We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure St Helens

10/05/2017 11/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure St Helens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure St Helens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 427: English reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. So easy to find, right in the centre of the town. Plenty of parking and local amenities are a stones throw away if you choose to leave the hotel. The room was clean. There is a hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee facilities but no fridge. The beds were very comfortable and the bath towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJ278
Adele678, Assistant Reception Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, Adele

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Hotel is clean and the staff are extremely helpful. My only criticism is that the breakfast was very basic, not the best i have ever had in a hotel. Evening meal was more than satisfactory. Hotel is ideal for travel to both Liverpool and Manchester and St Helen's town centre is just around the corner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enz067
Adele678, Assistant Reception Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Guest. I am glad to hear you had a lovely stay. Hopefully you will stay again and the breakfast will be fantastic next time! Many thanks, Adele

Burnley
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stay at this hotel because of the location when we are visiting family. The price is excellent and the rooms are very nice. Not overly modern but very comfortable with the biggest beds ever!!! and the beds are so comfy. The staff are very pleasant and breakfast is just what you need but if it is very busy you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shazhow
Adele678, Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments - its always good to hear positive comments. We have taken on board your comments with regards to breakfast and can assure you changes are being made. Many Thanks Jackie Moorby

Keighley
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to go to wedding reception. It is basic and a bit soulless, but for the money we paid it was adequate for our needs. The room was quite big and clean, which is the main thing. On a positive note, all the staff were very friendly and the receptionist (Kimberley) couldn't have been more helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
Adele678, Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Anna Im sorry that you did not leave with a positive feeling when you departed Chalon Court Hotel. It is always our intention to make everyone have an enjoyable stay. Im so glad that Kimberley looked after you. Its sad that you dont want to stay with us again, please call me on 01744 453444 or email aopm@chaloncourt.co.uk should...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

The artists performing were internationally renowned and it was embarrassing how bad the sound was . The Microphones weren't working etc . Lighting was poor. The room set up was Cabaret style with a good dance floor but the large glass ceiling also affected the sound. The hotel was poor quality , toilets reception area. Bar was disorganised slow service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluerobin59
Adele678, Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that your stay at Chalon Court was not a positive one. When hiring our Function Rooms we have to adhere to our clients needs and requests. I have taken all your comments on board and can assure you that things are changes at Chalon Court Hotel, for the better. If i can be of further...

england
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Having checked into the hotel we were greatly disappointed the room was thick with dust furniture clearly had not been moved and carpet thick with dirt looked like someones skin all over the carpet.!! Air conditioning didnt work, telephone to reception didnt connect, window wouldnt open, Dirty pots left on the landings from the Friday!! KEPT AWAKE all night by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianaEngland
Adele678, Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the above issues. We take customer feedback very seriously at Chalon Court Hotel, as it is only through this we can grow as a business. I am dealing with this issues personally and can assure you that procedures are being put in place so these issues do not occur...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions for various functions in the area-on this visit we were very disappointed with our stay! The buffet breakfast both mornings was cold and inedible, there was also a long wait on the second morning for simple things like juice and hot water, as it had ran out and there wasn't enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
Adele678, Assistant Reception Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette. I apologise for all the problems you encountered during your stay. I can assure you all of these issues are being looked in to and we are doing our best to improve. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us. Many thanks, Adele

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very basic, needs a good clean. There was debris from previous occupants of room including medication. Woken up several times through night by other guests shouting in corridor. Linen and towels were clean. Has potential to be a nice hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fireplac
Adele678, Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry you did not have a positive stay at our hotel, it is never our intention to have any of our guests feel this way. We have spoken to our internal departments and can assure you changes are being made. Please feel free to contact me on aopm@chaloncourt.co.uk or 01744 453444 should you wish to discuss...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Nice hotel pleasant and helpful staff clean and handy for St Helens and Liverpool also easy for Aintree and Haydock racingfood not great but ok for the price.easy access close to road but no noise. Good value hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigjimmy16
Adele678, Assistant Reception Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy, thank you for your lovely review. We hope you stay again with us. Many thanks, Adele Lyon

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I booked this hotel, a twin room for my son and me, as I wanted a reasonably priced room to stay in whist visiting Liverpool university for an open day. To be honest I read other people's reviews after I'd booked it. We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived quite late and were greeted with a smile at reception. Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peachygear
Adele678, Assistant Reception Manager at Mercure St Helens, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your great review! We are so pleased you had such a lovely stay. Many thanks, Adele Lyon

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
10/05/2017 11/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
2.9 km away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
3.5 km away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
7.0 km away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
9.3 km away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens welcomes guest'sExperience delightful St. Helens as well as the lovely counties of Northwest England from this cosy home base. Only 35 minutes from Manchester International Airport and a mere 20 minutes from John Lennon Airport, with easy access to the Trafford centre and liverpool one. this St. Helens hotel features contemporary, colourful rooms as well as on-site dining at the Pyramid Restaurant. Business and leisure travellers alike enjoy access to the hotel's fitness centre, in addition to room service, convenient work stations and Wireless, High-speed Internet access (fees apply). The Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens also has five adaptable meetings rooms, which can be tailored to accommodate a wide range of special events.The Chalon Court hotel's location makes it easy to explore the vibrant cities of Liverpool and Manchester as well as the scenic landscapes of Merseyside.The 84 stylish and up-to-date rooms include features like LCD televisions, mini safes, hairdryers .Visitors can savour British-inspired cuisine at Pyramid Restaurant in the Chalon Court hotel.Guests can maintain their workout routines thanks to the on-site fitness centre complete with indoor pool at Chalon Court hotel.This St. Helens Chalon Court hotel offers secure parking for 150 cars.The Chalon Court hotels helpful staff are happy to assist guests with impressive events for up to 300 attendees ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure St Helens

Address: Linkway, St Helens WA10 1NG, England (Formerly Chalon Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Price Range: $93 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Helens 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure St Helens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson St. Helens Hotel St Helens
Park Inn Saint Helens
Park Inn St Helens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure St Helens staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure St Helens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure the fan works!”
idnar2008, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a high floor, which had a better view.”
Pogo650, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The executive suit is worth the extra money.”
Izabela2904, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You can get a good deal on Groupon or other deal offers online”
maddiedasuk, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the canal is good.”
711sissyp, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotwire.com
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates