We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roodenburg House

TripAdvisorUSD 116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 116*
USD 116*
USD 116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Roodenburg House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Roodenburg House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I always use Roodenburg House when on business trips to Cape Town, as it situated close to our Cape Town offices. I would however highly recommend this venue for both business and holiday trips. It is private, well maintained, clean and comfortable. Free wifi is available, as well as a small gym with basic necessities. Breakfast is served and prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
patbrindleycapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review

Dear Darren Thank you so much for your review. It is much appreciated. Thank you for support during the year. Hope to have you as our guest again soon. The peace and tranquility our Guest House offers is always an added bonus, "Home away from Home" Regards Pat

Reviewed 20 October 2015

I found this home to be exquisite in so many ways! Centrally located – to visit the Sea front, shopping malls and other places of interest! The Management was so courteous and warm that I will visit Cape Town again and book to stay in Roodenburg House. The warmth of the place made me feel at home in spacious rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillian Z
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Roodenburg is such a homey and peaceful abode. absolutely loved staying here. Sadly i didn't know about the gym - had I known i would have definitely force packed by running clothes. unfortunately i was never around for breakfast so not comment there, apart from the dining room chairs DESPERATELY needing re-upholstering as they let the rest of the house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lungi89
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Very comfortable. Excellent cooked breakfast. I have only 3 comments. 1. could the bar stock some non alcoholic drinks , Coca Cola, etc 2. Could the fallen leaves be cleared from the surface of the swimming pool as they get in my hair when swimming and 3, Room 2 very noisy from traffic on the road

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 417nicholash
judzCapeTown, Owner at Roodenburg House, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas thank you very much for the kind review and the helpful comments. We do have an "honesty" bar which has become a little problematic as quite often people forget to write up if they have had something to drink. We will implement a system where guests can order drinks for us to stock their fridge with, on arrival,...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 October 2015

The room was great and I was so happy to have a bath as I prefer it to a shower. DSTV was essential,like a home from home. Had an early flight so did not sample your breakfast,but will be back. The parking was very convenient and I always prefer a room in the house to a room in the garden...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 403sherrylb
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I have spent many a night at Roodenburg House whilst traveling for business and have never been disappointed. The rooms are beautifully decorated with all the comforts one could ever need. Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff. Perfect place to relax and unwind after a long day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hayley B
Davidhncapetown, Manager at Roodenburg House, responded to this review

Hi Hayley its always a pleasure having you as our guest.. i look forward to next your visit. Take good care of yourself. Kind regards Pat

Harare
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Roodenburg House and were extremely well looked after. The location was perfect for us and made our stay so much easier. Pat was a wonderful Hostess and was very ably helped by Philip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Staff and owners were extremely accommodating and very friendly! Always ready to help and made my mother feel welcome and comfortable at all times. The rooms are spacious and clean and breakfast was a real treat!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gregj177
Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Great place to stay. Wonderful rooms and lovely food. Home away from home. Situated at the center of almost every attraction areas. Ohhh the gym a cherry on top. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others in my area

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 727ezekiels
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2015

This is a no miss for any stay in Cape Town. Phillip, Steven and Pat made our stay extra special. Relaxing beside the pool at the end of the day and great breakfast fare made this the highlight of our stay in Cape Town.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank drrichardh

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rondebosch
2.3 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,275 reviews
3.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.0 km away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#2 of 20 in Rondebosch
64 reviews
0.9 km away
Knightsbury Guest House
Knightsbury Guest House
#3 of 20 in Rondebosch
65 reviews
1.5 km away
Carmichael Guesthouse
Carmichael Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Rosebank
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautifully restored 1882 Arts and Crafts residence is set in the heart of leafy Rondebosch, close to sports stadia and UCT. Luxury and comfort with air-conditioned bedrooms, original art work, fireplaces, stylish bar and lounges, gym and saltwater pool set in tranquil gardens. DSTV and WiFi. Gourmet breakfasts alfresco or indoors, with home cooked dinners offered. Spa treatments arranged. Conferences for up to 20. Easy access to City and airport. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Secure gated parking | Children welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about Roodenburg House

Address: 74 Camp Ground Road, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roodenburg House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roodenburg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roodenburg House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Roodenburg House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a king bed, choose the mountain view room. For an incredible view of Table Mountain, choose the Paisley room with the Queen bed.”
X2346NTmaryg, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you prefer absolute quiet, ask for a room which is on the opposite side to the school yard, and which overlooks the swimming pool.”
DarrenP134, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
82lillianz, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you plan to sleep past 7:30 make sure you don't choose the room overlooking the school next door, otherwise you'll be in for a nasty surprise!”
908JohnC908, 14 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Rears at the rear are quieter as the road at the front is busy from 6 until 9 a.m. Rooms next to the school next door have the noise of excited children from 7.00 until 7.45a.m.”
  • Birds of Paradise Bedroom
672michaelm, 15 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 116* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 116
PricelineUSD 116
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates