We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viamede Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Viamede Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Viamede Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 4 May 2016

My fiancée booked a culinary evening package as a birthday surprise. The food absolutely blew us both away, "Fine dining in the kawarthers does exist". We had the 9 course tasting menu with paired wines which was not only diverse but utterly inspiring, jam packed with local produce and seasonally inspired tastes. WELL worth a visit for the food alone....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark B
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Thank you for your comments, every bit of feedback is appreciated and helpful to us! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your dinning experience! We do try to go above expectations with all aspects of our resort. Sorry to hear you felt we didn't do this apart from the food. We are in the process...

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

As an addition to my wife's birthday weekend, I thought it would be nice to go on a quick get away that was still close to home. I found Viamede on the Internet and made the reservation over the phone. The cost was high but the sales pitch sold me. When we arrived, the first impression was really lack luster....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mark G
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark G, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were not happy with your room. We will look into the housekeeping concerns you mention. Please contact me directly should you wish to discuss further. cheers, Ben

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

They wanted $600 to rent a room (Kawartha, board room or yoga room) for a one hour pizza party for a team - seriously guys? Who would rent a small yoga room for $600 for ONE HOUR?!? While the pool was nice, it had construction material on the bottom (see picture) - very dangerous for little feet! Reviews from last...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bball1975
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear bball1975, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay and weren't made aware of the party room rental rate ahead of time. The finishing touches on our renovations are busy being completed. If you wish to discuss any concerns in particular, please do contact me directly. regards, Ben

Coe Hill, Canada
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We have been to the Viamede several times and each time it gets better. The owner of this resort has a vision and doesn't seem to be taking shortcuts to create an environment that takes advantage of the beautiful surroundings, history and serenity of the area. At the same time, he has hired a knowledgeable and friendly staff. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gail D
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us at the second Gathering event! Chef McKenna and staff certainly know how to provide an amazing culinary experience. Hope you'll join us outside under the Viking Oak for The Gathering: The Gardener's Return on May 13th! Cheers, Ben

Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Have arrived to celebrate my Mom's Birthday, Feb 7, 2016. Staff and Management have made this 86 birthday celebration Special! We flew in from Calgary for this. Well worth coming and we will return. Have learned that the resort is undergoing major upgrades. You can see and all should be pleased. Spent some of the afternoon in the new Indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manndate
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to hold your mom's special birthday celebration at Viamede! Glad to hear you all enjoyed yourselves and took advantage of our fantastic new indoor/outdoor pool. Hope to see you soon. Cheers, Ben

Woodview, Canada
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Only 2 hours from Toronto, this wilderness retreat was perfect for myself and my wife to unwind and relax after a long trip from Florida. Full disclosure, we came to Viamede Resort to evaluate doing an ongoing and permanent wellness retreat program at this location. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. Ben and his wonderful staff have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naturalwellness4u
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words and a warm welcome to Viamede! Cheers, Ben

Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

First visit was fun because we arrived on a day where they had the Golden Retriever Rescue visiting. The room had a tiny TV miles from the bed (studio cottage) and dead batteries in the remote. However, the jacuzzi was a good size. The boat house food was not good at all and server ignored us. Breakfast in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gillian t
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear gillian t, Thank you for your comments. At this time of year, several of our cottages are closed as they are not winterized - so there is some limited availability with cottages. All tubs in our guestrooms do indeed have air jets, although there are a few cottages that do not. We do take your feedback seriously, and will...

Ajax, Canada
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Went to Viamede for the first time in Oct 2015. Had a fantastic time. Rooms are comfortable and clean and staff is exceptional. That being said this is not a new resort and if you are expecting modern luxuries you will be disappointed. If you are like us and just want a clean and comfortable room to stay in while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Heather M, Thanks for the kind comments! We're glad you had fun and it was a pleasure meeting you! Cheers, Ben

Kingston Ontario
Reviewed 2 November 2015

My husband and I scooted out to Viamede the day after our wedding to kick back and recuperate. It was PERFECT! As it was low season, Michelle showed us a couple of rooms and let us have our choice. One had a more "cottage/rustic" style, the other had a wood burning fireplace (we took that one!). Our room was modern,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D1264
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear D1264, Thank you for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed your honeymoon. All the best for many happy years together and we'll see you next fall! Cheers! Ben

Drummondville, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2015

It's a nice to go if you like Outlook activities. It's quite far and you must follow the directions close if you Don't want to get lost. The food was good but the same menu come back often. Housekeeping wasn't so good maybe bécasse I was out of business season.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monic M
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Monic M, Thank you for your feedback. I am somewhat perplexed at your comment about the menu being the same. Mount Julian restaurant changes its menu every week to reflect seasonally available ingredients, and we have just put out our expanded winter menu at The Boathouse. Lots of variety to choose from! I'm sorry you weren't happy with housekeeping....

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.1 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
96 reviews
3.9 km away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
72 reviews
33.0 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
35.3 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
168 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viamede Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not bother”
 of 5 bubbles 860ginger, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views from the cottages on the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles suesherban, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cottages provide private comfort!”
 of 5 bubbles jennalbw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins are mostly all a water view, just a couple are behind so ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 51shanah, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For internet the modernized hilltop rooms have the best connection along with those in the main lodge. The cabins I saw were really rustic.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretS351, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5