We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Treebones Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Treebones Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

770 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 757: English reviews
Start your review of Treebones Resort
 Click to rate
Colorado Springs Colorado
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our third or fourth visit to Treebones and each time it's magical. We love the ocean view sushi bar and the ocean view dining area. With Hwy. 1 closed it took us an extra hour to get there but it was worth it. The overland route was beautiful through the Nacimiento River Valley. Every yurt we've has is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rounsley
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had this trip planned long before Hwy 1 was damaged and closed, and were so grateful the alternate route opened in time for our trip. The road in was easy, but be sure to add travel time to your itinerary. There are some beautiful views to be had if it is clear on your way in. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
seattle
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 boys ages 10 and 12) recently stayed at Treebones Resort for 1 night on our road trip from LA to SF. What a treat! We stayed in yurt 7 which was equipped with a large King size bed and a full sized bed for the boys to share and plenty of room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmfd
SF
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There's no question Treebones is in a beautiful location and the yurts are very fun. However, we couldn't get over how terrible the food was and how overpriced it is for the quality. For a $30 burger you would expect wagyu beef but what is served is a far cry from a good burger. Other items weren't any better, most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jet721
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jet21, Thank you for giving us a try. Glad you enjoyed our ocean front location and found our yurt venue 'fun'. We comped your meal with sincere apologies and do admit that the new hiree training in the kitchen that night did not live up to yours or our expectations and has since departed from our employment :( I...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is absolutely magical. Incredibly well kept, well appointed, and clean. Great food, great staff. We stayed one night in the treehouse and one night in a yurt. I'm a total city slicker and now a glamping convert! Can't wait to return!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turnertaylor
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing your personal conversion to 'glamping;! ya! it 's a wonderful way to experience nature. Hope to see you again soon

Los Angeles
Reviewed 1 week ago

With the recent damage to PCH we had to travel into Big Sur and to Treebones through back roads. We decided to get a little creative and ended up taking dirt roads that finally lead us to this wonderful retreat without every setting tire onto PCH. Naciemento Rd to South Ridge Crest to Tree Bones. This provided us views of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ermcmorrow M
Treebones, Guest Relations Manager at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be back again! Thank you for making the extended journey to get here, and glad to hear it was worth while. A Note to Inquiring Guests: The Alternate Route is a PAVED road called Nacimiento-Fergusson Rd. that leads over the mountains...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family of 6 from Scotland have had a 2 night stay booked months in advance and were really looking forward to it...so we were disappointed Highway 1 was closed. One or two of the reviews nearly put us off making the journey via the mountain pass. Thankfully we didn't listen and headed over anyway and we are so glad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine7058
Treebones, Guest Relations Manager at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with inquiring guests. We are happy to hear that you found Nacimiento-Fergusson Rd to be easily accessible and worthwhile. You are right, while it is a "focused drive" due to being windy and narrow, it is also very beautiful and certainly safe. How wonderful that you were...

Santa Clarita
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Treebone is a quiet place to go for relaxation, great views, friendly people and really good food at the restaurant. There is no cell service so make sure you can handle that for your stay. There is wifi in the restaurant, but other than that electronics are out. I enjoyed it, and it's really the reason we chose the place....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike C
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would like to try it again. When we stayed the winds were 30mph and it was 40degrees. I can see the potential, it was beautiful. It's not for a fussy traveler (i.e. shared bathrooms) but think it could be very cool in the summer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole h
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Hello there! Congratulations Nicole! you braved our Resort in one of the fiercest of winters on record for over a decade! Thank you for giving us a try. It's true! Treebones is not recommended for 'fussy travelers'! We are a "glamping resort'...which stands for glamorous camping....sometimes folks forget about the camping part (hey, the yurts are a tent, you must...

Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent two days camping at Treebones -- camping in our tent, not a yurt. We felt so lucky to be able to pitch a tent in such a beautiful setting. Our site overlooked the Pacific. We were greeted wonderfully by the staff, and helped in every way to get settled in. We ate dinner the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thank you for your visit and for mentioning our campsites....there are 6 campsites available at Treebones and one comes with the 'HUMAN NEST'! While our main brand is the yurts, i feel the campsites are such a super good deal because you can reserve them them ahead of time, they are all ocean view and they come with...

661 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (656)
Viewed
View from Room (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
2:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (272)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
47.1 km away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
1,168 reviews
53.5 km away
Big Sur River Inn
Big Sur River Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Sur
383 reviews
50.6 km away
Big Sur Lodge
Big Sur Lodge
#2 of 8 in Big Sur
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
0.0 km away
Two Harbors Campground
Two Harbors Campground
#1 of 1 in Two Harbors
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar
Treebones Resort Wild Coast Restaurant and Sushi Bar
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Seafood, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged South Coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. Sustainability statement: We are dedicated to providing an honest eco-experience. We are off grid and over 50% sustained by solar power. We recycle and utilize our onsite garden and chickens to complete a composting cycle. We are also human-sustained: Meaning..we serve tourists with our hearts and our hands and there are humans behind the service here..not robots! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Price Range: $211 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Treebones Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Treebones Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Yurts 15 and 16 are father away and quieter”
  • View from yurt 16
rebeccapF3791MC, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I believe all of the yurts have a view of the ocean but check to be sure.”
kmfd, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For a couple the tree house is so romantic!”
Turnertaylor, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Yurts are nice but the restrooms are not in the room. Showers and toilets are very clean.”
mikecJ871DL, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the king bed with the ocean view”
Niccibabb, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5