We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (334)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#25 of 61 hotels in Canberra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Flat screen TV's, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment separate to the main hotel with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Relax and stop by the iconic Lake Burley Griffin only a five minute's walk away. This hotel does not accept cash as a payment method. Credit, debit and prepaid cards are accepted to buy goods and services.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Korean, Vietnamese
2326Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 805
  • 857
  • 420
  • 162
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
yuls_1 wrote a review 25 Feb
Jindabyne, Australia67 contributions33 helpful votes
As an Accor Plus Gold member, I booked via the app 2 days prior to our stay. I paid by credit card and received the booking confirmation. We arrived ready to check in at 8pm and was told that our booking had been cancelled as I had apparently not paid. I showed him proof that my credit card has been debited and he was initially adamant that I (or someone who had access to my account) had cancelled my booking. I assured him that at the time that he claimed the booking was cancelled, we were travelling and certainly did not cancel the booking. I waited (with small child in tow) for close to an hour whilst the man on reception called to try to find out what had happened. He asked me to pay again, which I was obviously not prepard to do seeing that my credit card had been debited. After a very long and tiring wait, he advised that he would reinstate my booking and check us in. He advised that I should return to settle everything in the morning. The supervisor in the morning asked that he hold an amount on my credit card until they were sure that the credit card payment had been processed. The amount was finally reinstated, however it was a terrible experience as a very loyal Accor member and a first stay at the Peppers Gallery. The rooms were comfortable enough, and breakfast was just ok. The car parking is quite a long walk from the hotel and it would potentially pose difficulty for those with mobility issues. I would not recommend staying at the hotel after being accused wrongfully of cancelling my own booking. There was no follow up whatsoever to verify what had happened or to confirm that my credit card was not going to be debited twice. Not a good experience......
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michael T wrote a review 25 Feb
2 contributions
Room average and dated with damaged bed head. From Car park to hotel ridiculous walk just to get back to your room , Breakfast terrible buffet style nil refrigerated areas for cold Foods milks, yoghurts, cured meats just left sitting on bench from 6am - 10 am etc ,no covers on foods, dirty coffee cups and bowls. Overall disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Christopher M wrote a review 15 Feb
Khao Lak, Thailand2 contributions
The staff at the hotel are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are well appointed. I had 2 different rooms due to different requirements and they merged the room requirement's giving me the best option for the entire stay. I use this hotel frequently and will continue to do so!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sue S wrote a review 8 Feb
Canberra, Australia2 contributions
Loved the atmosphere, the service and the food! We had pizza, Vegetariana, crispy kale, broccollini, mozzarella, chilli flake, goat’s cheese, lemon wedge and house cocktail... we will be back! We visited after movie at the palace then strolled round the dome afterward, with its bright colourful lights, and took in the sight of the screensound building with it's changing colours. Very interesting and beautiful on a lovely Canberra Night. Sue
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wonderful to hear you had a great experience in our restaurant Bicicletta! I will pass on your feedback to my restaurant team and we look forward to hosting you soon! Anand Unnikrishnan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul B wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia12 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed just the one night. Upgraded to a king room from a petite Queen; sure bed "leather" getting a little tired, but what a lovely room overall. Easily the best block out curtains we've ever experienced; 7.30am for a sleep in, thought I'd woken pre 5.30am it was so dark. Only choice of one on tap beer to use my Accor complimentary drink voucher reduces rating to 8 from 9. (I prefer a dark beer variety, only had a Pale option); and no free parking under cover reduced in from 10 to 9 - we did find overnight parking directly out front (functionally after 4pm until 9.30am).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for posting a review from your recent stay at Peppers Gallery. Glad to hear you had a memorable stay and I have taken note of action items to work with my team. I hope to welcome you soon for your next stay in Canberra at Peppers Gallery Hotel. Anand Unnikrishnan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Queensland Traveller wrote a review Jan 2024
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Didnt enjoy my stay at Peppers Gallery. Many of the basics are missing here. At check-in the piano was so loud I couldnt hear receptionist properly. We had to speak loudly to try communicate. I was sure i heard breakfast was at 6am, which it wasnt. My room was on Level 2 and away from reception. The distance was no issue, but there are 3 sets of 5-6 step stairs to navigate. Even if i took the lift the experience was not nice. Room is was not to high standard. No towel rails, though the awful bathroom doors have short raise suitable for a face cloth. Basic amenities not in room, but a note instead asking to call reception if you want some. Using the iron is not nice experience either becasue the most suitable place to use is in the bathroom, and its not a large space. Closet was very dusty and since its only a wide open space using the kettle wasnt going to be a hygenic experience due to the dustyness. Side table had some fluid smeared underneath the glass surface, dont even want to imagine what it was. The matress is not flat and has a significant groove on one side. TV was not a smart tv and not nice to use. Controller didnt seem to work well and the tv had a delay in responding to the button press on the remote. From the poor communication at check-in (from overbearingly loud piano) i was early for breakfast following morning. Sat around for 20mins. Coffee machine had issues each morning. Long black doesnt work on the machine. The flat white i tried had no coffee, just water and milk. Location is about a 15 minute boring walk to city. Positives - Staff seemed nice. I will not be staying here again. First Peppers experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Coffee?? Forget it. Machine is awful... when its working.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Destination653500, Thank you for taking time to post a review from your stay. I am disappointed to hear of your experience as this is not what we want our guests to have staying at Peppers Gallery. Being a heritage property, our hotel comes with plenty of charm and some quirks such as sets of steps in the corridors, numerous mirrors in corridors, artwork in rooms etc. On occasion when our guests require a room move to ensure better experience our team are always on hand to assist. Regarding amenities in our rooms, as part of our sustainability initiatives to minimise waste, certain amenities are only available at your request. I have taken feedback regarding housekeeping to discuss with my team to ensure our quality checks are to standards before releasing the room for our guests to check in. I would like to once again thank you for your feedback, as it is feedback such as yours assist us to further improve the services we offer to our guests and always strive to provide a memorable experience. If you are planning to stay in Canberra soon please do get in touch with us so that we can ensure we can showcase our hotel and its service as experienced by our loyal guests. Anand Unnikrishnan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenni B wrote a review Dec 2023
Canberra, Australia10 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel is in a good postilion and very clean and tidy. Rooms are generous. There is limited parking and not on site. Breakfast was enjoyble if not a little disorganized. There are a few good restaurants close by.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jennib987, Thank you for taking time to post a review from our stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the services offered. I have taken note on breakfast service for further action. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay. Anand Unnikrishnan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
joancollins69 wrote a review Dec 2023
Melbourne, Australia444 contributions206 helpful votes
Whilst not very good it was good. Zero issue check in reception lovely and cheerful and afforded me an upgrade. Room decent size and clean a little worn esp bed head I was a little scared just how it bacme so ...worn like it'd been chewed! The room was fine for a solo traveller and worked from the desk. Bed soft. No view Air Con was very efficient and my cleaner must be a polar bear as was set to 16c each day Wifi great TV had a usb port love that Bathroom style over functional toilet slow to flush Pod coffee a treat but no bottle opener in room Body products lovely Buffet breakfast so so more a sides to your main should one opt for off the menu Fine location I found walkable to Civic but lacking in a variety of eats No gym Would stay again as quiet and was walking distance to all my wants
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Dear Joan, We are so pleased to hear that your check-in experience was pleasant and that you received an upgrade. We appreciate your positive feedback and have taken notes for further improvement. Thank you again for taking time to leave us your honest review, it truly means a lot to us here at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit! Anand Unnikrishnan General Manager Peppers Gallery Canberra
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samit S wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
The front desk staff is rude and breakfast staff was so understaffed. 1. We had dirty dishes infront of our room when we checked in at 2 pm 2. Being a long time Accor member, no complimentary drink in the room. Had to request. 3. Toiletries was limited supply, when requested by calling Front Desk, they asked to get it from the front desk and it was not delivered in the room. When we went to check the Front Desk staff, they were gossiping and then they lied that they got the room number wrong. 4. Breakfast staff was under staffed and long que and struggling to manage the demand. 5 This hotel doesnt deserve to be a part of Accor. It needs a full revamp on Accor global standards on staff training.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear Sammit, Thank you for taking time to write us a review from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. We will be touch with you to discuss your feedback further to ensure the issues you have raised are addressed immediately. I can assure you that this experience you have experienced is not what we are known for and this is a very rare occasion at Peppers Gallery. We are know for the wonderful and personalised service our staff provide and this is well highlighted by many reviews from our loyal guests staying at the hotel. I hope that you would provide my team another chance in the near future to showcase the hospitality we are known for. Thank you Anand Unnikrishnan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laraine A wrote a review Sept 2023
Albury, Australia58 contributions64 helpful votes
The hotel was in a quiet & convenient location to the centre of Canberra. The Queen room was very small with a comfortable bed, an extremely low armchair, desk & chair. We had lunch on the first day there & dinner on our second night in the restaurant. The problems we encountered were: poor service in the restaurant particularly at breakfast the first day though the second morning was somewhat better; the breakfast offered was very meagre & comprised a continental buffet with eggs only, cooked to order; the restaurant was dark & in need of refurbishment; many of the staff in the restaurant appeared to be untrained & uninformed about what was included with the Luxury Escapes package; and, the Manager, who insisted the free drink was only beer or house wine. When asked about a cocktail he told us they did not have a cocktail of the month & that was that. On our second night in the restaurant we were told they were trialling an “all you can eat $30.00 pizza” night. We were given a menu which listed pizzas with prices for each one & other meals that could be ordered. We noticed other diners ordering dishes other than pizza. We ordered two pizzas worth $53.00 but when paying we saw we’d been charged $60.00. After querying this, the manager was called & insisted it was $30.00 each regardless of what or how many pizzas we had & he refused to reduce the bill. After trying to rationalise with him about the fact we’d been given a menu with individual pizza prices he persisted in essentially saying we could have more. We had eaten enough, however, because he was so intransigent we then ordered another pizza which was wasted. Our main issue was with the Manager & management of this hotel. The two young men we dealt with at Reception & the Chef were doing a good job. We will not be returning to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If staying over a weekend there is plenty of free parking near the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Peppers Gallery, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear Laraine, Thank you for taking time to write to us about your luxury escapes experience at Pepper Gallery. I am really disappointed to hear of your experience. Please rest assured that I am working with my team to address the issues you have raised to ensure they never occur again. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and we will be in touch to discuss further and hopefully welcome you back to showcase the hospitality we are know for. Thank you Anand Unnikrishnan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canberra area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$181 - AU$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamant hotel canberra - by 8 canberra, hotel diamant boutique, diamant boutique canberra
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Diamant Hotel Canberra
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PEPPERS GALLERY HOTEL CANBERRA (AU$181): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra
Which popular attractions are close to Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Nearby attractions include Palace Electric Cinema (0.07 km), National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (0.2 km), and Australian Academy of Science (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mocan & Green Grout, Capitol Bar & Grill, and Monster Kitchen and Bar.
Is Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Canberra.
Are any cleaning services offered at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Vietnamese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra?
Many travellers enjoy visiting National Archives of Australia (2.3 km), Calthorpes' House (4.6 km), and Mugga-Mugga Cottage (7.7 km).