We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
OJ Kaarbos Gate Torget, Svolvaer 8300 Norway
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (607)
Room & Suite (205)
Dining (115)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 21/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Thon Hotel Lofoten
Updated 21/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Thon Hotel Lofoten – a top modern conference hotel in Svolvaer, the hearth of Lofoten! Thon Hotel Lofoten is located right on the sea front of the harbour in Svolvaer. Only a few metres away from Hurtigruta and within walking distance of the many attractions in Svolvaer. Most of the rooms have a spectacular view of the Lofoten sea or the stunning mountains surrounding the city. EATING & DRINKING: Restaurant Paleo Arctic is located on the 1st floor of the hotel. The restaurant serves local and homemade food, like cod and stockfish from local fishermen, whale meat, local cheese and the tasting Lofoten lamb. CONFERENCE at Thon Hotel Lofoten: The conference department has a capacity of 750 persons in the largest hall and an additional 20 meeting rooms allow for maximum flexibility. Maximum total capacity will be 1 100 persons. The hotel can arrange banquets and parties for up to 750 persons. Welcome!
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Norwegian and 1 more
968Reviews5Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 544
  • 274
  • 82
  • 33
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ane wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
The Room was stunning, looking out over the harbour and the square. And the breakfast... was the best breakfast I have ever had. We didn’t really have the best experience of Norwegian food before, but this place changed everything! Sadly didn’t make it to dinner as the restaurant was closed on Sunday evening when we were there, next time...!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Stine JN wrote a review Mar 2022
Rade Municipality, Norway4 contributions1 helpful vote
The best hotel in Lofoten. Great breakfast. Amazing people who work there. My favorite hotel to stay at when i am visiting Lofoten. I had to work at a videomeeting online the day i was leaving, god a late checkout so i could stay at the hotelroom.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Johnreewes wrote a review Oct 2021
Kjopsvik, Norway126 contributions36 helpful votes
Got a great welcome at this hotel. Happy people in the reception and the cleanest hotelroom we have gotten in a long time. We even got a free upgrade. Really nice view, every season. The breakfast was exceptional, as usual. Close to restaurants and even an art gallery (North Norwegian Art Center) next door to the entrance. (A hidden gem). Parking garage in the basement of the hotel. Looking forward to our next visit there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Be aware the parking rules of the city.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. Welcome back. Kind regards Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
Ragnhild S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The people, the service, the food, the view, the atmosphere... If you want to spoil yourself (or a loved one) in Svolvær this is the place to go! Book an ocean view room and be amazed. Sun or rain or snow, the scenery is breathtaking. And don't hesitate to eat at the hotel restaurant. The food is superb. So was the breakfast. Coffee was served to us by the table and there was something for everyone's taste. I really loved the fresh smoothie shots and the warm buffet with chefs standing by to fill up on bacon and different omelets. The whole experience was top notch and I will definetly go back !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. Kind regards Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
roosc wrote a review Aug 2021
Bonn47 contributions21 helpful votes
Our room was booked by an agency through which we had organized our bike trip. At the checkin at the Thon Hotel we were directly informed that we would have to pay 300 crowns extra for the second person, because only one person was registered. There was no friendly offer of help like "there is only one person registered, could this be a mistake? Do they have any other information" Just pay extra now please. After we had denied this and had searched out our booking documents it went then nevertheless. However, we got a room in the adjoining house which was probably only designed for one person. It had a double bed, but was super small overall. The bathroom could only be used when the shower door was folded. Overall, this was very disappointing and we would certainly not choose this hotel again. I had emailed Spagat two days before arrival asking about a possible upgrade to our reservation, but never got a response. On the positive side, the breakfast really stood out. Huge selection and good coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Make sure to get a room in the modern building.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. Sorry we could not live up to your expectations. Kind regards Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
NorwayPer wrote a review Aug 2021
Norway163 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed in a Superior room with a view across the market square and looking at Svolværgeita - excellent! Room is comfortable and the view is great! Breakfast is plentiful and good. Will absolutely recommend this hotel for you Lofoten vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best view is towards Svolværgeita
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking your time to give us your review on your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Kind regards Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
Stig Ove wrote a review July 2021
Oslo, Norway3 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel uses misleading pictures of the rooms. We booked a room with a picture of a new beautiful room with a view. But they placed us in an old building next to the hotel, with a much lower standard and no view. When we complained about the room, they just told us we have to pay extra to get the room we originally had booked. There was no apologies or excuse from the staff. There was also a lot of party noise at night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 1 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay. I regret to know that we did not meet your expectations. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
Vestfoldgirl wrote a review July 2021
Sandefjord, Norway603 contributions268 helpful votes
We stayed two nights. The guy that checked us in was super nice and so was the rest of the staff at the restaurant etc. Fairly large hotel in the center of Svolvær and close to everything. We had a standard double room which was perfect, and also with a sea view. Parking garage in the basement is convenient. Pet friendly. Breakfast was just amazing! Would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 29 July 2021
Tusen takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding. Det setter vi stor pris på. Velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning. Vennlig hilsen Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
Lily wrote a review July 2021
22 contributions6 helpful votes
You gonna love the many options offered here for breakfast. And the bed is very comfortable. The location is also close to all recommended restaurant and the war museum is almost next door. Ps. Gym is closed due to covid regulations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 16 July 2021
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. It is really appreciated. Kind regards Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
Rubyolsen wrote a review June 2021
Myre, Norway2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 1 night with my son and my friend. Amazing hotel. Breakfast buffet is also great.The business suite is perfect. My favorite. Will surely come back soon with my friends. The staff are very friendly too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kari Andreassen, Marketing at Thon Hotel Lofoten
Responded 3 June 2021
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, it is really appreciated. We look forward to see you again! Kind regards Thon Hotel Lofoten
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 164 - USD 216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayNorthern NorwayNordlandLofoten IslandsVaganSvolvaer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
191
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thon Hotel Lofoten
Which popular attractions are close to Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Nearby attractions include Lofoten Krigsminne Museum (0.08 km), Magic Ice Lofoten (0.2 km), and Lofoten Escape & Adventures AS (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Kjoekkenet, Paleo Arctic, and Fellini Pizza Og Grill Svolvær.
Is Thon Hotel Lofoten located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Svolvaer.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thon Hotel Lofoten offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thon Hotel Lofoten?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Swedish, and Norwegian.