We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Inn

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown Inn
 Click to rate
Norfolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten here several times, always been well looked after and very well fed.I was slightly worried with last Sunday's booking as it was a far later sitting then we normally book (thinking the food may not be as fresh) . I really had no reason for my concern the food again up to it usual excellent standard ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkdreamer
Management response:

Pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, albeit a later time than usual. We are changing to the summer buffet on Monday 29th May, which is available Monday to Saturday 12-2 and 6-8pm and introducing a new a la carte menu on that day too. We shall be continuing with our ever popular Sunday roasts so look forward to seeing you

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in here on the off chance on our way home, Turned out to be a great pub,large fire in the bar yes it was cold outside and it was May! Decor very nice with pictures of old Gayton. The food was excellent they had put on a hot buffet with a good choice of meats and an assortment of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris g
Management response:

I hope that having found us on the off chance we will see you again, hopefully next time it will be warm enough to have dispensed with the fires but it's certainly been a chilly spring. Look forward to welcoming you to the Crown again soon

Norwich
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Post funeral wake but so well looked after by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. A warm (beautiful log fires burning) welcome and directed to the dining room where a selection of hot meals awaited us. Self service with four main course choices supported by variety of veg. All food was hot and tasty, just what was needed on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anniemaisie
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review, I am sorry that your visit was such a sad occasion and look forward to seeing you in happier times.

Holbeach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went with a friend who had been before and it was just as he described , a lovley old fashioned country Inn in a great building and some amazing no frills but delicious British cuisine . I went on a Monday and they still had a full carvery spread which was hot and fresh . Great place for a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeySalvatore
Management response:

Pleased you enjoyed your first visit and hope to see you again. We do a hot buffet with 5 fresh hot dishes vest day during the winter, when the weather turns warmer we change to the cold buffet with a selection of cold meats, seafood, quiche, pies and around 20 different salads .come along and try that too but only...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

This is a lovely old fashioned pub. Very friendly staff, superb breakfast and evening meal. Lovely gardens and gorgeous rooms. Will be going back. There is free parking and a good choice of menu. We were able to take our dog who was welcomed with open arms and loved it too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniew576
Management response:

Thank you very much, pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Having eaten at The Crown previously, albeit sometime ago and not on a Sunday, we decided to book for Mothering Sunday. Whilst the pub was very busy and clearly being well supported by local residents and other clientele we were very disappointed. We arrived and received very prompt bar service which was appreciated, however, upon informing them that we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
Management response:

My apologies once again for the problems you experienced, we were very busy that day and I regret I did not have sufficient time to speak to you as I felt is should have. Should you wish to email me please do not hesitate to do so as I would like to discuss the matter further, fliss53@icloud.com I am sorry...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017

If you are the sort of person who needs a Premier Inn this pub is probably not for you. The room we had was a good size, the en suite had all we needed and they were both clean and tidy. However this is a rustic, characterful, country pub, the rooms are not new, not square and not magnolia. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Popped in on a very quiet Monday evening. The bar was very cosy, lovely fires going on both main areas. Went for fish and chips (always a good test), couldn't fault the food, chips very crispy, perfect. Pudding was the lemon cheesecake, WOW, beautiful. Good selection of beers on tap, with guest ales as well judging by the beer menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

After the funeral of my wife's cousin we were all kindly asked to go back to the crown inn for something to eat and drink. The staff were very accommodating and friendly there was plenty of loverly sandwiches and plenty of coffee/ teas . The pub is very quaint and cosy . A typical English public house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimpendrigh
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Reserved here for a 2pm meal .... on arrival table all set and ready to sit , food is on a help yourself basis which was hot , well presented and plenty of choice . Restaurant was busy but plenty of room ... only one complaint was the table beside us once vacated was then split into two tables by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne V

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gayton
12.1 km away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn
Premier Inn Kings Lynn
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,106 reviews
4.1 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
784 reviews
9.5 km away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
718 reviews
11.4 km away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,012 reviews
7.6 km away
The Dabbling Duck
The Dabbling Duck
#1 of 2 in Great Massingham
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Lynn Road, Gayton PE32 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Gayton
Price Range: $83 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is lovely”
melaniew576, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an en suite room”
HamishGrenoble, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Didn't see rooms”
anitadilks99, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“didn't stay just had lunch”
DJRD, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Have never stayed since I live here!”
tyketyke, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates