We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Solana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Solana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,756: English reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Our first visit to Malta and it didn't dissapoint.the hotel was very clean the room was excellent very spacious and had TV hairdryer and small fridge for our use.the hotel sits in the main road on a slight hill but the buses run very regularly and so cheap you can visit anywhere for about 2 euros a return.the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary M
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our Team is very happy and proud to note that you have rated both our Maltese Islands and the Solana Hotel & Spa as a ‘great holiday destination’. It has been a privilege and above all, a pleasure, hosting you on your very first visit with us and hope to keep welcoming you back on board during future...

Nottingham
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Great overnight stop, clean rooms with comfy beds, great view from roof top pool to Mellieha Church and sea. Beautiful indoor pool with soft lighting. Breakfast there was a good selection on offer. Its a long way down to the beach, best to get the bus. Overall good hotel in good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holshobby
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your overnight stay in Mellieha. Your great feedback here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated. The entire Team certainly hopes you will get the chance to return to the Maltese Islands and the Solana Hotel & Spa, in the near future. Grazzi hafna! Anne Grima Solana Hotel &...

Alyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This was our first visit to Malta and we rented a car and drove up to Melleiha from the airport, this should only have taken half an hour but we were diverted by roadworks and got lost and ended up arriving too late to get into the restaurant for dinner. The receptionist was very helpful and recommended a restaurant nearby...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aileen B
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are extremely pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful vacation at the Solana Hotel & Spa and that you will not hesitate in recommending us to your fellow travelers. Until we meet again, we remain Yours sincerely, Anne Grima Solana Hotel & Spa

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Our 4th visit to The Solana, and again not disappointed, greeted by Carl/Karl ? (Sorry) on arrival, we were able to change our room quickly thanks to Carl and Pierre, we like the street side ( not for everyone, the street can be busy, again our stay was great, rooms serviced, quality and great valuel breakfast at the cafe puccini,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost; thank you for your loyalty and trust in our Solana Hotel & Spa, as well as for the time you spent to share your most recent experience on TripAdvisor; it is wonderful to read that, once again, our Hotel and Team did not disappoint! Thank you again for making us your chosen Hotel when holidaying...

Reviewed 5 July 2015

We had a great time at the Solana. Staff was friendly and helpful, no problems at all on check in or booking directly through the hotel beforehand. We had a great room at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet. I'd recommend spending a bit more for a junior suite room, still very good value but nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cck76
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, There is nothing we love more than reading that our Guests have enjoyed their stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa; thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We hope you have had a comfortable journey back home; the entire Team is looking forward to...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

After long tiring journey would have liked a better welcome instead of having to move to another hotel. We accepted the circumstances and resolved to move then to be told 'its only 5 minutes walk away'. We asked for a cab, which was provided. Then we were told we would have to move back to original hotel the next day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
ManagementPergola, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We appreciate that you have taken the time to share this review with us. We regret to read that we may have not been successful in providing you with the excellent service and product, which we are renowned for. While thanking you for providing us with your feedback, please rest assured that we will be doing our best...

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We have just stayed in the Solana hotel for our first holiday together. Having been travelling for the best part of the day, we were greeted with friendly service and a free welcoming drink. The hotel was overall very clean, the room was lovely and we never saw a member of staff without a smile on their face! Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Castell_M
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your first holiday together on the Maltese Islands. Your great feedback here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated and it is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed a wonderful stay among us.Our Team is definitely looking forward to your next visit! Warm regards, Anne Grima Solana Hotel...

Hounslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week with my sister, as part of a timeshare. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by reception staff although we had arrived early for check-in we waiting less than 5 minutes before it was ready. Our room was amazing, we entered a large studio apartment, it had 2 single beds (put together like a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michelle A
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so very pleased to be in receipt of your review. Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor; we shall look forward to welcoming you back on board, anytime soon. Yours truly, Anne Grima Solana Hotel & Spa

Qawra
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I was at the Solana for a 3 day Conference. The hotel was ideal - good location, lovely rooms, fabulous food and fantastic staff. They are so caring and friendly. From the reception staff to the room attendants and esecially the resatuarant staff. The conferencing services offered to us at the Pergola, their sister hotel, is ideally located. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtfenek
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so very pleased to hear that your conference at our sister Hotel & your stay at the Solana Hotel & Spa have been a success! Your review highlights a very positive experience, but likewise we wish to assure you that it was indeed rewarding for all of us at both Hotels to have you and your...

Trento, Italy
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Both the hotel and the room were nice and clean. Despite the noise on the street in front of the hotel, the room was quite quiet. Hotel staff was very kind in assisting all our needs. The location of the hotel is actually not that great: it is on a hill at about 5 minutes by car (but it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drepi
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to read that, while Solana’s location might not have been ideal for you, you still enjoyed your holiday with us and you found the Hotel itself, your room and the Team to be of an excellent standard. While hoping you have had a safe journey back home, we thank you for your valued custom and...

1,085 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (779)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (131)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (304)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Other (41)
Viewed
4pax Studio (51)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 km away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
3.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.0 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,197 reviews
13.6 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Tosca Restaurant
Tosca Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean
Bellini Restaurant
Bellini Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Solana Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Price Range: $70 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Solana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solana Hotel staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from Solana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was fantastic, it had a balcony and had a kitchenette which was good. Overll very happy with the room and the hotel in general. ”
 of 5 bubbles CarrieParis, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Was very comfortable, clean, warm, I absolutely would come back to this hotel ”
 of 5 bubbles K7539JZcarmenc, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back would be quieter as the front looks out onto the street.”
 of 5 bubbles CxMinette, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“high and quiet in the secondary building, the theme night buffets are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles quinny09, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 2106 unless a 6am wake up call from the delivery driver wouldn't bother you.”
 of 5 bubbles Kezbat16, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5