We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Luna Holiday Complex

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Luna Holiday Complex
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Luna Holiday Complex
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Was looking forward to coming here with my parents and 80 (79 80 in dec) year okd grandmother. Booked with travel agent and booked 2 superior studio rooms. Got to hotel and checked in, rooms are very old and to be honest not superior - yes had air con, but scruffy cooker, oven never bern cleaned, no toaster but could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dkwatson
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good evening dkwatson Thank you for your recent visit to Luna, it was a pleasure having you with us. We also appreciate your feedback, even though it is not all positive, however it is still important to us to gauge our client's experiences and thoughts A couple of comments unfortunately I find very odd, mainly being told that we do...

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Luna for two weeks from 4th October 2016 and had a superior room looking out to the front of the hotel. Great staff especially Sinead, she is so friendly and witty she made us laugh, couldn't say the same about the tall thin receptionist, not a happy person, she's in the wrong job. When you passed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tartwolverhampton
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning tartwolverhampton It was a pleasure having you at Luna during your recent visit to Malta and we would like to thank you for sparing a few moments to share your experience with us on T.A. Pleased to note that your overall stay with us was and we hope that we will see you again in the near future....

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Return visit to Mellieha Malta after 30years it has changed a lot? Surprised about the added extras in the hotel eg no toaster in self catering, no hairdryer. You had to pay a returnable 25 euro to get one. Overall you get what you pay for!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning Sue C, Thank you for choosing Luna during your recent visit to Malta and for sparing a few moments of your time to give us your feedback. Further to your comments re deposits, yes unfortunately we still have to charge deposits ( this can also be avoided if a room account is opened with hotel) due to obvious...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Luna complex in October.Great place to go staff friendly they have a bar attached the curvy barmaid was the best for milkshakes unlike the sour faced thin girl who never smiled!The hotel could benefit from a landrette or even a clothes aired to dry our wet towels after being in the pool or the beach.Maria was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good evening Karen B It was a pleasure having you at Luna during your recent visit to Malta and thank you for sparing a few moments to share your experience with us on T.A. We are pleased to note that your overall impression with us was a positive one, and that you enjoyed the hotel,room,ameneties, breakfast and most of the...

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

A very nice, clean apart hotel. Staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. Mellieha beach is very nice. Only draw back is there is nothing but the beach and hotels and a couple of bars in Mellieha Bay. Get a bus up into the village for more choice of bars and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen h
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning karen h Thank you for choosing Luna for your recent holiday in Malta and also for sparing a few moments to share your comments with us, we appreciate all feedback received. We are pleased to note that your stay with us was to your satisfaction and that you liked the hotel and the staff, thanks we look forward...

Wales, UK
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Good room, very clean and spacious with good sea views and good facilities but a couple of draw backs with sea view rooms. Every morning at 7:30 you can hear the pool staff arranging the sunbeds at the lower pool by dragging and arranging them the noise is unbearable every morning at 7:30 am !!!! the other setback with these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning Mel H Thank you for your recent visit to Luna and also for sparing a few moments to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, sia the positive comments re room and staff, and we also take note of comments re aircon and breakfast and can assure you we will look into the accordingly In the...

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks from 4th October. We were b& b and we found staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was vey good with an extensive choice of foods. The hotel's own resturant is very good and there a lot of places to eat very locally. The beach is only a few minutes away. The bus service is excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkendrick48
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning mkendrick48 It was a pleasure having you at Luna during your two week stay and thank you for sparing a few moments to leave a positive review for us here on T.A. Very happy to note that your overall impression at Luna was a positive one and that you enjoyed our hotel, its ameneties, staff and location. Whilst...

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We were not happy with our stay here. No maid service. The shower was hand held and the bath filled up while showering due to bad drainage. A la cart food which was not nice. Reception staff not very friendly or welcoming. Wouldnt stay here again or recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning Lorraine B Thank you for your recent visit to Luna and we also appreciate your feedback even though it is not what we would like to receive from our guests. Obviously we are greatly dissapointed with your review and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations, in the meantime please feel free to drop me a...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Very friendly staff at The Luna...always quick to help....I would recommend you take your own beach towel as there is a surprising €2 charge to use the hotel towel....quite rude...... on top of the €15 charge deposit....the hotel linen basic could do with new towels....but does the job...rooms spotlessly clean & well appointed...kitchenette well equipped....The Luna location is perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy P
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning Sandy P Thank you for choosing Luna during your recent visit to Malta and we also appreciate your feedback, thanks Positive to note that your overall impression with us was good and that you appreciated our staff, location and room and we also note your comment re towels and will see what can be done about this as...

Cheshire
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Room was clean, comfortable and modern with small self-catering kitchen included. Food in the hotel restaurants was excellent with plenty of choice. Swimming pools were clean and not overcrowded, although a little on the small side. Plenty of poolside beds and chairs. Five minute walk to beach. Bus service almost outside the door which was easy to use to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyandDave1
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review

Good morning WendyandDave1 Thank you for choosing Luna for your recent visit to Malta and for sparing a few moments to share your views and experience on T.A. we are pleased to note that your overall experience with us was positive, and that you enjoyed the hotel, its ameneties and surroundings, thank you please feel free to drop us a...

889 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (491)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Pool (77)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Sea View Standard Studio (44)
Viewed
Standard Studio (44)
Viewed
Superior One-Bedroom Apartment (51)
Viewed
Superior Studio (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
1.0 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
1,962 reviews
3.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 km away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
5.1 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,317 reviews
2.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Price Range: $62 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luna Holiday Complex staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Luna Holiday Complex staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, clean and family friendly. Very civilised.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“mountain view of Mellieha church. some traffic noise during day”
 of 5 bubbles noosday41, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views are at the back of the hotel. The only downside is the rooms at the front are overlooking a noisy road.”
 of 5 bubbles sulli88, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did have a very quiet room without a sea view and we found it suitable.”
 of 5 bubbles BillyGardner2015, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with sea view are marvellous!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay