We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Gozo

Travellers' Choice award winner
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 933: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Hotel Gozo
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location, overlooking Mgarr Harbour. Most friendly and helpful receptionist ever. Thank you Natasha and your colleagues for always being so attentive to our requests. The Grand Hotel is a brilliant place to stay, great staff and the rooms are very spacious and clean, Highly recommend the superior rooms. Wifi was slow so that needs improvement. Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

1) No smoke - free zones at all - every room, pool area, corridors. 2) Water problems on every floor (stayed on floors 4 and 7) - dripping cold water, sudden gush of burning hot water, then no water at all - shower is a real challenge.Toilet has problems with flushing. 3) Dirty. Pool area was never cleaned, sun-bed mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana Z
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had an ocean front superior room. It was dated so, floorboard was way loose the carpet had some large stains the shower curtain rod looked liked it was from the sales rack at IKEA. The buffet was great and the guy in charge always super friendly and chatting. The reception and common grounds very clean and a large garage....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Internationalgotoguy
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Whilst thanking you for sharing your Grand Hotel experience, we are sorry to note about the overall stay. We would like to have the opportunity to follow up to this and take action and as such I kindly ask you, at your convenience to send us an email on info@grandhotelmalta.com Kind Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

first visit for over a year but still great time in comfortable surroundings. some new staff but all smiling and blending in I think with the more established staff. breakfast was nice we ate out most nights but had evening snacks at the bar that were nice also. came across a gentleman at the bar who was both loud and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank a1i2
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have in the past stayed in the Grand Hotel but on recent occasions have chosen here as a good place for food or drinks. It is extremely well located, withing walking distance of the Malta-Gozo ferry terminal and it has superb views over Mgarr Harbour and the sea beyond. In the summer season one can dine on the roof-top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for posting a review of your stay at the Grand Hotel. Thank you for giving us your feedback of the hotel and its services during your recent stay with us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately I must give this otherwise lovely hotel a very bad review for two reasons: 1) Perhaps its a problem only on the 7th floor - the hot water is a dribble, the shower is unusable and potentially dangerous, the cold has pressure, not the hot. The shower is less than one millimeter adjustment between scalding and cold, get it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing on trip advisor. We are sorry to read about the experience during your stay. Please rest assured that this has been passed on to the related department. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived very late at night we weren't happy with our room but this was our fault when we booked asked to be moved this was done following morning no problems staff were wonderful .They also sorted our transfer back to airport because taxi company we booked with were hopeless.cannot praise this hotel enough our whole stay was fantastic and i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for recommending us to other guest. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the services during your recent stay. Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone

Center Moriches, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my 2nd visit to this hotel and it just keeps getting better, the staff are still very nice, attentive & friendly from last time, the service is still good so is free parking and free high speed internet, the pool and the fitness center with the gym is also a big plus for me, the hotel is within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dillon X
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are glad that you had another enjoyable stay with us at the Grand Hotel. We thank you for your contribution and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week in April, we upgraded to a superior sea view and while it wasn't overly expensive it was worth every penny. The room and bathroom was fantastic, the bed was very comfortable, room cleaned every day, fridge stocked every day. Breakfast was plenty of choice and very good. The lunch and dinner menu was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve2158
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting such a charming review of the hotel. We do appreciate the comments and that you have been recommending the hotel to other guests. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. Regards Ramona Formosa Tabone

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff,nice food,big clean rooms,great location can't fault it!! Nice views, relaxing everything spot on would recommend 😀😀. The hotel is in walking distance to the Gozo ferry and there is a reliable bus network.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RAYRAY M
Grand_Gozo, Admin at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear that our service and facilities really impressed on your getaway. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

1,092 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (777)
Viewed
View from Room (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (136)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (220)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Country View Room (32)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room with Balcony (New Building) (33)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room with Balcony (Old Building) (32)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room with Balcony (40)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room with Terrace (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
8.4 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
7.1 km away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
687 reviews
4.5 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.0 km away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
787 reviews
6.0 km away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Price Range: $89 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo, Malta - Mgarr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Gozo staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Gozo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was in 4th floor overlooking the sea and a big plus is that it was extremely quiet.”
MariaV273, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose room with seaview 5th floor or above”
a1i2, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for room Seaview near pool”
E5680JOerich, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking harbour for the best view”
jeanie_gordon45, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“602 had terrace and lots of sun”
eileenm43, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hostelworld.com
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates