home. The best lamb shanks ever.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WestbrookMelbourne wrote a review July 2017
Montmorency, Australia67 contributions47 helpful votes
Perspective: we are a retired couple who do a bit of travelling. We stayed 3 nights at The Pommy Tree (b and b) basing our decision on what other reviewers had said about it. Located in the Belconnen suburb of Evatt, although about a 15 minute penalty drive to Civic it suited our needs in Canberra. But hey, everywhere you go in Canberra you need a car, so Evatt is ok. Parking. Space for some off-street parking but a quiet location so on the road is fine. The B and B has a gym for guests plus storage for large items such as golf clubs. The owners, Mark and Deb are particularly welcoming with Mark being the one whose job it is to run the place. Upon arriving, a hot drink and nibbles are there for you and same for every day. The place is modern and spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was enough to keep us going all day! In fact too big for us so we asked Mark to reduce it! Mark offers evening meals which based on the breakfasts would be good value. We did not take up his offer as we had already made other plans. The house is setup with a kitchen, dining and lounge room for guests. The lounge room has very comfortable seating and a large tv with pay to for guests enjoyment. If I was to make a negative comment, it's that the bedroom was a little tight and without a chair. The hospitality and facilities offered by Mark and Deb more than compensate our perceived view. Next time that we visit Canberra, this is where we will stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Double room with ensuite. If driving, gps mapping a must in Canberra.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Heather R wrote a review Apr 2017
1 contribution
Sadly we could only stay one night, Deb and Mark are such a lovely couple and great hosts, the welcome cheese platter and wine was outstanding. The accommodation is so clean and the quality fresh sheets on comfy beds was a treat. Breakfast was an event, we helped ourselves to fresh fruit and yogurt while engaging in early morning banter with Mark while he cooked us a huge English feast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canberra area.
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE POMMY TREE BED & BREAKFAST (AU$191): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Canberra) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast
What are some of the property amenities at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Pommy Tree Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.