Kooljaman at Cape Leveque
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kooljaman at Cape Leveque

1 Broome-Cape Leveque Rd Cape Leveque, Dampier Peninsula, Western Australia 6725 Australia
Western Beach, Kooljaman
Traveller (416)
interior of ensuite cabin
Room & Suite (33)
Western Beach
Pool & Beach (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 5 campsites in Dampier Peninsula
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Kooljaman at Cape Leveque is an aboriginal owned wilderness camp with safari tents, log cabins, camping palm frond beach shelters, a restaurant, cultural and boat tours, and beautiful beaches.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Coffee shop
Beach
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Snorkelling
Fishing
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shops
Sun terrace
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1 Broome-Cape Leveque Rd Cape Leveque, Dampier Peninsula, Western Australia 6725 Australia
417Reviews4Q+A77Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 238
  • 106
  • 44
  • 18
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
London2014 wrote a review Nov 2020
Jabiru, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were lucky enough to visit Kooljaman and had booked a Beach Hut. Ended up extending for an extra night as we just didn’t want to leave!!
If you are equipped for camping, the beach huts are just perfect. The shower is such a bonus, your own fire pit and a picnic table as well as being able to hang a hammock from the shelter.
Maree and her team are absolutely fantastic and couldn’t have been more helpful or accommodating.
We will definitely be back one day to enjoy the peace and serenity of Kooljaman, the crystal clear waters and white Sandy beach. It is one of the most spectacular places we have camped in all of Australia. A little piece of paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hieronymous51 wrote a review Oct 2021
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 nights at this magical place, stayed in a deluxe family safari tent with balcony overlooking eastern beach, clean, spacious, comfortable, well equipped, beautiful view of sunrise, easy access to pristine beach for swimming, good boardwalk to reception and restaurant, short easy walk to western beach for magnificent sunsets. Reception staff might have been a tad more welcoming and enthusiastic. The restaurant was excellent and the hospitality staff superb. There happened to be a large cohort of mostly young Argentinians during our stay who were full of joie de vivre, spoke excellent English, worked hard and were very friendly and engaging - as were those from a smattering of other nationalities. Can’t recommend this unique place highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 4WD required for last very sandy drive into resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Curious56023801613 wrote a review Apr 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This accommodation is run by an indiginous group and whilst it may appear rudimentary all the comforts are there. Access to the area is by 4x4 vehicle driving only por by air. Have had a great time and everyone friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
0243jack wrote a review Sept 2021
sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is spectacular. Amazing views everywhere.
We stayed in the deluxe safari tent @ $350 per night. These tents have an amazing view, ours over the Eastern beach. They have a comfortable king size bed, a small kitchen with full size fridge/freezer, sink, plates and cutlery . They are eco tents so no air con, oven, stove top, microwave etc. they do have a Weber BBQ, and a small butane cook top on the deck. Overall this tent was in need of refurbishment. The bathroom and kitchen are so old and the room felt like it needed a really good clean. For the price you pay it wouldn’t cost much to make these rooms feel more comfortable:supply 2 towels each for 3 nights and upgrade these, they were tiny, change over some of the glassware and plates , I couldn’t use ours they felt so dirty and just give the whole room a really good scrub. We were able to keep our car next to the room but needed to keep our camper trailer in the car park ( even though there was a heap of room for us to keep it next to us which we would have preferred).
The restaurant was amazing. We had the 3 course dinner one night for $55, entrees included scallops, croc spring rolls. Arancini balls, mains : duck legs, seafood laksa, pork belly . Was amazingly good quality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mjclode wrote a review July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Obviously people have different expectations and maybe different definitions of wilderness.

We camped in the main area near reception, it was far from quite, the staff are regularly riding around on quad bikes or driving their Land Cruise that doesn’t have an exhaust, they don’t appear to even try to keep their driving to a minimum. In the time it has taken to write this review the manager (I think) has ridden past three times.

Then the restaurant that others have raved about aren’t serving dinner, you can buy a takeaway pack to cook for yourself from $24, no thanks!

Others have remarked on the beautiful area, well there area other areas on the peninsula that are just as spectacular or even better that don’t involve as much travel or expense.

The amenities are nothing to rave about, the clothes line is broken, the sink leaks, the toilets and showers don’t have anything to signify they are engaged, they do have locks.

The WiFi is slower than a wet week.

For me this is nothing more than an expensive caravan park at the end of a long road, very disappointing.

Eighty Mile beach on the way up was far better value, quieter, better amenities, as good a beach and $10 a night cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kooljaman Cape Leveque, General Manager at Kooljaman at Cape Leveque
Responded 10 Sept 2020
We do apologise for your feelings on Kooljaman, the restaurant can not open of a night due to us being able to secure staff due to COVID19, it has made it a hard year for us. The guys have to be out doing the maintenance throughout the day, as you pointed out there is a need for works to be done which we are trying to do over these uncertain times. As far as the wifi goes we are in the wilderness a place to relax without the wifi, we do appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xanthea G wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall our stay was tainted from the beginning being placed in a beach shelter 3m from the communal toilets that serviced day trippers and 10 other shelters (see pic attached - literally right next door). To access the toilet every person would need to trudge right past our shelter so naturally we felt obliged to say gday to everyone off to open their bowels! Frankly quite awkward for everyone. The beach shelter was marketed as a “private beach camping experience… with a ripper review”. This certainly wasn’t the case at our shelter ‘Jaorgarie’ was set back behind the access road and scrub. If you have your heart set on staying at kooljaman I’d recommend the cliff side unpowered sites up at the campground or at least request the beach front shelters being Gnibe, Ongoe, Mindo & Eejil (see map pic) or failing that forget kooljaman and free camp at Middle lagoon. As soon as we realised our shelter was next to the toilet we called reception to discuss the opportunity for a site change and were told that everyone had already checked into the other sites. Site ‘Jundi’ was not occupied at all that night so being payed off by staff was disappointing, further aggravated by being told that certain guests had requested specific sites. There was no option to request a site on booking so this is a disadvantage to new visitors. It was a real shame there was not more effort from staff to accomodate our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Allan C wrote a review June 2020
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dropped in for lunch and a small 4wd tour after flying over the Horizontal falls, VERY impressed, Grilled Barramundi with ocean views to die for.
The landing strip was a bit daunting but ‘oh well’ its all part of the adventure... Thankfully King Leopoldo air are fantastic at their job
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose the Barramundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Countless K’s wrote a review May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at a beach shelter for $100 per night that was supposed to be camper trailer friendly. The shade shelter was on the wrong side of the camper so we had to drive up into the bush and reverse the car back out. Our ‘beach view’ was behind several bushes and tall spear grass, we couldn’t see anything. Ammenities were good and clean but the hot water only lasted a minute or two. I don’t think it was worth the money.

Would recommend staying up the top in the powered site section. Much better value and can easily watch the sunset over the red cliffs each evening. Mozzies were there but not too bad.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret B wrote a review May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn’t get dinner on Wed and Thurs nights. OK, I quite understand there is a staffing issue here as there is all over the Kimberley. However, I would have appreciated some warning, as I could easily have brought food from Perth. The guests arriving by air each day got really nice looking gourmet food, including mouth watering fruit platters. This was not available to us mere mortals!

My log cabin near the beach had one enormous disadvantage: huge numbers of mozzies, especially in the toilet/shower aka the little house of horrors! Apart from this, Kooljaman is a beautiful spot and the two Spanish girls in the restaurant at breakfast and lunch were so nice and cheerful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelbus07 wrote a review June 2021
Brisbane
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A highlight to our trip, there is a $20 entry fee per person but you get access to some very spectacular scenery. The East side has a swim beach which also has some magnificent rock formations hugging the coast line. The West side is where you see beautiful sunsets and the famous red cliffs which adorn the coast. It is about 5 minute walk from the main reception to the red cliff beach. The walk is even but has loose sand in sections. Access is by 4wd only
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Brian B
Melbourne, Australia1,033 contribution327 helpful votes
The road is only sealed for half the drive and is also subject to flooding.You can hire a 4WD in Broome(at the airport) but allow plenty of time to make the trip.
Answer from Lee M
Dromana, Australia75 contributions70 helpful votes
You can get a flight from Broome to Kooljamon. Once there you can join a tag along tour by a local which definitely requires a 4wd. However there may be a place or two available for a passenger. Need to contact the resort to ask the question. If you can avoid the drive from Broome yo Cape Levique that would be good!
Answer from marie g
Gold Coast, Australia56 contributions16 helpful votes
From Broome you can fly to Kooljman and I believe the staff at Kooljman will meet and greet then take you to your wide choice of accommodation (pre booked with them) If you are happy to tackle the rough red dirt road for about 110 k's then about the some distance on a sealed road in a hired car from Broome airport, you will be able to join Brain Lee's Tagalong tour. Brian is a local Aboriginal man and his tour one of many high lights not to be missed as is Bundy's cultural walking tour. A car will also let you explore other Aboriginal communities, One Arm Point for their Hatchery tour, Lombadina for their kayaking, fishing, ancient footprints tour and a lot more. Kooljaman office would be your best contact, we found the staff very helpful and Kooljaman a place not to miss for a true pristine wilderness experience with Aboriginal and white Australians working side by side for the good of the country. Go, Enjoy Be Amazed. Happy travels, Marie G
Hieronymous51 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Perth, Australia59 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"4WD required for last very sandy drive into resort"
Read full review
bnezza wrote a tip Sept 2021
Perth, Australia85 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"4 wheel drive definitely required, only for the last 5 kilometres. Take a trip out to Cygnet Bay Pearl Farm, they are very welcoming there."
Read full review
Cynthia C wrote a tip Sept 2021
Perth, Australia18 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a larger family tent with views or ask for a camp site down near beach if you have a camper"
Read full review
AnthonyO wrote a tip Aug 2021
Broome, Australia11 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good luck"
Read full review
megmat_3 wrote a tip July 2021
Perth, Australia94 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't take large camper vans. Tyre deflators and inflators a must. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dampier Peninsula area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
kooljaman at cape leveque hotel western australia
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaKimberley RegionDampier Peninsula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KOOLJAMAN AT CAPE LEVEQUE: Reviews (Dampier Peninsula) - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kooljaman at Cape Leveque
Which popular attractions are close to Kooljaman at Cape Leveque?
Nearby attractions include Cape Leveque (0.00 km) and Coulomb Point Nature Reserve (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kooljaman at Cape Leveque?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Kooljaman at Cape Leveque?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Kooljaman at Cape Leveque?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Kooljaman at Cape Leveque have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars