We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Bell Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Bell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Bell Inn
 Click to rate
Manchester
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a family gathering for 31 people to celebrate a birthday, we were really well looked after, the food, service and the staff were excellent. A number of the guest said to me what a good night it was and how much they enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPE109
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay here quite regularly when I am in the area for work. It is such a pleasure to be welcomed warmly, have a comfortable, spotless, well-equipped room and delicious food. I have never had anything but wonderful meals here and love the different flavour combinations and well-cooked food. The huge gin collection is an added bonus and the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosalindferrara
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rosalind Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoy your visits here so much and you find everything we have to offer, including our food, accommodation and service excellent. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely, staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. Unfortunately we were booked in for 7pm and didn't eat until 8.30 We had already drank our wine by the time the food had arrived. Luckily Jordan managed to get us a complimentary bottle to compensate. If you are gin lover this place is a must. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
hexham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A decent place to stay. Not as nice as the photos suggest, but still pretty good. Main problem was, that having booked, we assumed we would be able to eat there. On arrival on Friday we asked about booking table for the Saturday, but was told there where no tables to be had. This meant after a long day in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ian I am so sorry we were fully booked when you requested booking a table on your Friday arrival. I can well understand your frustration and discontentment. We are extremely busy and booked up weeks in advance. When making a booking direct with us for the hotel, we do always ask if you wish to make a reservation in...

Manchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Old Bell Saturday 25th Feb. We booked directly with the hotel and paid £125 for a superior deluxe double room, inc breakfast, the price also included £50 food contribution to evening meal. The room was nice, the food was excellent the gin was fantastic. The staff gave an excellent service and were very knowledgable in all things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacwar
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation, food and whole experience excellent. In answer to your comment regarding the price of our Fever Tree Tonics. We really cannot and do not try to compete with Sainsbury's prices. The bottle of tonics we serve are sufficient...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for just the one night but wish we stayed longer. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the room great and the food very good. The Gin was great and an unexpected treat. We would like to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Steward Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, shame you couldn't stay longer. It would be lovely if you get chance to return. We would be very pleased to see you again. Best regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife's daughter bought us this one night here for an Xmas present. Was very impressed from the start. The staff are great bar staff very knowledgeable waiting staff can't do enough. Our room was very nice and had a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed. We had a meal in restaurant which was also very very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Darren Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your Xmas present and found your room very comfortable and the food and whole experience so impressive. We look forward to seeing your again in the very near future. Best wishes

Reviewed 7 February 2017

We arrived late afternoon to the Old Bell Inn after a drive down from seeing family and were going to be walking in the peak District the following day, so were looking forward to a good nights sleep. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and showed up to our room which was impressive, the bed was a good size,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ben Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable, breakfast very good and everything we have to offer here to your liking, including our friendly staff. We look forward to you visiting us again when you plan your next walking trip. Best regards

Reviewed 5 February 2017

We came for a night away just for a rest, a meal and a few glasses of gin. Check-offs is at 15.00, we arrived at 13.00 but were given a friendly welcome and allowed access to our room early - Room 15, "Penthouse" - stairs to the top - a big, comfortable attic area with a King size bed (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ian Thank you very much for such a detailed and wonderful review of your visit here. We are delighted that everything we have to offer was to you and your Wife's liking. We are pleased you liked your room, food, gin, our friendly atmosphere and also appreciate the care and attention in preparing and cooking our freshly cooked food...

Manchester
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a friends wedding which was nearby at the Saddleworth Hotel. We chose the old bell inn as it was in walking distance and had good reviews. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early. Overall I'd recommend for those looking for a nice country weekend away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma758
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our staff looked after you well. We also appreciate your recommendation to others, thank you. Kind regards

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
1.8 km away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
302 reviews
4.2 km away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
241 reviews
3.5 km away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
10.3 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Bell Inn is an 18 bedroomed, four star AA & VisitEngland accredited inn. There is a Brasserie and a Restaurant where local head chef creates exciting dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Head Chef's 'Signature Menu' has been awarded a coveted AA Rosette for culinary excellence. Over the past few years The Old Bell Inn has established itself as one of the finest venues in Saddleworth, with an excellent reputation for service, dining and accommodation. This 18th century Coaching House is steeped in history and has been carefully transformed to reflect a clever mix of traditional old English charm with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Address: 5 Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Delph
Price Range: $109 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the front will get traffic noise. We did not hear any noise from other people staying at the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles beng596, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a long climb to room 15 but it's good when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is superb. Even overlooking the main road it is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles V2912MCericr, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a double room which was nice but maybe next time i would choose a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles lynhouston, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good and offer a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles idgbrooks1956, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5