We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Hanbury Drive, Ware SG12 0SD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Marriott Hotels
USD 216
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (990)
Room & Suite (176)
Dining (80)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 3 hotels in Ware
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
With its fragrant walled gardens, stately Jacobean-style country house and 200 acres of Hertfordshire hotel parkland, historic Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club makes a lasting impression. As London's time-honoured "Original Country Retreat," you'll find the obliging service and amenities expected from a luxury hotel in Hertfordshire, United Kingdom. It's a standard that extends from the richly panelled library warmed by an open fireplace to elegant guest rooms each designed offering plush new bedding, business-savvy touches, high-speed Internet and flat-screen LCD TVs. Savour our local culinary offers from Cast Iron Grill and Vardon's Bar, or enjoy the Hanbury Afternoon Tea in Oak Hall. Yield to the blissful pleasures of the luxury spa, workout in the fitness centre or take on the championship golf course. For weddings in the UK, our luxury Hertfordshire hotel offers a distinctive setting that provides memorable occasion.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Golf course
Tennis court
Taxi service
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2240Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 779
  • 652
  • 406
  • 238
  • 166
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bee wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
My daughter and I stayed at the hotel on 24 October for a one night spa stay which she treated me to for my birthday. The room was very tired and in need of an upgrade. The bathroom had black hairs on the floor which were not from either one of us as we do not have black hair. I did not point this out at the time but I did point out how disappointing the room was to the front desk. I was told that he was aware of the need for an upgrade in the rooms and if we wanted a better room we could have paid extra and the rooms are better then. If the rooms are not 5 star quality then maybe you shouldn't be selling them. The beds were the worst I have ever slept on being very lumpy and a big dip in both the double beds. I have actually had far better beds in a Premier Inn which do not charge the prices of your hotel. I am very disapointed that this was a treat from my daughter and certainly didn't live up to expectations. The Jacuzzi around the pool has black mold around it and needs to be treated as that is fairly unsightly too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Upgrade your room from standard as apparently they are better but not too sure if they really are.
See more room tips
bigpoppapump82 wrote a review 24 Oct
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom151 contributions107 helpful votes
The building and grounds are stunning. But the rooms are depressing and shower isn’t very good. Mattress is tired and lumpy. Pillows are nice. If you have mobility issues you can’t stay in the orchard wing. It is a long distance. Breakfast was a massive disappointment. Poor quality ingredients, limited selection, not very well cooked and quite cold. We arrived at 8:15 for breakfast so don’t know how it was cold.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Hotel Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Responded 2 days ago
Dear bigpoppapump82, We apologies that we cannot look into all the feedback you have raised in more detail due to this review being provided anonymously however, we do hope we were alerted to any challenges with the shower and provided with the opportunity to resolve this. Thank you for reporting the comfort of your bed as we pride ourselves on the Marriott bedding and mattresses and the comfort they provide so are disappointed we did not deliver this. We will ensure all our down mattress toppers are checked as these provide the additional comfort layer between the mattress and the top sheet. We are sorry that you found Orchard Wing a long distance from reception however this wing of the hotel is closest to our Golf Shop, Leisure Club and Spa plus Vardons, our bar. We have been receiving some very positive comments about our breakfast buffett recently and regret that this was not your experience with us. On the buffet we offer a full continental selection including meats, cheeses, yoghurts, bread and bread rolls, selection of pastries and croissants, toast, cereals and porridge. This is along side tea, coffee, juices, and the full English breakfast hot items, waffles and pancakes. We are sorry that your impression of our breakfast buffet was that it offered a limited selection. Thank you for your feedback, which is gratefully received and helps us to monitor areas of our product or service which may required our attention. We are delighted that you enjoyed our extensive grounds and the Manor House buildings. Best regards The team at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club.
Read more
Katelucy23 wrote a review 6 Oct
London, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked Hanbury Manor for a short spa stay for my mum’s 60th birthday. I was concerned about the recent negative reviews. However, we had a really lovely time and we didn’t experience most of what has been complained about. The staff were all attentive, friendly and professional without exception. We didn’t have a single negative experience with the service. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we had a great time exploring the different areas and gardens. The swimming pool area was good and relaxing, with free tea and coffee on offer, although free seats/recliners are scarce at busy times. I have docked a point for the food, which wasn’t 5* and was quite basic. However, I have real sympathy with the hotel due to the impact of Covid and how this has likely affected food standards and kitchen capability. Otherwise, we had a brilliant time and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Mrs Katie kidd wrote a review 3 Oct
Leicester, United Kingdom18 contributions
Incredibly disappointed with the standard of service & facilities during our stay at Hanbury manor hotel & country club. We booked this venue as it states it’s a 5 star hotel & booked a “prestige guest room” yet we did not experience any 5 star service and facilities at all, this hotel had the standard of a 3 star in our opinion. We arrived earlier than check in, I’d previously called to explain we would arrive early as we had a wedding to attend at mid day and could we book early check in, which was not possible so I asked if we could use the facilities to get ready before check in which I was told we could. The staff on arrival were miserable, I asked for my bags to be looked after while we had some food and I was responded with a attitude of “can’t be bothered” We went to the restaurant/bar on floor two, Ordered two beacon sandwiches and waited 40 mins for it to arrive, we prompted twice asking where food was during this time. As the restaurant/bar was so cold even sat with our coats on, we decided to go to the lobby bar for a drink as We were told that the Lobby bar would open at 12 o’clock, 12.15 no staff to be seen even though ourselves and 7 other people were looking & waiting to order a drink, I had to prompt reception twice for staff to attend the bar. Also Tables in the lobby/bar area were all dirty. I Complained to a member of staff about the experience so far to be told it was because they are operating at full capacity with skeleton staff & agency staff who have no clue what they are doing. There was No room service leaving us hungry on arrival back to the hotel after attending the wedding at another location & there was no mini bar in the room to purchase from (there was a mini fridge which was empty) from my experience a 5 star hotel should have a fully stocked mini bar, even a 4 star would facilitate that! No room service left us without the facility to order breakfast to our room in the morning which is a main reason we booked the hotel so we could relax in the morning. The coffee/tea facilities in the room were paper cups, not mugs. When we arrived back to the hotel Saturday evening 1am after attending a wedding there were no staff to be found at all, we were told staff are on reception 24 hours so someone would be there to assist us with any requests when arriving back from the wedding. As we told reception we would most likely want some snacks on arriving back to the hotel. I walked around the hotel looking for staff including the bar and restaurant areas on both floors as we wanted some snacks, no staff to be found anywhere. On the Sunday morning we arrived for breakfast which was booked for 10am at reception when we arrived the day before, to be told the booking was void as they were busy and told to sit & wait for a table to come available. Not ideal when we’re on a schedule for a family lunch with the bridal party. Therefore we’ve paid for the 5 star facilities but received zero 5 star facilities. For staff to openly say this because of lack of staff, this should have been reflected in the room cost, or stated on booking that facilities would be far from the standard 5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Hotel Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Mrs KatieK, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. This is gratefully received and we apologise your stay was not commensurate with the standards you associate with Marriott. We have also received your comments via our Customer Care team and will contact you directly to follow up with you. Best regards The team at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Read more
Andreea I wrote a review 3 Oct
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a reservation for lunch for our 7 th year anniversary . Hanbury Manor Was the place where we got married so we are back every year . Kids had pasta , one with sauce one without. Pasta over overcooked and the sauce not fresh at all , looked like the sauce in the jars most probably. The child didn't touch it but we haven't even been asked why . No any detail in regards to the anniversary, not that someone should worry about but is a touch that goes a long way from such hotel. Service dropped very much sadly . The place is beautiful and will come back just for that .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Hotel Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 792andreeai, Congratulations on your anniversary and how wonderful to return here every year. It’s a joy to know that Hanbury Manor holds such fond memories for you. We do try our best to acknowledge special occasions but as we host so many of our guests celebrating a special day, we are not always able to do so. We are sorry that on this stay with us this was the case. Thank you for bringing to our attention the quality of the kid’s pasta and that we did not follow up concerning the untouched food. We do hope you brought you provided your feedback to your server allowing us the opportunity to rectify this for you. We are so pleased you enjoy our grounds and the estate and we do look forward to seeing you for your eight anniversary. Best regards The team at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Read more
USD 143 - USD 208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
marriott hanbury manor hotel and country club, marriott hanbury manor hotel country, marriott ware, hanbury manor, ware marriott
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireWare
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Which popular attractions are close to Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Nearby attractions include Hertford Theatre (4.4 km), Rye Meads Nature Reserve (7.1 km), and Scotts Grotto (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alley Katsu, The Village Taverna, and Marco's Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Scotts Grotto (2.5 km), Hertford Castle (4.5 km), and Place House Hall (2.1 km).
Does Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.