We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highlands Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Highlands Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highlands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

What a great find. Lovely small hotel in quiet location. Two pools and lovely garden. Extremely peaceful. Superb service by people who genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. Will definitely stay here on my return to Cape Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HumphreyBee
Kent
Reviewed 8 January 2016

If you are looking for a stay which is not only hidden in a beautiful lush garden setting with secret gardens, clipped hedges, fragrantly scented shrubs and flowers, water features, two swimming pools, a conservatory for your private use, professional staff who not only work well in their team but who genuinely respond to your every needs with such friendliness...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Challenge888
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Highlands was built 115 years ago, and a stay there provides one with a glimpse into its exquisite colonial past. Although well maintained, this grand old lady does show a few cracks here and there: a chipped gable, the odd broken roof tile, but they mostly just add to the charm. Our room (Room 1) was spacious and airy, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rossj81
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 22 December 2015

I visited the Highlands earlier this month with my dad. He was traveling to Cape Town on business, and I had always wanted to visit, so tagged along for this trip. This was my first visit to Cape Town and first stay at the Highlands, but my dad had stayed there in the past. The staff are all very service...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T7268KEjoeb
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This is such a gorgeous place to stay in Cape Town. Big beautifully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms, elegant living rooms and a stunning garden. The staff are incredibly helpful, and even set up an area for my husband to have a business meeting one day last week. It is situated in a fashionable and convenient part of Cape Town and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GEMJohannesburg
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Had a good stay at Highlands. The room and bed are large and comfortable. I had a terrace which was a nice touch. It is a house, so sound proofing is not great within the house, but I wasn't disturbed during the night, so it wasn't a problem. If you want to explore the area I would suggest a car....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annasJ5713FB
Pretoria
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Personalised service a plus. It is great to be known as a person instead of just a number. Loss of dinner availabilty a minus. Was not happy that other guest travelling with me got smaller room upstairs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 472gretad
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We made a quite bad experience with this hotel, which calls itself a 5-star hotel. We only stayed there for a night, in the gable room. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with a nice garden. The interior is not very clean and the SPA was not working when we were there. The problem we had, was with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laure N
m_chicken2014, Manager at Highlands Country House, responded to this review

Dear Laure I am so sorry you both had to experience this bad service from Cabs on Call. We will no longer be offering their services after your experiences. Unicab was contacted and my colleague's call was logged but the driver got lost and didn't get to the hotel until much later. Apparently the Unicab driver contacted their depot twice...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We had a lovely stay quiet (except for the cat trying to get in the room at 2am). Breakfast great and the lady serving the table was lovely and chatted away to my daughter. We were following a cricket tour so very handy for the school we had to go to. Also great for Newline cricket ground if you love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolep19702015
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Property a bit tired I must say.Must have been grand once upon a time.Sassy was great on arrival.When I got back from dinner around 9pm it was a struggle to gain access to the property and the next morning I had to go searching in the kitchen to find someone to cook me some eggs for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simong226

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
2.0 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,236 reviews
2.7 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
381 reviews
1.9 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
9.0 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Price Range: $157 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highlands Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The attic rooms have stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles Maxprella, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I slept in room 10, which is upstairs with a little view of city from the bathroom window.”
 of 5 bubbles limingonaphakadeq, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request your preference for satisfaction as it is personal to you!”
 of 5 bubbles Challenge888, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the gable room..”
 of 5 bubbles 285lauren, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Avoid this place at all cost - there are far better accommodation available at better prices. This accommodation seems to prefer foreigners and one gets the feeling South Aficans are somewhat considered third class citizens.”
 of 5 bubbles 853peterl, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5