We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 767: English reviews
London, England
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My husband and I visited with friends at the Stoke by Nayland Hotel for a golf and spa package, staying for one night. What a great place. Excellent value for money, great facilities, lovely hotel and rooms. Very good food wherever we ate there. The hotel is in really pretty surroundings. We were struck by how friendly and efficient the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blen
SBNHotel, Group Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is fantastic that you enjoyed your golf and spa break here – it sounds like as a couple you took advantage of a lot we have to offer! I will pass on your comments on to our staff – they’ll be pleased to know they helped make your stay a memorable one. Please...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We visited for Sunday Lunch for a family birthday and the food and service were excellent. With a few small people in the party their needs as well as the adults were managed perfectly. The staff were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble even providing an off menu desert for the children. Our first but not our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
SBNHotel, Group Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear your family birthday went off without a hitch! I will pass on your lovely comments to our staff. Please do come for a second visit soon.

London
Reviewed 20 May 2016

A large party of guys spent 4 days playing golf here. The hotel is 4 star the rooms are large and have every convenience you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The staff were superb and really made every effort to make sure everything went smoothly. In particular in the spike bar they were fantastic. The food was fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chaderoonie
SBNHotel, Group Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review! I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Golf stay with us. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your meals here. Our chefs try to cater to every guest – hungry golfers included! We’re very proud of our beautiful golf courses and I’m glad you enjoyed your time on them. We’d love to...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I booked 2 nights in the hotel with a friend to celebrate a break in her chemo treatment, (we got a good deal through Groupon) and rang ahead to book a massage and afternoon tea on arrival... all very easily done with no pre payments neccessary. We arrived on the Tuesday afternoon and were more than happy with our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butlinsbabe58
SBNHotel, Group Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for such a thorough and detailed review – we really appreciate you taking the time to detail your stay with us. I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about your time here, from your bedroom and afternoon tea, to the spa facilities and the staff. The Chefs work very hard to create exciting dishes and...

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We had a amazing afternoon tea party for my daughters baby shower, the attention to detail was wonderful cakes and s/w we're beautiful and coffee and tea in abundance, we will definitely be booking another afternoon tea with you, ty so much

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
SBNHotel, Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thanks so much for your comments. We’re so pleased to be able to make memories here, and I’m very pleased to hear you really enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We’d love to have you back – why not book yourself into the Spa and round it off with another Afternoon Tea? Please do visit again soon.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Had a very disapointing afternoon tea, rolls and sandwiches were dry, fruit cake was also dry and stale ,a lot of money for second rate food, we were the only people in there and would of expected realy fresh food,dont waste your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 736Traveller
SBNHotel, Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate customer feedback and I’m sorry that you feel the Afternoon Tea was not up to your expectations. We take feedback very seriously and I have contacted the head of department who will take into account your comments in order to optimise our service. Thank you for taking the time to post your...

Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

My family arranged a surprise afternoon tea party for my cousin today and could not have been more impressed with the venue and service. Special thanks to Becky for all her help and assistance on the day. Beautiful weather and lovely surroundings!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
SBNHotel, Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m so glad to hear you had a great time here! A surprise afternoon tea is the best kind – and let’s hope the great weather continues until your next visit here! Please do come again.

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a relaxing break and that's exactly what we had. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. We head straight for bar and had a nice lunch while we waited for our room to be ready. 13:30 we made our way to room 205..wow, it was absolutely wonderful with a fantastic view looking over the golf course....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDansie
SBNHotel, Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

What a lovely review! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing, pleasant stay at our hotel. It sounds that with having lunch and using our spa facilities you really took advantage of your time here. I have passed your comments on pool-side beds to our staff. Please do come back and enjoy yourself all over again, we’d...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

The afternoon tea we had on Friday was somewhat disappointing, we had a wonderfully attentive waiter to start with who organised the sandwiches to be remade as they were quite dry. He then went off shift and we were pretty much ignored, which wasn't great when we ran out of tea and discovered the cakes were also dry. The wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasha W
SBNHotel, Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended and that your room issues were fixed. Our staff make customer satisfaction their top priority. I’m sorry you felt that children’s pool times were not clear. The Children’s Swimming Policy is on our Terms and Conditions and on our website. The spa has set Children’s Swimming times...

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

I came with my daughter and sister in law to celebrate our birthdays. We had a lovely time, the room was of a good size and nicely decorated. We had a lovely lunch in the spa and used the facilities after our treatments. As we stayed over night we had dinner in the restaurant the meals were unusual but delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline V
SBNHotel, Digital Communications Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Happy Birthday to you and thank you for such a lovely review! I’m very pleased to hear that your birthday went well and you enjoyed the spa treatments and facilities. I do hope you come back later this year – we’d love to have you again!

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
13.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
35.4 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
18.1 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
945 reviews
21.2 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
30.5 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Price Range: $136 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wouldn't recommend the double twin bed upgrade room”
 of 5 bubbles bhaveshreec, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take the upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Johnthefish, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lakeview or golf-view rooms for a scenic outlook”
 of 5 bubbles PollyM_11, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 202 great views of course”
 of 5 bubbles K4712BFmichelled, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles KittyW_12, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5