We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Theatre Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Theatre Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Theatre Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had travelled from Akaroa and through Arthurs Pass on our way to see the glaciers. We were not sure of travel times due to road works so pre booked the Royal Hotel. It had only been reopenmed a few years so while it is styled in a period setting the insides and accessories are all very modern and new....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased, as are our staff that you went away with good memories of your stay with us. This ultimately is our reward and what we aim for. We are proud of what we deliver but need affirmations from our guests that we are constantly meeting their expectations....

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing hotel/motel - it's stylish comfortable very well priced and just a very pleasant place to be. Full marks to the staff and to the creators of this accommodation. We've been to several places on the West Coast during our holiday here, and this was by far the most pleasant, most comfortable, the most customer friendly. These...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaranakiJim
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Taranaki Jim, I thank you for taking the time to review us. I also thank you for choosing to stop over at the Theatre Royal.I am pleased you enjoyed our Miners Cottages. As they are new it is nice to receive feed back.We tried to create something a bot different. We are always endevouring to give of our best...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was with a group of five doing the West Coast Wilderness Trail. We had a great stay in the hotel itself. The rooms were very nicely done, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Erin, Thank you for taking the time to Review us. I am so pleased you ejoyed your stay at our hotel. We are proud of what we have and are always trying to improve. It really helps us to here how our guests enjoyed their visit. We have some great Chefs who we can rely on to staisfy our...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were riding the West Coast Wilderness Trail, so this was our first stop. We arrived in rain very wet, so were delighted to find a deep bath waiting in our miner's cottage. The cottages are very modern but have antique furniture in them and are spacious and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackieandgrant2015
Cambridge
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to stay in Theatre Royal Hotel because we knew that we wouldn't be able to drive further that day and still be able to negotiate check-in and dinner. This place was a twofer. Its Victorian decor was a refreshing change from all the nature that we had seen that day. From the moment we checked in we knew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucien W
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lucien, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really are pleased that you choose to stop and spend your evening with us. We really enjoyed hosting both your wife and yourself . It really is important for us to hear back from our guests how they rate their exprience so we can always endevour to give...

Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for a light lunch. Good menu with a nice variety of choices. All three of us had something different and we were all happy. Well prepared, tasty and priced well. Would definitely recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmora
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stop and dine with us and secondly for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are proud of all we offer and are so happy when I read that we are on the right track. Hope we see you on another visit. Kind regards, Kerrie

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found the Theatre Royal Hotel pretty average on all fronts, food, service, ect. The menu is very basic with nothing special, meat, pasta, battered fish and chicken as mains and the same to say for the entree's. The service was pretty disappointing as staff was clearly untrained, while the wine list was option less with hardly any decent reds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H1325ZKmarial
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry you felt we were not up to expectation. We are proud of our Chefs and the food they produce. We are unable to have as extensive a menu as large centres but feel we offer great variety to cater for all diners. In your instance this was not...

Newmachar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a very nice room renovated in a traditional olden style but with a very modern bathroom. It was a little small but that is to be expected in a hotel that originated in the time of the gold rush. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kenneth, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry we had a group come in as you were having Breakfast. The food is renewed all breakfast time as is the coffee urn .I am guessing the breakfast host was busy getting more tables set up and a bit slower getting food out I apologise for...

Taupo District, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Stopped here on the trail of Richard Seddon, first PM of NZ with a Lancashire connection. The staff were very friendly and amazingly helpful, providing us with books and contact details etc. Oh yes, the best venison pies in NZ are made here! Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lislewend
Kerrie F, Owner at Theatre Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and good luck with you ancestary search. I will certainly pass on your kind comments on our venisoan pies to our kitchen team. They are a speciality of the house so we love to receive this feed back. I am pleased your enjoyed you visit, Kind regards, Kerrie

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 18 February 2017

It's a beautifully restored hotel, with a good restaurant, and an overall great atmosphere. The rooms we stayed in though, even with the heat turned all the way up, were quite cold. There was also no wifi in the room, and no communal area to sit in in the area with wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twaize

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumara
20.7 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
20.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
9.7 km away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 19 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
59 reviews
20.2 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
255 reviews
19.0 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 21 in Greymouth
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Re opened after extensive renovation on 24 Novemebr 2012Born in 1876 at the beginning of the Kumara gold rush, the Theatre Royal has been lovingly restored and now features six themed rooms with adjoining ensuites. Five rooms are upstairs whilst one accesible room is located downstairs Each room is unique, featuring a blend of Victorian decor and antique furnishings, while featuring all the modern amenities you would expect from a great hotel. The hotel includes a great restaurant and cafe, with your favourite West Coast brewed beers as well as a fine selection of wines and spirits ... more   less 

Additional Information about Theatre Royal Hotel

Address: 81 Seddon Street, Kumara, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Kumara
Price Range: $97 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Theatre Royal Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Theatre Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Theatre Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Miner's Cottages are delightful with wonderful claw foot baths.”
 of 5 bubbles TaranakiJim, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wifi at the adjacent hotel but not in the units themselves”
 of 5 bubbles jackieandgrant2015, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have their individual decor and history.”
 of 5 bubbles LucienW354, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Miners cottages. Number 2 has entertaining goats over the fence!”
  • Bathroom also has claw foot bath.
  • Entertaining goats
  • Second bedroom
 of 5 bubbles DeeTa, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cottage was quiet, sunny as we had the front room”
 of 5 bubbles ellek375, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5