We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canberra City YHA

Hostelworld.comUSD 56*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 93*
USD 56*
Great Deal
USD 93*
USD 93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Canberra City YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of Canberra City YHA
 Click to rate
Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i stayed here last year for the night as my car broke down and needed a room at the last minute and it was reasonably comfy for the night. the pool was refreshing as it was a very hot night. i was able to walk down to maccas to grab a feed before they closed as it was really close.

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaronpurdon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice, clean and modern hostel. My friend and I stayed in the girl's dorm and found the room to be spacious enough. Lockers are big and adequate space for luggage, charging ports are available in the lockers. There is also a light available in each bed. The bathrooms are clean and nice, hot showers. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melina M
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For the price of a dorm room this hostel was pretty average. Bathrooms were quite dirty and wifi was pretty average quality. Also renovations happening so was quite loud (these commended early in the morning right next to our room).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elyse D
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review

Hi Elyse We're really sorry you were disturbed during your stay. We are working on some great new ensuite rooms at the moment. If this does happen again at a YHA, always just have a word with the staff and see if they can relocate you to a quieter area.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room: The room was clean and and a decent space for a hostel. They have pretty large lockers where a regular 40 litres backpack easily will fit. Bring a padlock. There was also a large desk with a couple of chairs and it was possible to open the windows, which I find very nice when staying in hostels because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReiseKurre
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

The room (4 beds) was clear and you've more space than normal. My bed wasn't ready when I checked in, that was annoying but they did it fast after I asked. A locker is in the room, inclusive plug socket in it. Unfortunately, if anyone closes the door the noise is really loud.. The bathroom as well as the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veriibeerii
YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for staying with us and we hope you had fun in Canberra. We'll get our maintenance crew to have a look at the door as usually this is just a fitting that needs fixing up - so anytime you've a problem with an issue like this, just have a word at reception and they can log it to...

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Just spent 4 nights here with a group of cycling friends. We had a spacious double room with our own bathroom. The room was clean and unlike most hostels did have a TV in the room which didnt make difference to us anyway. There is a common room on each floor with a vending machine full of chips and chocolates....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themudgeerambler
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2017

I had a private room with a double bed. While it will not win any awards for aesthetic the room was very clean and well presented, and the bed was more comfortable than some I have experienced in 4-5 star hotels. It was quiet and I had a great sleep. The bathroom and common areas were similarly clean. When you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zerokel
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2017

1. I found it very nice, friendly, nice linen reasonable, but ask how much it cost to join first, it may save you money 2. It is booked heavily, as my friend and I ask for just a 2 bed, in the middle of the night, 2 strange men came in and slept also, don't get me wrong , they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beryl c
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I had a bunk in an 8 bed room. Large room with adequate space to store things. Power points aplenty for charging that pesky mobile phone that just eats battery when you are photographing so much. $37.50 per night for a bed and linen, $2 for towel hire. There was a pool, spa and sauna, café and wonderful location right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KymMarie220
Maitland, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Took a school group here and despite the staff being met with a tragedy in their hotel they took every care to ensure our needs were met. Food was only ok but the accomodation was adequate although there wasn't enough showers in the shared bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad B

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,153 reviews
1.1 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
3,203 reviews
0.7 km away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#14 of 57 in Canberra
1,253 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and underground bar. Hostel hosts weekly activities and BBQs in summer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canberra City YHA

Address: 7 Akuna St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: $40 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canberra City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra City Yha Hotel Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Canberra City YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the moment a renovation is taking place next door so rooms at the back can expect an early wakeup call.”
themudgeerambler, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Really we didn't have a choice as we couldn't get into the Dixon Backpackers although we were booked.”
berylc67, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are many types to choose from, at varying level of cost however I believe that all share bathrooms”
KymMarie220, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book ahead for the best deals and rooms”
tulipgk, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would not book a room greater than 6 people.”
DjGabriro, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 56* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 93
Orbitz.comUSD 93
Expedia.comUSD 93
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates