We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Torrance Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Torrance Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Torrance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 482: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a fantastic overnight stay at The Torrance Hotel. Was an extra present for my wife's 40th, and I must say we weren't disappointed. From the very friendly and helpful staff to the fantastic food and drink(Hubba Bubba cocktail for my wife) to the excellent room. I can say that we will definetely be returning to The Torrance Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DezzyB76
Stacey M, Front Office Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, including overnight stay and our fantastic cocktails and food offering. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the Team at the Torrance hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind...

Armadale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for my partners xmas pressie the honeymoon suite wow it was awesome how the other half live we started of with afternoon tea which was lovely and few Gin cocktails then we made off to our room which was just worth staying in getting full use of it the photo don't give it the credit it deserves would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian m
Stacey M, Front Office Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May I take this opportunity to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor for the Torrance Hotel. Many guests have commented on how awesome the Honeymoon suite is. I am delighted you enjoyed our afternoon tea and cocktails. Our cocktails are fastly becoming a must have from our bar drinks menu. Thank you once again for your...

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here Sat 28th Jan with a £99 DBB deal. Room 2 - Nice decor. Comfortable bed. Nice sized TV. Good Shower (once it finally heated up). Not masses of space between bed & tea/coffee table have bruised shins from the wooden bed frame which myself and my partner kept walking into. Bathroom smelled like sewage so we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squinkydink
Stacey M, Front Office Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. The team here at the Torrance Hotel work hard to ensure that every guest’s expectations are met. I have highlighted the shortfalls in both quality and service to the Team and have addressed any issues as a training matter. I have also passed your review...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a wee overnight , dinner bed n breakfast , the dinner in restaurant was very nice and the service good , after dinner we went to the bar, didn't stay as there was no seats , although very busy there was plenty of floor space , more tables would be a big help , only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
Stacey M, Front Office Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor, since our complete refurbishments we have endeavoured to keep our Hotel facilities at the forefront of the hospitality industry and appreciate your comments, which I have passed on to our development team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to...

Croy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely night away for my birthday @ the Torrance hotel! Food was delish, had a few cocktails which tasted great too! Although the service at breakfast was a little slow and I didn't get the coffee I ordered (due to short staff) I would definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann27189
Stacey M, Front Office Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience following your overnight stay and dinner with us here at the Torrance Hotel. I have addressed your comments with the Breakfast team and will make improvements where possible to enhance our Guest Experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

My husband and I went to the restaurant in the Torrance Hotel to celebrate his birthday. The quality of our starters and main courses were very good and the service was efficient and friendly. My husband particularly enjoyed his steak.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
Stacey M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments on both food and service quality within your review on Trip Advisor. I do hope that The Torrance Hotel becomes your choice venue for any celebrations Kind regards

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My son booked and paid £59 per person for the worst meal I have ever had in a "hotel". Turkey was rolled vaccum packed rubbish that I can buy any day at any supermarket. Phoned to complain and spoke to assistant manager who admitted it was rolled breast bought in NOT TURKEY carved from a bird. He got the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cilla H
Stacey M, Front Office Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectation, we strive to always deliver the very best quality food. I will address your comments with the team and will make changes where possible to enhance our dinning experience to avoid any such incidents re-occurring. As per our recent...

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I booked this as a Christmas gift to one another. We tried to get the honeymoon suite but it was booked already so we asked for the next room down from that which also had a jacuzzi bath. When we arrived we were checked in promptly and efficiently. Our room was much smaller than expected - it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LittleBee211436
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic time at the Torrance on Christmas Day. Staff were fantastic and welcoming (especially Zachary and David), food was so good and lovely atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to anyone, even had some Australian family with us who said they absolutely loved it! Thank you to all the team, it was very busy but all staff were so attentive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Had our Christmas Dinner here and really wish I`d never gone. Fourteen adults jammed (and I mean jammed) into one long table so absolutely no elbow room. One cruet set for the table so you can imagine the arms and hands reaching over dinner plates to "pass the salt". Lipstick stains on glass which was returned. Unacceptable. The "turkey" served...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sprento

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
5.8 km away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
432 reviews
22.1 km away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
527 reviews
7.9 km away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,354 reviews
0.8 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
338 reviews
19.1 km away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: $155 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Torrance Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Torrance Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not ground floor (not room 2)”
 of 5 bubbles Squinkydink, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms on the same level as the function hall, there is no soundproofing in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles verydisappointed782, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Family had the entire hotel, and everyone said how quiet the rooms were - so well done for that.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciabK4110CX, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about other rooms but we were on the 2nd floor corner and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Z2520OOlindan, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 and 2 are not very private”
 of 5 bubbles 746martind, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5