We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mabula Game Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mabula Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mabula Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I strongly recommend Mabula Game Lodge for Couples or Family travels. The staff is professional and friendly. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The food is tasteful and very well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jessica G - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Mabula Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited Mabula lodge with my wife and two boys for three nights in January. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean with beautiful modern finishes. The rooms are also clean, smart and cozy with all the modern amenities. We were on an all inclusive package with breakfast, lunch and dinner included on buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJRaddall
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MJRaddall - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your family holiday at Mabula Game Lodge. We're honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers, and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've heard such great stuff about Mabula and honestly I was extremely disappointed. We rented a villa - our staff were amazing (Jimmy, Rodney and Louw) The villa was far from a villa and in very poor condition. We paid a lot of money for the villa and the toilet seat was broken in the one unit we asked them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane H
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sarah-Jane H – Thank you for taking the time to review your Mabula experience. We appreciate your constructive feedback and we’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your villa experience. This is not at all the sort of impression we would want you to leave Mabula with, and we would like to take this opportunity to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Mabula in May 2016 and I must say that the experience was out-of-this-world! As I drove through the gate, there was one of the big 5! What an experience before I even checked in. The chalet where I was booked was in the wild, spacious, with all the facilities to feel at home. The housekeeping ladies made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samkeliso_2016
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Samkeliso_2016 - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we're honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers - thank you.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Mabula in December and had an amazing time. The safari experience completely exceeded my expectations and our guide Taheer was AWESOME. Taheer was enthusiastic about his job, knowledgeable, and really made the game drives a lot of fun. Request him if you can! It was incredible to see so many beautiful animals up close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamara S
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tamara S - Thank you for sharing your amazing Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Mabula, especially the game drives, and we hope you will visit again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food for vegetarians was below average and the staff was not at all friendly and don't even get me started on the game drive guide that was allotted to us for the first two game drives. His name was Tristan and he was full of attitude and arrogance. He made no effort in making any sighting of his own....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sakshi R
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sakshi R - Thank you for taking the time to share your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We'd like to take this opportunity to apologise for your experience being below the very high standards that we set ourselves at Mabula. Certainly this is not the impression we would want any of our guests to leave with, and we will be...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well situated to give you a thrill of wildlife, yet very peaceful. I was quite fortunate to get a reservation for my family just 48 hours before Christmas. TRIP There was a review about the property not easy to locate. That wasn't my experience. I used a GPS from Johannesburg and it was quite straight forward. Even the road signs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItsZi
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear akinwaleayeni - Thank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review of Mabula Game Lodge and for sharing all this helpful information with future travellers. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mabula soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute we drove up to the lodge, I knew that I would enjoy my stay. Nice sized room with a sliding door and flat screen tv. Buffet style food (although you can order from their menu as well), bar area and the safari!!!!! What an amazing time I had! We were able to see four of the big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherisse H
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cherisse H - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially the game drives with Taheer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very Peaceful. Except if you are scared of Birds hitting your windows, Monkeys passing by your place, squirrels jumping on you bed if you left you window open, frogs in the pool since the pool water does not harm the animals. Fun times and nice bring and Braai on Monday's, Good lectures on Wednesdays with snacks and the game Drives....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Nkosi
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms_Nkosi - Thank you for posting your review and sharing your Mabula Game Lodge moments. We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at Mabula and enjoyed meeting your new "neighbours". We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

wonderful lodge, with great service. my only gripe is that I found the rooms to be too dark, even with curtains open and blinds up. needs more natural lite, skylite or something like that. Apart from this issue, Mabula is an awesome venue to visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 395stuartv
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 395stuartv - Thank you for your review of Mabula Game Lodge, and for your suggestions to improve the lighting. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Mabula so much and we hope you will visit again soon.

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (462)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (251)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
1378.9 km away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#3 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
53 reviews
26.2 km away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#8 of 47 in Bela Bela
56 reviews
4.7 km away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#6 of 47 in Bela Bela
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
10.3 km away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bela Bela
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $360 - $882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Mabula Game Lodge South Africa/Mabula Private Game Reserve, Limpopo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mabula Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Mabula Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ideal for family visit”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The chalets are amazing!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Samkeliso_2016, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are a distance away from the central facility. Might be an advantage or a disadvantage depending on what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles ItsZi, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 102 - 104 have paper thin walls - not good for light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles FLASHSOUTHAFRICA, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid chalet #50 on Sunset hill, no view, only bush”
 of 5 bubbles C6133ETashleyc, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay