We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Colchester

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
Panoramas (36)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 662: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A really lovely hotel. A spotless and quiet room. Great staff, they have decked the halls with holly and christmas trees etc its location is secluded and close to the main road into Colchester. All in all a great stay however the breakfast was pretty poor. There was nobody to fry an egg you had a choice of rock hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank BornFreeDieFree
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had works Christmas dinner and party here. Surprised at how nice the hotel is. The room is clean, comfortable stylish. Pool is nice if a little shallow. The food was ok. Beef a little tough and chewy. Price of drinks a little steep but expected in a hotel. Had a really nice stay 👍🏻😃

Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a coeliac I was worried about eating in the restaurant. I informed Sam the duty manager and she ensured (after numerous trips to the kitchen) that my meal was completely gluten free - including having gluten free crackers - for once a hotel restaurant with no worries of being ill - thank you Sam.

Helpful?
Thank Kimisambo
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nicely refurbished, clean, modern and smart, but a few finishes needed. Shame the food is not of same standard! No decaf coffee other than ghastly sachets that taste of gravy browning. Lunch was all just heated ready meals. Breakfast had the Worst dried up scrambled egg ever tasted, tough bacon, not very nice black pudding so left it all other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiSam
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff on check in really were 100%, helpful, friendly and a joy to deal with. Whilst the room was as per all Holiday Inn's, clean and very tidy, it was very noisy. I certainly think the windows could be replaced to help isolate the A12. The food in the restaurant was a little limited however breakfast was good.

Helpful?
Thank DarrenHallett
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive to book here, so I was expecting great. Unfortunately I was left disappointed. First of all they greeted me as a gold member when I'm actually a platinum. This makes a difference as it costs a lot to get to this status, and at most hotels I get a room upgrade. I corrected them however still got a standard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar1114
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

V clean room. Good power in the shower. Bad sides. Bleep freazing eating breakfast as air conditioning just turned on to lowest setting. 2 tiny sugar sachets for the tea and coffee and the light above it not working in the room. No bacon with the breakfast but made up for it in other selections. Auto rolling toaster takes 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank daveinglasgow
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear daveinglasgow, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to know that you appreciate the cleanliness of our property and the service rendered by our staff. On the other hand, we sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver a good breakfast experience during your stay. Rest assured... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Am now an IHG Spire elite member but received no benefits during my stay here. No upgrade and no bottled water in room. There were no tissues in bathroom and other minor issues. However Anthony the breakfast server was helpful as usual aswas the young lady on reception.

Helpful?
Thank pwd100
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear pwd100, Thank you for your recent stay and for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Spire Elite member. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to shortfalls on some of our amenities. We always strive to provide our guests with enjoyable as well as comfortable accommodations and we regret that we did not meet... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We enjoyed the pool so much. It was quiet and peceful in the evening and in the morning though there were a few more people swimming, it was still very peaceful. We really enjoyed the spa. We really enjoyed the breakfast too. Such a wide variety and so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inessa H
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Came today for a meal in the restaurant and I have to say it was pretty awful. Service was very slow with no one at the bar for ages to take order for food. When we finally ordered I was told no halloumi but they could do a veg burger with normal cheese, my burger consisted of roasted veg and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank claire b
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Claire B, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing to stay with us. It is our goal to ensure our guests’ satisfaction is met with the excellence of service and products you expect. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay due to the dining experience you had encountered,... More 

383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Double Room (37)
Viewed
Executive Room (40)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Twin Room (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
10.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
8.4 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
491 reviews
5.0 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Price Range: $83 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Colchester staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Colchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms starting with 100 - 110”
 of 5 bubbles Fabkaf, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask if they have a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles pacificlight28, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here (thankfully)”
 of 5 bubbles JaneBen65, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the front - very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles howie999, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the train line if possible and if your a light sleeper .”
 of 5 bubbles LeginM, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay