We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Leather Bottle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Leather Bottle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Never stayed as a guest, but have eaten there a few times. Good Hearty food, well cooked and tasty. In keeping with its historic Dickensian background. Staff are always welcoming and friendly. They are often busy, particularly for Sunday lunch so if you are popping in for drink only during the colder weather you're unlikely to be able to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited at lunchtime. My husband had the ham hock suet pudding from the Specials menu and I had the Huntsman's platter - pate, cheeses,ham,salad, pickle and bread. Both were delicious! Service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink one Sunday morning after a lovely country walk. Good selection of beers on offer but disappointed that we couldn't sit down at a table to rest and enjoy our drink as all the tables were reserved for lunch. I can understand doing this in the restaurant area but this was the bar section.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
leather_bottle, Owner at The Leather Bottle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunately we are a very busy establishment and the tables have reserved on them as people have called in advance. As Sunday is one of our most busiest days all our tables get taken up very early, We always recommend to book in advance as our bar area is also available to dine here.

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I often come here as we love it. By the looks of it so do the locals. This pub is always busy and never seems to amaze us with the quality of the food. The food is always hot and lovely. It has reasonable prices and has a lovely beer garden backing on to country fields. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma R
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Charming pub full of character, friendly staff, lovely food....but.... £13 for a child's meal? (£7 mains, £4 ice cream plus drink) very overpriced - we had 4 children in our party so almost £50 to feed just them and they are age 2-6! starters also quite expensive. I don't mind paying a little more as you get what you pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louie_wins
Kent
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great pub an authentic pint, however lunch was disappointing. Ordered the fish and chips and burger. Batter on fish was heavy and soggy, with not much fish. Burgers appeared to be the variety that is frozen, not home made and the children's meal was equally poor. That said the atmosphere is good and the staff courteous and polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shakie123
leather_bottle, Owner at The Leather Bottle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't have a nice experience with us. our batter on our fish is homemade beer batter, some people can find this a bit heavy, however if requested our chefs are happy to make a tempura batter which is lighter. Our Steak Burgers come direct from our butchers and i can assure...

Reviewed 26 December 2016

Four of us had dinner at theLeather Bottle on Christmas Day ,we did not enjoy it at all it was expensive and not worth the money, we thought that we would get nice table clothes but no just a table with a cracker each. The first course the soup was cold which the other People , had that were with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry H
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I arrived at The Leather Bottle late on a very busy Christmas Eve. Not expecting to get a table we ordered a drink and asked the nice gent frantically serving diners if there was a spare table. I didn't catch his name but he did his best to get us seated and we were handed over to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
leather_bottle, Owner at The Leather Bottle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Christmas eve dinner offering and hopefully you will return sometime to try the rest of the menu. It is always nice to welcome new visitors, and hopefully you may become the regulars of tomorrow. Kind Regards Susan

Reviewed 24 December 2016

booked a double room with en-suite , on arrival room changed to A twin with bathroom only down the hallway. no notification of room change prior to arriving. room freezing cold, radiators not working bath room smelt of damp, no dressing gowns to get to bath room. Hence didn't stay the night .No refund offered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
leather_bottle, Owner at The Leather Bottle, responded to this review

Firstly, I would like to say that if you’re going to write a review on us at least tell the truth. All our rooms are normally closed over the Christmas period, however when the lead of your party asked to book ALL of our hotel, I had agreed to open them up that morning for her. Two members of the...

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We booked the Christmas menu and made our choices early. The smoked salmon starter was huge. The roast turkey was watery. The whole meal was just warm. One of our group sent the dinner back to be put in the microwave. I should have too. We were given 5 huge potatoes. I think none of us ate more than 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DLWKent

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobham
1.5 km away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
438 reviews
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Singlewell
230 reviews
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
14.9 km away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
0.0 km away
The Darnley Arms
The Darnley Arms
#2 of 2 in Cobham
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Leather Bottle

Address: 54-56 The Street, Cobham DA12 3BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cobham
Price Range: $93 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leather Bottle 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Leather Bottle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leather Bottle Hotel Cobham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Leather Bottle staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Leather Bottle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check heating and double glazing is available”
 of 5 bubbles Eaters53, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is in a main country road so not too noisy at night anyway . So all rooms should be quiet later at night when the pub is closed”
 of 5 bubbles markdR1360DI, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay at this hotel, but ate a thoroughly enjoyable Sunday lunch. Good portions”
 of 5 bubbles 627patb, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles SUPAGRANDAD, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one set back from the road”
 of 5 bubbles henritom, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5