We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just spent the weekend at Stoke by Nayland lodges. We had a fantastic time. There were 21 adults snd 5 children under 5 in 3 lodges. These are luxury lodges, perfectly situated on the edge of the golf course.Having recently been refurbished, our accommodation was exactly what we had hoped. Clean, smart, spacious and extremely comfortable, including the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our Country Lodges. We are delighted to hear you and your guests had such good experience celebrating your husband's 60th birthday at SbN. We will be sure to pass on all your comments to the relevant departments, and we really hope to welcome you back again soon....

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Diabolic service and food. Worst dining experience myself and our party have ever had. Too many things went wrong to mention them all and I advise avoiding this place like the plague. In summary, we were there for 3 hours for a Sunday lunch. Some of us got food others didn't, orders were wrong, service appalling, food was cold or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John D
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday lunch here at SbN. We value all feedback and ensure all comments are passed on to the relevant departments for training and development. I'm sorry to hear your experience with us was not as you had hoped. It is my understanding that the restaurant didn't charge you for...

Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a spa day and overnight DB&B stay. Arrived at 9.30 on Saturday and struggled to find a space in main car park. Went to reception and was told we could not book in but they could put luggage in locked room and we could book in later was then directed to Peake Spa. Service by staff on reception and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jackie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at SbN. We value all feedback and pass on comments to all the relevant areas for training and development. We're delighted to hear you received excellent service from our Reception and Restaurant staff, and you enjoyed the poolside facilities and lunch throughout your Spa Day....

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Regular guest due to business, the hotel never fails to underwhelm me. Out dated rooms In need of modernisation, lots of noisy unsupervised teenagers during the week due to golf school, never changing menu, rude bar staff - they ask for pre-authorisation on credit card when you check in if you want to charge to room then ask you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at SbN. We value all feedback and ensure all comments are passed on to the relevant departments for training and development. I'm very sorry to hear you always feel underwhelmed by your experience here. We would like to look further into the issues that have occurred throughout...

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the lodges for 3 nights, clean luxurious with beautiful surroundings. Very spacious modern and stylish. Very high spec and lovely bathrooms. Highly recommended complete with a chauffeur to take you to and from the hotel. The hotel is contemporary, modern with great food options. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. Spa is also very very good. Will return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in one of our Country Lodges. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the hotel. We will pass your comments on to all departments for feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, SbN

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The venue looked great from the outside when we arrived. The spa was pretty average in comparison to similar hotel and spas iv been to. We asked for upgrade and they only had double twin upgrade, but when we got our room was a bit disappointed. Was ok but they didn't tell us it was also a disabled room too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhaveshree C
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at SbN. We value all feedback and pass on all comments to relevant departments for training and development. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your upgraded room and the spa. We do restrict children's swimming times to try and minimise the disruption for Spa and Hotel...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed with the Stoke By Nayland hotel and Spa as the bed was awful as it had large sunken holes in the mattress so I was awake for most of the night. We complained about this and couldn't believe that the staff had not picked up on this as it was so visible. The spa is OK...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smithy891
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at SbN. We value all feedback, and pass on all comments to the relevant departments for training and development. We're sorry to hear you didn't get a good nights sleep because of the bed, and you had to ask for your robes, slippers and amenities which should have...

Suffolk
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We booked the SbN Hotel after a recommendation by a family member who has stayed several times. I'm pleased to say we were not disappointed. From the time we arrived we were greeted by smiling helpful staff, which continued throughout our stay. We took advantage of the upgrade to our room which overlooked the Golf Course. The room was exteemly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnthefish
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at SbN. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay including upgraded room, making use of our facilities and the Abba entertainment for the evening. We will pass on your lovely comments to all departments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, SbN

london,uk
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed in a Lodge which was superb. Luxurious self catering accommodation with wonderful views over golf course and a well run shuttle service to the club house and spar. However there were a few issues were encountered throughout our stay. 1. I appreciate that information states that we were able to use the facilities of the spa, but when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mumzigga
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SbN. We value and welcome all feedback and will pass on your comments to all staff for training and development. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues whilst using the Spa. We do reserve loungers for Spa Day guests, unfortunately it sounds as...

Cardiff
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Spent a couple of nights here with a group of friends. Our rooms were all really well appointed. Although some rooms had views of the golf course & some of the car park! Staff were all very friendly. There was a lovely cosy fire in the bar area. We ate here both nights - one night off the bar menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CardiffCharlie
SBNHotel, Marketing Team Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at SbN. We are pleased to hear you and your group of friends enjoyed your weekend. We will pass on all your comments to the relevant departments, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, SbN

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
13.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
35.3 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.1 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
959 reviews
30.5 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
18.1 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Price Range: $142 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely worth paying for a golf view”
N1254NVsarahr, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our group had 8 rooms and everyone was happy”
Gemmah222, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I wouldn't recommend the double twin bed upgrade room”
bhaveshreec, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take the upgrade”
Johnthefish, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lakeview or golf-view rooms for a scenic outlook”
PollyM_11, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUSD 188
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates