We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cleburne Homestead

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cleburne Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cleburne Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

A quick stop over visit at Cleburne last night. I stayed in The Stable Suite which was lovely, had everything I needed and would easily suit a couple. The buildings are gorgeous. Penelope and David were amazing hosts, friendly but not over intrusive. Breakfast in the dining room was lovely. Exactly as advertised and therefore there is a gate to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannahmacauley
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Hannah. Many thanks for this review of Cleburne Homestead. We appreciate the detail of it. We also appreciate how you refer to the fact that the claims we make on our website are actually realistic. Pretty important, eh? Have a wonderful time doing whatever it is you do and we look forward to seeing you again. Penelope.

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 10 January 2016

It is a bit outside of Hobart and upoin approach one questions how can the place we are staying be here, but it occupies a nice piece of land between two major roads. Upon arrival, it is a beautiful sprawl of land with different buidlings that used to serve as former bakeries and librairies all set up so nicely. David...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidP2012
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Where to start? The front gate to the property needs getting used to and always has to be opened and closed. At one point on a windy day I managed to avoid getting my face smashed by moving in time. Little things like the light switch being caved in so a struggle to switch on/off. The TV has no proper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon66_12
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Sharon. Thanks for your feedback. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Cleburne. If you had mentioned any of your concerns while you were here, we would have done everything possible to make things better for you. Six days is a long time to be unhappy. In response to your complaints - 1. The gate. We have...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2015

To celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary this week, we chose to stay at Cleburne Homestead for its history, beauty and relative closeness to Hobart and surrounds. Our hosts Penelope & David made us feel more like old friends popping in for a short visit than paying guests. We chose to stay in the Bakehouse Suite which was clean, well-appointed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E7454XZnick
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

We were privileged to be part of your 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration and glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cleburne Homestead..When we first saw Cleburne we also thought that it was like being in Tuscany. The alpacas and sheep like to roam the grounds, so we do need to have the entry gates closed but we are having them...

Melbourne
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Cleburne Homestead is tucked away from the highway & is a homely little oasis, ideal for travellers motoring around Hobart. The stable was creatively & tastefully decorated, extremely well appointed & cosy overnight. Breakfast was fresh & delicious, making for an excellent start to the day. Hosts Penelope & David were extraordinarily hospitable & lovely, going out of their way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTraveller45
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for a delightful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Cleburne Homestead. It was a pleasure meeting you and we certainly do hope to see you again at some future time. Regards, Penelope and David.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 November 2015

This was a very pleasant surprise for the whole family. We were happy to stay here, if only for the night and the hosts were awesome. I highly recommend the Cleburne Homestead for couples and families. Even though we had our little ones along, the whole property felt cozy and romantic - a little like being in the Secret Garden....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenevieveLouise
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. It is such fun for us sharing Cleburne's grounds and animals with guests. It is especially so with children. We are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay and hope you return one day. Best wishes, Penelope and David.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Bonus...they have two live black mops.... Beautiful Hungarian sheep l dogs! Not far at all from city centre. Comfortable bed and good breakfast. Alpacas, sheep, cats and even a few rabbits are all happily part of the scenery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chenille12961
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Cleburne Homestead. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It has been a lovely spring in Tasmania and all the animals and the peacocks are thriving....great that you enjoyed them. Warm regards, Penelope.

Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the Bakehouse. Lovely room, comfortable bed. Hosts looked after us well and were happy to help with travel plans. Spotlessly clean. This bed and breakfast has a lovely, homely feel- we didn't want to leave. Gorgeous gardens, too. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LakesideChick
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cleburne Homestead and hope that you will come back to visit Hobart again soon.

Reviewed 13 July 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and the stay couldn't have been better. In addition to our cosy cottage with fireplace the Cleburne also offers a fantastic separate reading room that would be any book lovers dream, homey breakfast and the company of peacocks, chickens and alpacas. Penelope was more than accommodating by letting us check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber J
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for the terrific review Amber. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Cleburne Homestead. We have sad news - our little white alpaca baby died yesterday. He just did not gain strength despite our efforts with supplementary feeding etc. Thankfully, the others are all doing well. I think you timed your stay in Hobart well....it...

Reviewed 18 June 2015

We celebrated our 3rd anniversary and my husband chose this place without telling me exactly where and what it is. I loved it the minute we got there. The stable is a cozy cute studio with a great view. Even though it was very cold outside we went there in June 12th our room was heated up when we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rali k
Penelope A, Owner at Cleburne Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review and thank you for choosing Cleburne Homestead for your anniversary. We are glad that you had a good time and hope to see you again one day. Best wishes to you both. David and Penelope.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risdon
7.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
7.9 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
7.5 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#17 of 45 in Hobart
162 reviews
8.3 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 45 in Hobart
441 reviews
7.3 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cleburne is a fascinating and luxurious art hotel located at Hobart, Tasmania. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in heritage-listed sandstone buildings. The art hotel is furnished with contemporary Tasmanian and Australian artworks. With the fusion of new and old, Cleburne Homestead is one of the most earliest original heritage accommodation in Tasmania.We are the perfect spot to stay during your explorations of different beautiful places in Southern Tasmania. Our art hotel is a five minutes drive to MONA – the Museum of Old and New Art and fifteen minutes drive to Hobart's Constitution and Salamanca Place. Cleburne Homestead lets you experience art with our modern art collections embellished in every room.Cleburne Homestead is a place for comfort and relaxation. We have complete facilities for your satisfaction. You can choose from our five delightful suites: The Cottage, The Bakehouse, The Homestead, The Barn and The Stables. The Cottage is a two-storey suite with a queen-size bed and fully equipped kitchen. The Bakehouse has a free-standing bath furnished with Tasmanian art. Our Homestead is perfect for morning coffee and has private access to the Reading Room. You can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of The Barn and The Stables with its stone walls and leather furniture. Our two day beds can accommodate additional guests and children. Enjoy our delectable foods in our dining room or the verandah. Cleburne Homestead gives you the best bed and breakfast accommodation experience that you will never forget.Cleburne Homestead gladly accepts singles, couples and children and pets by arrangement. We take pride to our genuine hospitality and finest bed and breakfast accommodation. We are accredited with the Tourism Council of Tasmania and registered with GALTA. What are you waiting for? Spend a lovely time and enjoy the delights of Cleburne Homestead! Make your bookings now! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cleburne Homestead

Address: 1036 East Derwent Hwy | Risdon Cove, Risdon, Clarence, Tasmania 7017, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Risdon
Price Range: $142 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleburne Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cleburne Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleburne Homestead Risdon, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cleburne Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better try to get there in the daylight as outside road very busy”
 of 5 bubbles judithb149, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Watch closely for the front gate - easy to drive past.”
 of 5 bubbles Ellenmareedm, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have a unique feature, just ensure you pick the one that seems most interesting to you”
 of 5 bubbles DavidP2012, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“fireplace, farm animals, bed and breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles amberj4, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“the stable has a great view but no fireplace”
 of 5 bubbles 553ralik, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay