We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Canberra Rex Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (286)
Room & Suite (99)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#24 of 61 hotels in Canberra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for a place to stay in Canberra? Then look no further than Canberra Rex Hotel, a quiet hotel that brings the best of Canberra to your doorstep. Canberra Rex Hotel is a quiet hotel offering a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk, a rooftop terrace, and room service. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Canberra. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available but limited. Close to some of Canberra's most popular landmarks, such as Australian Service Nurses Memorial (1.6 mi) and Mount Ainslie Lookout (1.9 mi), Canberra Rex Hotel is a great destination for tourists. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Australian Vietnam Forces National Memorial, Australian Army Memorial, or National Police Memorial, which are popular monuments and statues amongst tourists. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Canberra Rex Hotel as you experience everything Canberra has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and 5 more
959Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 254
  • 356
  • 168
  • 93
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rosey C wrote a review Feb 2024
Kew East, Australia30 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a really nice boutique hotel. Location is good but there is about a 10 minute walk to restaurants, shops etc. Very convenient access to public transport. Rooms are modern and clean. A bit small but perfectly reasonable value. The pool and gym are pretty basic and tucked in beside the apartment block next door. This means that you have to go out of the hotel and across a parking lot to access these facilities. Overall I think this hotel is reasonable value for money and there are good deals available. My only significant criticism would be around parking. Parking is very limited and they host functions downstairs so if you are unlucky (as I was) there might be a wedding and consequently no parking for hotel guests. This was quite disappointing particularly given I make a point of only booking hotels that offer parking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Roseyc2014, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience at the Rex, finding the location convenient with easy access to public transport and modern, clean rooms. We appreciate your understanding regarding the size of the rooms and the amenities like the pool and gym. We're continuously looking for ways to enhance our facilities and your feedback is invaluable in this regard. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with parking availability during your stay, particularly due to the events hosted at our venue. We understand the importance of providing convenient parking options for our guests and will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve in this aspect. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. If there's anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Many Thanks, Qasim Night Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AleksP1981 wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia137 contributions108 helpful votes
+1
I stayed over the Australia Day long weekend this year for 2 nights. Check in was super quick, confirming details on fine from booking creation. All I had to do was provide ID and sign the registration. The rooms are very decent in size. I booked the King room with balcony, and while it was a great room, as there are only so many of these they are all at the end of the corridor it seems, so they are a bit of a walk from the elevator, but that was actually valuable. The bathrooms are renovated to an exceptional standard with ample amenities provided. The hallways seem a little narrow from what I’ve experienced of other hotels, the downside of this being that you can hear virtually everything going on outside. Not the end of the world, but any light sleeper would be woken up by rowdy late night noise outside of their rooms. The rooftop bar is also a nice venue with very reasonably priced items for a hotel bar. Make sure to make a booking for Friday/Saturday nights if you are wanting to visit as they don’t have allocation for hotel guests and it is open to all. I guess another call out is that there is limited on site parking. There wasn’t any additional charge for parking, but it is a first come, first served situation. Where parking isn’t available, on the street behind the hotel there is on street parking as well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Free parking. Make a reservation at the rooftop bar if you want to attend. Balcony rooms are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi AleksP1981, Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback about your recent stay with us over the Australia Day long weekend. We're delighted to hear that your check-in process was smooth and efficient, and that you found our King room with balcony to be spacious and well-appointed. It's great to know that you appreciated the renovated bathrooms and the ample amenities provided. Your feedback regarding the hallway noise and narrowness is duly noted, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We will certainly look into ways to minimize disturbance for our guests, especially light sleepers. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooftop bar and found the pricing reasonable. Thank you for the tip about making reservations for Friday and Saturday nights – we'll make sure to communicate this more effectively to our guests in the future. Regarding parking, we understand the challenges with limited on-site parking availability. We're pleased to offer complimentary parking on a first-come, first-served basis and appreciate your suggestion to utilize the on-street parking behind the hotel as an alternative. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rex in the future and exceeding your expectations. Regrads Qasim Night Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cathy H wrote a review Nov 2023
Central Coast, Australia46 contributions29 helpful votes
Lovely rooms, large and with a large bathroom. Great function room attached. Friendly staff. Breakfast is a little limited and they are not the best at topping up the hot food. Parking is an issue, with very limited spaces and you have to park across the road in a car park and then cross road and walk back to hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 1 Dec 2023
Hi CathyH1446, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, large bathrooms, and the convenience of the attached function room. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff. Regarding your comments about breakfast, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your input is valuable, and we will certainly review our breakfast service to ensure a more satisfying experience for our guests. We also appreciate your mention of the parking challenges. We understand the inconvenience unfortunately, our complimentary car park tends to fill up rapidly, making it challenging to find an empty spot especially on the weekends. Your detailed feedback helps us focus on areas for enhancement, and we genuinely appreciate your insights. We hope to welcome you back and provide an even better experience in the future. Many Thanks, Qasim Night Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anthony wrote a review Aug 2023
Tasmania, Australia1 contribution
I spent two nights there with my wife. The sauna that was attached to the room where we stayed was fantastic. The nicest view was from the restaurant upstairs, and the service was excellent. A young lady sonan from the restaurant was incredibly helpful and remembered my coffee order when I went for breakfast on the second day, which made me feel good about our stay. Overall, I had a wonderful stay at the Canberra Rex hotel and the breakfast was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Hi Navigator36720660388, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your sauna room experience. It's great that the restaurant offered a picturesque view and excellent service. We greatly value your positive comments about Sonam, and we will ensure that this feedback reaches our management team. Our commitment to providing exceptional customer service is of utmost importance to us. I'm glad to know that your overall stay at the Canberra Rex Hotel was wonderful, and the excellent breakfast was a highlight. Thank you for sharing your enjoyable stay with us! Many Thanks, Qasim Night Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amyluv73 wrote a review Aug 2023
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel location, the staff, the room, the rooftop bar/restaurant was amazing. Loved our 2 nights stay also close to everything, walking distance. Breakfast was really good too. Would definitely recommend and stay there again. Thank you for making our stay wonderful!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Holgate, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Dear Amyluv73 Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience at our hotel! We're delighted that you found our hotel's location, staff, room, and rooftop bar/restaurant to be exceptional. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the convenience of being close to everything and within walking distance. We take great pride in providing a convenient and enjoyable experience for our guests. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings and that they met your expectations. Our team works hard to ensure that our guests start their day off on the right foot with a satisfying breakfast. Your kind words and recommendation mean the world to us. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would be absolutely delighted to welcome you for another memorable stay. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel and for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ronnie88 wrote a review Aug 2023
25 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in the sauna room, and it was great, two televisions, ample room to place your luggage and sit down. Great long window with views over the city. Managed to get an undercover parking space as well. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, the shower was excellent, and the sauna was very enjoyable. Overall excellent value for money and I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Holgate, Revenue Management at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2023
Hi ronnie88787 Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay in our sauna room. We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience! It's wonderful to know that the amenities in the room, including the two televisions, ample space, and the captivating city views, contributed to your enjoyment. We take pride in maintaining high standards of cleanliness and comfort, and we're delighted that you found the room impeccably clean and the bed comfortable. I agree the saunas are fantastic and the fact it added to your experience means a lot to us. It's always our goal to provide exceptional value for the experience we offer, and we're elated that you found it to be excellent. It is great to here you already plan to return, this is truly the best compliment we could receive. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive thoughts. We look forward to your next visit! Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Boyd J wrote a review July 2023
Maleny, Australia1685 contributions829 helpful votes
Quite large room with a comfortable bed. The hotel has a gym, reasonably well equipped and maintained that guests can easily access. Located about 100 metres from a light rail station. Had breakfast one morning and one morning only. Not value for money - poor selection of food, the coffee tasted terrible, and the bacon was cold and hard. I had report writing to do and the chair in the room was too low, so I sat on the bed pillows. It is advertised that an office chair was available on request so I requested it and was told that this was unavailable!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Holgate, Revenue Management at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2023
Hi boydj395 We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience following your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us enhance our guests' experience. We're pleased to hear that you found our room spacious and the bed comfortable. It's good to know that you were able to make use of our gym facilities, and we're glad that it met your expectations in terms of equipment and maintenance. The convenience of our location near the light rail station is something we take pride in, as we aim to provide easy access to transportation options for our guests to and from the city and local attractions. However, we deeply regret that your breakfast experience didn't meet your expectations. This is certainly not reflective of the service and quality we strive to offer. I assure you your comments and feedback will be shared with the team. Regarding the issue with the chair in your room, we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your request for an office chair should have been met, and we're truly sorry for any miscommunication or unavailability that occurred. Please know that your feedback is being taken seriously, and we're committed to addressing the areas of concern you've raised. We genuinely value your opinion and will use it to improve our services moving forward. We would like to welcome you back to the hotel when next you travel; please ask for me by name or Taha our Front Office Manager when making you booking so I can personally look after you during your stay to ensure a more enjoyable experience that aligns with your expectations. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to learn from your feedback and make the necessary improvements.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cathy H wrote a review June 2023
Central Coast, Australia46 contributions29 helpful votes
Room was lovely, spacious and well equipped. Booking was easy, reasonable price, easy to find hotel. Breakfast needs improvement. Staff do not check and top up food such as bacon and eggs. Limited cereals, no bircher muesli offered, limited fruit and very limited pastries.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Car parking is very limited. You have to park across the road in another location and walk to hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 24 June 2023
Hi CathyH1446, Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Canberra Rex Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the spacious room. However, I apologies about your breakfast experience I have forwarded your feedback to the related department who can look into this and take the necessary actions to improve. Many Thanks, Night Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Narelle S wrote a review Apr 2023
Sydney, Australia28 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we arrived until we checked out, we felt relaxed. The hotel is located on the main road but we didn’t hear any street noise. The views from the room and roof top bar were stunning. We decided to upgrade our room to a 2 room king room which was lovely. Bed was comfortable and the sitting area was comfortable. Room service food was delicious and quick to be delivered. Roof top bar had a good atmosphere and again, the food was amazing. Would recommend and would choose The Rex again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There were USB chargers at most power points. Breakfast was worth the money, good variety of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2023
Hi Narelle, Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Canberra Rex Hotel. We are glad that our hotel and its services met your expectations and we cannot wait to have you back again. Best Regards, Night Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerry g wrote a review Apr 2023
Shellharbour, Australia138 contributions214 helpful votes
The hotel is very good for the money but quite a distance from major attractions. Very clean except under the bed, I dropped a ring and was surprised at all the lost articles, and fluff. The shower door was extremely noisy. Receptionists were very obliging
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CRH Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Canberra Rex Hotel
Responded 8 Apr 2023
Hi GWJG, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate your feedback and have passed it to the relevant teams so that these issues can be addressed. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to share your experience with us in more detail as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Kindest Regards, Farhana Jesmin Guest Services Agent
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canberra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$146 - AU$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANBERRA REX HOTEL (AU$146): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Canberra Rex Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Canberra Rex Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Truefitt & Hill Canberra (1.0 km), Haig Park (0.5 km), and All Saints Church (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canberra Rex Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Canberra Rex Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Canberra Rex Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Canberra Rex Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canberra Rex Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Akiba, Courgette Restaurant, and BentSpoke Brewing Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Canberra Rex Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Canberra Rex Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Canberra Rex Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Canberra Rex Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, Thai, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Canberra Rex Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting National Archives of Australia (4.2 km), Calthorpes' House (6.6 km), and Albert Hall (3.4 km).