The Savaiian Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Savaiian Hotel

North Coast Road, Lalomalava, Savai'i Samoa
Traveller (285)
Dining (28)
Ocean View Room
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Lalomalava
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Snorkelling
Babysitting
Spa
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Karaoke
BBQ facilities
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

North Coast Road, Lalomalava, Savai'i Samoa
281Reviews3Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 108
  • 16
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brian M wrote a review Feb 2020
Brisbane, Australia285 contributions98 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here again for 4 nights in our favourite Room 4 with hot water bathroom & aircon although we did not switch the aircon on even once during our stay as the sea breeze combined with the ceiling fan was most sufficient. We love the only on-site restaurant where the price of food & drinks is very reasonable and we love the green curry chicken! Joe, Missi and all other staff make this place an excellent place to stay. This was our 3rd stay and we will definitely be back again soon as we visit Samoa regularly...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle T wrote a review Sept 2020
Aiea, Hawaii14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aloha from Hawaii! We love this hotel. Its location is great (since we like to stay close to the Salelologa area)! The property is a little outdated, but it's understandable for lack of resources not being the main island. This hotel makes up for the lack of a shiny nice interior with the great island feel from the people and attentive service.

Misi and Joe are great people!

We can stay anywhere, but this the only place I want to be when we travel to Savaii.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The front ensuite rooms are the only ones I have ever stayed at.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amysmum578 wrote a review May 2015
Kawerau, New Zealand852 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just made a booking for the new Backpacker room, I will be at the Savaiian Hotel in 2 weeks time - for my 7 th visit.

The Savaiian Hotel is one of my favourite good value hotels in Samoa and I often include a 2 -10 day stay here to relax at the end of my beach fale adventures.
A good TA report is all about finding the right place for your expectations, this includes the location and price.
This location is quiet and peaceful, it is 4 kms from ' town' - as stated on their website... (the town is Salelologa -where I saw a mother pig and her 8 piglets slowly meander across the main road on a Sunday.....)
It is only about 1 tala on a regular bus to town and reception always booked me a taxi if I needed one ( about 17 tala)
The previous person seems to be more of a city person with unreal expectations considering the price charged- last year I paid 115 tala for two of us in a spacious ensuite room, this year 80 tala for 2 of us in a share bath 4 bed room...both include breakfast....my advice is pick a place appropriate for your needs....and yes Sometimes in Samoa you need to prepare ahead for a Sunday, things are closed, reception is often not fully manned....especially in family run places....I always carry my own towel, toilet paper, a snack...if I am away from a hotel in a city...as I say it's all about expectations and now I am looking forward to my 7 th visit to the Savaiian Hotel and this time in two weeks , two days...I expect to be swimming in the pool with a wonderful view, eating Oka and fresh fish....only 15 tala...can't wait :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Augustine O wrote a review Dec 2011
Wellington4 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for about 5 days and absolutely loved it. It was very affordable, we stayed in both the fale and air conditioned rooms (got a bit sick so was room bound for a couple of days). The rooms were also very clean and tidy.

The staff here are sooo lovely and were always around to help out however they could.

We also did one of the tours with the owner of the hotel and that was an awesome experience. We did the North tour, so got to see the Lava fields, Turtle pool, and other attractions on the north side. The tour cost us around 100 tala each so was very affordable as well.

They also have cars available to hire and we did the trip around the island as well. The car hire was around 135 tala.

The food was also very nice and had a satisfactory range of different dishes.

All in all, great place to stay if in Savaai, very affordable and the service is top notch. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reto G wrote a review Dec 2011
Zurich, Switzerland1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife Beatrice and I have been serveral times and weeks travelling in the South Pacific. But it is hard to find a better service, food, location and friendlier staff then at the Savaiian Hotel. Thank you and good bye.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josefine C wrote a review Apr 2017
Frederiksberg, Denmark62 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We'd booked with The Savaiian Hotel for 8 nights but ended up staying 1. We arrived and were super disappointed to see the pool out of order and the sea looking gross and muddy. We expected to just be able to chill by the pool and tan, but not being able to cool down at all was not what we expected. We confronted the receptionist about the problem but he didn't really seem to get it. He told us that all guest were informed that the pool had been out of order for days. We'd never heard from them. We asked him to talk to a manager with no luck. Throughout the next 24 hours nobody wanted to talk to us and everybody kept pushing us to someone else. Very unprofessional!! We ended up just wanting to leave so we finally got to talk to the manager who led us only pay a percentage of the stay. We were super disappointed by both the staff, rooms and location. The hotel is convenient close to the ferry, but that's all good I sadly have to say.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from cobno456, Manager at The Savaiian Hotel
Responded 3 May 2017
Talofa Josephine, We are very sorry to see your disappointing review. Unfortunately, our pool was out of order . This was something that was beyond our control and we were trying very hard to fix. Unfortunately, there is not a single pool shop/repair man in Savaii and our own usual mechanics had been unable to resolve our pool pump issues. We had therefore needed to consult with overseas pool suppliers to seek advice and parts that had to be shipped to Samoa .These have now been fixed. I do apologize that you did not receive notification from us. We had infact tried to contact all our booked guests to alert them of this situation. Some OTAs unfortunately do not give us guest contact emails in their bookings so for some, this information was passed through their travel agents and may not have reached guests in time . Again our apologies that you did not receive this. We gave out free kayak hire passes and snorkel equipment passes to all our guests in these emails as well as on arrival as a small token and like with you, were willing to relax our usual cancellation policies. We are sorry you did not get time to experience our usual great food and service and felt that the out of order pool took away from your trip . We have also discussed with our front office your complaint of how you felt you were treated. We hope you got to experience the beauty of Savaii. regards Team Savaiian
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pandanuspalms wrote a review Dec 2011
Apia, Samoa85 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the few places in Samoa that understand what service is all about. I've stayed here a number of times and it's always top notch. The food is good, beautiful views, everything is clean and nothing is too hard for the staff. They also host the most knowledgeable tour you can get in Savaii.

I would stay here and do day and 1/2 day trips to beaches and other sites. They don't have a beach but they have everything else. Other places have a beach and nothing else.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan S wrote a review Oct 2011
Melbourne2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at the Savaiin Hotel for 5 days in August 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We found the hotel to be a great place to base ourselves as we explored the island. It is only a short taxi ride from the ferry and is located within a pleasant village by the coast. The hotel grounds are large and well kept. The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We enjoyed dining in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner each day. The food was delicious and the portions were more than reasonable. We hired a small 4wd from the hotel which we used each day to explore the island, something we would highly recommend, however if you are a little less adventurous and prefer a guided tour then the hotel is also able to arrange this service. We visited many of the natural and historic attractions the island has to offer and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found the Savaiin Hotel offered a comfortable and relaxing place to return to after a day of sight-seeing or swimming in the crystal, clear waters to the north. We would definitely recommend this hotel to all types of holiday makers; couples, friends, families or solo travellers looking for a simple, quiet, relaxing place to stay. We also enjoyed getting to know the owner and his family. They are lovely people and we wish them every success. They take great pride in their business and it is reflected in the hospitality they provide to their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry R wrote a review May 2019
92 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I had the most amazing stay at this gorgeous stop! We have been travelling for the past year and all agree that this is our favourite place that we have stayed! The view is stunning, the food at the restaurant is delicious but best of all were the fabulous staff that we all really bonded with! They went above and beyond in every way and really showed us the beautiful Samoan spirit and their amazing passion for their island. We had a fabulous time on their South Island tour, their recommendations and snorkelling out with their kayaks. We also went to the church that the owners go to which was a brilliant experience. Savai’i is a small enough island to stay here for the duration of your time here, could not want for any more! We even loved the roosters! Have to just embrace gorgeous Samoan culture! Thank you all!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luca V wrote a review Nov 2018
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 night at the Savaiian, and I just wanted to stress how happy we were to choose this hotel on the island. It's conveniently locsted close to the harbour and about half way to the blow holes south and the vulcano north. The staff is incredibly friendly, we had great cocktails and the dinners were delicious! We even got our very own Ava experience. Thanks to the entire staff team for treating us like real guests.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Val A asked a question Apr 2017
Murray, United States20 contributions
What time is your breakfast served?
Answer from cobno456
pacific12 contributions5 helpful votes
8am to 10am
Kaz Q asked a question Aug 2014
Auckland, New Zealand88 contributions15 helpful votes
do the showers have hot water ?
Answer from cobno456
pacific12 contributions5 helpful votes
HI There, rooms with airconditioning do have hot showers as well. The Samoan Styled bungalows (ceiling fanned rooms do not- only cold water- these are their budget rooms:) )
Michelle T wrote a tip Sept 2020
Aiea, Hawaii14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The front ensuite rooms are the only ones I have ever stayed at."
Read full review
TRACED PRODUCTIONS wrote a tip Sept 2019
Forster, Australia11 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"we did not stay at the hotel as we only booked a tour with them."
Read full review
Tim M wrote a tip Sept 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Savai'i is hot and humid year-round. If you struggle to sleep in heat or humidity then the air conditioned rooms offer a good option."
Read full review
outlawidol wrote a tip Mar 2019
Ellensburg, Washington3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are a few rooms with A/C. They cost more, but I'd recommend getting one."
Read full review
CruiserLandSea wrote a tip Jan 2019
Katherine, Australia11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I went for one with Air con."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lalomalava area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
savaiian hotel salelologa, savaiian motel salelologa
LOCATION
SamoaSavai'iLalomalava
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SAVAIIAN HOTEL: Reviews (Lalomalava, Samoa) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Savaiian Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Savaiian Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Savaiian Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Savaiian Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Savaiian Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Savaiian Hotel Restaurant & Bar, Adrias Cafe , and Savai'i Harbourside Cafe & Pizza Bar .
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Savaiian Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Savaiian Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
Is The Savaiian Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars