We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunwing Bangtao Beach

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of Sunwing Bangtao Beach
 Click to rate
Chennai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in September 2016... Travelling in a Mid-Size Group of 8 Adults & 3 Kids. Resort was decently maintained... No issues... My major concern with this resort was that No Staff were available in the Late Evenings. Everything just abruptly shutdown after Sunset. Pools closing is understandable, but the Children's Play Area, the Indoor Activity (Table Tennis, Pool, etc...). Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amillwala
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear amillwala, Thank you for your feedback! Actually, either off-peak or peak season we have the same standard hotel operating and working hours. Our front desk is open 24 hours! Here, there are staff standing by and always available if they can be of any assistance! Our two restaurants close at 22.00hrs, minimarket at 23.00hrs, gym at 22.00hrs, outdoor swimming...

Stockholm
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is good when travelling with children speaking a Scandinavian language as there are plenty of fun child activities. The pools are also great. The large restaurant is ok at best, but the children can have free buffet when adults are ordering a meal, making the overall price very competitive. The smaller restaurant is very good. We were actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hooq
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear hooq, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback! We are happy you liked our pools and enjoyed that food in our restaurant! Moreover, apart from provided fun activities we also have evening shows for the whole family to enjoy! Thank you once again for letting us know about your room! Actually, we have...

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We had been in this lovely hotel in the summer. We booked all meals ( very recomanded .if not,its very expensive),and it was very tasty as buffet still in the morning against the sea. We had a room on ground floor opened to the pool .if you have small children its very nice to have such a room. We liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anat K
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Anat K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear you had a well spent vacation here in our hotel! As well, our chef will surely be pleased that you did enjoy his cuisine! Once again, we thank you! It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome your family back...

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Reviewed this resort online and all activities posted did not materialize. Thailand, being well known for its thousand smiles didn't happen either with the hotel staff which comprises of both Thai, Philippine and Myanmar nationals! One of the worst service from the staff. Housekeeping was bad as well! Toilet floors weren't washed and towels not placed appropriately and they can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceciliacH25YX
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear CeciliacH25YX, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! To provide our guests with an amazing experience and superior services are what we always aim for and it truly saddened us to hear that we failed to do so, in this occasion! Cleanliness is one of our main priorities and we apologize as due to unnatural hygiene related incident...

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Sunwing Bangtao Beach is a miserable hotel. The state of the hotel is of decay. The room smell of mildew and mould. On our last night when we got ready to leave, we found vomit under the beds. That vomit had not been cleaned under our stay at the hotel. Wonder how long that's been under the bed? When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattias K
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mattias K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are sincerely sorry for this inconvenience that made you left unhappy! Cleanliness is one of our main priorities, our room maids certainly do a thorough cleaning everyday and it truly disappoint us to hear that your room maid failed to do so! We have passed on your feedback...

Larvik, Norway
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The hotel is located about 30-45 minutes from the airport in Phuket. Overall this is a good hotel for families with different pools and right by the beach. There are several different pools (also childrens pool), we mostly used the main pool with the pool bar. The beach is just at the end of the hotel and the hotel provides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tourist75
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tourist75, Thank you for making our resort your choice of stay on your holiday here in Phuket! And thank you again for spending the time to share us your experience and information about our hotel! Actually, we have scheduled a planned renovation of our property already! Works will start from 16 May - 31 Oct 2017! It is good...

Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times, and the reason we keep going back is for the following reasons; 1. We can get great pool access rooms at a reasonable price. 2. The pools are fantastic (kids love it) 3. Restaurant that serves b'fast is on the beach and breakfast is good. 4. Beach is beautiful and right next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoppermag
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear hoppermag, Thank you for sharing your holiday experience! It was a pleasure to have you with us here again and it is truly delighting to hear that we are always able to fulfill your satisfaction that keeps your urge in returning to us! Furthermore, our property renovation has been scheduled and works will start from 16 May 2017 until...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

I'm sure I will never stay in this hotel again! At the beginning, it was quite ok, my kid enjoy the mini disco show they organised but the service in this hotel is unbelievable!! Overpriced!!! 1/ the location of it: the beach is nice, clear water tho a bit wavy; but it is really isolated, nearest 7-11 need a 15min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferlemaire
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear jenniferlemaire, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Providing our guests with a superior experience is what we always aim for and it is truly disappointing to hear that we fell short of our goal in this occasion! And we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced with our restaurant staff and the guy in our...

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We spent 2 weeks at this amazing hotel in March 2017. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, all common spaces were cleaned reguraly and the facilities (such as pools) were also fantastic. You can have your breakfast looking over the beach (which is just a few steps away with smooth and white sand). I would like to say thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zsanette
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear zsanette, You are most welcome and it is our pleasure! To provide our guests with an amazing experience staying in our resort is what we always work hard for and it is truly inspiring to hear that we have successfully fulfilled it with you! The team will surely be pleased with your heartwarming appreciation towards them! We shall then...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had three generations here, with 3 very young grandchildren. This was definitely the right choice. It is entirely family orientated. It is a big resort with lots of facilities for kids. The majority of the guests were Eastern and middle Europeans and I must say that the kids were all very well behaved. It felt like organised chaos but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hajijohn
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear hajijohn, Thank you for choosing to stay in our family resort! Reading your good review made us all very happy and to know you had a wonderful holiday here made us even happier! It is also good that the size of the room and its amenities was perfectly suited to your family, as well as the breakfast! Once again,...

1,225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (605)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (259)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (514)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Happy Baby Studio (85)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (4)
Viewed
Pool (69)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Royal Family Room with Pool Access (79)
Viewed
Studio Room (80)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.7 km away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
540 reviews
2.1 km away
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,705 reviews
0.7 km away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.4 km away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#10 of 36 in Kamala
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunwing Bangtao Beach is a fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. For those whose ideal vacation consists of sipping colorful concoctions while dipping a toe in the surf or dozing off under swaying casuarinas trees, then Sunwing Family Resort fits your bill to the tee. NOTE: Kids stay, play & eat for free! (Contact the hotel for more infomation) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunwing Bangtao Beach

Address: 22 Moo 2 | หาดบางเทา, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Sunwing Resort & Spa Bangtao Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Price Range: $137 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Bangtao Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunwing Bangtao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Hotel Thalang
Sunwing Resort And Spa
Sunwing Hotel Cherngtalay
Sunwing Bangtao Beach Phuket/Bang Tao Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunwing Bangtao Beach staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from Sunwing Bangtao Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere...”
amillwala, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Highest floor more quiet, no noise from floor above. More noise near entertainment area due to music and people (ends at 10-11 pm).”
Tourist75, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Swim out rooms are great, so are the happy baby studios”
hoppermag, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Building 6 has the best location”
zsanette, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“820 was at the reception end and not too busy”
kat0007, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates