We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

QT Canberra

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (843)
Room & Suite (379)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!15% Off QT Summer Sale Now On. Indulgence, Served.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#28 of 61 hotels in Canberra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Luxury exerts a power all of its own at QT Canberra. Designer chic surroundings meet an elegant portfolio of detail to delight every sense. This is a forum where work and play find perfect accord, and even our most seasoned guest can be genuinely surprised. Whether it’s an afternoon antipasto or a fresh grilled steak, Capitol Bar & Grill is modern cuisine in a modern setting – Italian inspired with a wine list to match. Lucky's Speakeasy offers a secluded getaway to end the day or our invitation-only members lounge is the spot for contemporary business with an Old Fashioned in hand. Join us at QT Canberra for a glamorous hotel, restaurant and nightlife experience that still gets up bright and early.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:15% Off QT Summer Sale Now On. Indulgence, Served.
2300Reviews22Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 741
  • 905
  • 403
  • 160
  • 91
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Julie R wrote a review 7 Feb
1 contribution
I have been coming to QT for many years now. It has a great atmosphere and a big part of that are the people who work there. They are the heart and soul of the place. They take the time to know you by name and last week Racheal behind the bar had poured my drink by the time I walked to the bar. Good service is not dead, good to see.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karen P wrote a review Jan 2023
Greater Sydney, Australia237 contributions93 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed 2 nights. This place has a great vibe and the location is bang on. We parked downstairs which was convenient and undercover - which was great because there was a horrific storm one afternoon/evening that went on for hours. We had dinner in the restaurant one night - partly because it was too hot to go out and also most other restaurants nearby were closed anyway. The food was delicious and the service excellent, also a fantastic drinks selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. And in the mornings I always got a nice coffee from the restaurant as well. The first night we were there I found the tv didn't work and obviously I thought it was user error, and rang downstairs and a very nice guy from reception came up to try and fix it -and turns out it wasn't user error. So he moved us to another room on a higher floor AND gave us a free drink at the bar!! Excellent service and stay overall, will be back, and happy to recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 7 Jan 2023
Hello Karen, Thanks for choosing to stay at QT Canberra. I am glad to hear you made full use of our In-House Restruant Capitol Bar and Grill! I am so glad that we were able to fix the hiccup in your room and you enjoyed the remainder of your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alfred B wrote a review 5 Feb
1 contribution
Thank you for the stay! Parking is a little tight so call in advance to check. We were fortunate enough to be put on the 14th floor so we had a nice view of the city. Breakfast is no longer a buffet and they looked quite busy so make sure you have enough time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Justin K wrote a review 4 Feb
Melbourne, Australia136 contributions90 helpful votes
Excellent hotel, comfy beds and rooms, friendly staff and great location close to a cute cafe across the road and a short distance from the city centre and the lake. Bike hire facility is very helpful and useful as well as affordable. Overall great hotel Would be excellent if the hotel did have a pool, it feels like the one thing that is missing! One small tip to housekeeping - please clean balconies and the balustrades, heaps of spiders and cobwebs!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: While the London Circuit tram works underway, request a west facing room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lauren G wrote a review Jan 2024
52 contributions14 helpful votes
We booked this hotel on a scoopon deal for $200 a night, which was an OK price for this hotel. I would not have paid any more. The blonde (manager?) lady at reception was not interested in serving us. On both occasions we interacted with her she asked other staff (who were busy already) to ‘deal with these people’ or simply stepped backwards to ensure she didn’t have to interact. Not very warm or good hospitality. She also only gave us 1 night of drinks vouchers instead of the two we should have gotten. Breakfast was great value and service by staff there was great. As many others have pointed out, this is an older hotel which has been renovated. It does show, and we were also roomed in 512 which was right next to the elevator. Didn’t notice this too much initially but on night two it was very busy and extremely loud. I brought noise cancelling earphones. I feel like because we booked a cheap deal we got the worst available room. If I’d paid more I’d be very unhappy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid room 512 behind the elevators. Chase up any inclusions, don’t assume they will provide them.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Lauren, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and I am thankful for your feedback! Rest assured I will review with our team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James W wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Had a great weekend getaway. The hotel is clean and presentable and the staff are all lovely and approachable. The location was nice with a few cafes located behind the hotel. I'd check before booking to make sure that the restaurant is open. Otherwise great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Jamesw, Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
George W wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Probably the best located hotel in the city with lovely views of the lake. We were on the 10th floor and did not want to leave. The staff at breakfast were wonderful and Michael on check in was spectacular.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi George, Thanks for leaving us with your thoughts! Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James D wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Checked in early this week for summernats and the hotel and staff have been amazing ever since. Parking is very tight so be weary if traveling with a show vehicle. Otherwise a great hotel and have already booked again for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Hi MKjamesD, Thanks for sharing your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen Chow wrote a review Dec 2023
Sydney, Australia36 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
QT promotes itself as a hotel brand where you check out of the ordinary. Sadly this means they don’t meet some basic ordinary standards of what you expect in a hotel these days. While they have made an attempt to design their rooms with some panache, at this hotel the rooms are tired and old and lacking in some cleanliness. The bathroom is dark and uninviting, especially when seeing the hair that was stuck to the ceiling, and poorly cleaned maintained doors and floors. There was dust on minibar items. The carpet had seen better days. There were no teaspoons in the minibar for your coffee. Beware when booking a bed and breakfast rate especially if you expected a buffet. There’s no buffet, and a strict limit on what you can order from the menu (most hotels which don’t have buffets allow you to order as much as you like from the menu). I was charged for adding an extra side to my breakfast. If there is only one person in the room the $36 breakfast premium is definitely not worth it. Service was also slow. Disappointed in my first QT experience. Probably won’t try the brand again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Hi SXJC, Sounds like we clearly missed the mark on this occasion and this is just not up to standard. I would love to make this right, please reach out to me directly via cameron_thorpe@evt.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adrian T wrote a review Dec 2023
Thornleigh, Australia145 contributions60 helpful votes
Nice hotel, a little further out but still within walking distance of most places in the City. Nice rooms. Breakfast menu a bit limited, and restaurant a bit pricey, but bar is ok. Overall ok for a short break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Hi Arlt, Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us! We will be sure to share your feedback with the team and we hope to welcome you back for another weekend getaway soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canberra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$179 - AU$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rydges lakeside canberra hotel canberra, rydges lakeside hotel canberra, canberra rydges lakeside hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
205
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QT CANBERRA (AU$179): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about QT Canberra
Which popular attractions are close to QT Canberra?
Nearby attractions include Palace Electric Cinema (0.3 km), National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA) (0.3 km), and Australian Academy of Science (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at QT Canberra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at QT Canberra?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at QT Canberra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at QT Canberra?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to QT Canberra?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cupping Room, Mocan & Green Grout, and Capitol Bar & Grill.
Is QT Canberra located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Canberra.
Does QT Canberra offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to QT Canberra?
Many travellers enjoy visiting National Archives of Australia (2.4 km), Calthorpes' House (4.7 km), and Mugga-Mugga Cottage (7.7 km).
Does QT Canberra have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is QT Canberra accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.