We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tangalooma Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tangalooma Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tangalooma Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,352: English reviews
se qld
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Visited for a weekend of Easter School Holidays - peak time so accomodation was very expensive and the place was busy. I had a wonderful time over the weekend and I am glad I came, but this is not a 4 or 5 star resort although we paid 5 star prices. We bypassed the tours as they were very expensive...

2Thank cocosmoke
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Turned up for a romantic weekend away to propose to my girlfriend and was the worst experience ever. The place is old and outdated! Staff and management are rude! We had fire alarms going every night we were there (3 nights) between midnight and 6am and had to be evacuated from the building every time.we were never given an apology...

6Thank Trevor O
Tangalooma, Manager at Tangalooma Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Trevor O, We acknowledge this review and the three other similar 1-star reviews you have recently posted on TripAdvisor and Facebook. Unfortunately we are at a complete loss as to how to respond as we have no record whatsoever of Fire Alarms going off (particularly 3 nights in a row). We recognise this review to be identical to a...

Sunshine Coast, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We stayed in Villa and it was the best option for my little family 2 and 4 year old. Though if you have toddlers you will need to hire a stroller as the walk is too much. Or bring scooters if they are bit older. You are right on the beach in Villas so can walk across to swim and...

2Thank LalaLayna
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

This has got to be as near to heaven as you can get. It has got relaxation written all over it and from the minute of getting on the Tangalooma express, which is a boat by the way, the fun starts. Massive sand dunes that you can board down to going into the water to feed the wild dolphins that...

Thank Colin H
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

This is a great place to have an amazing holiday. Stayed for 4 nights in Jan 2014. Loved everything about this beautiful island. Dolphin feeding, snorkeling, sand tobogganing, helicopter ride etc. Great weather and the beach was beautiful. The place we stayed in was right up the end and was huge. Nice furniture, very clean. Definitely staying here again.

1Thank Laurenn08
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Spent a weekend at the beautiful resort. Nice room which comfortably fit 3-4 people. The rooms were just renovated and it is standard for leisure travellers like us. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Love the dolphin feeding session, hope I can spend more time with them. Hopped on the quad bike, it was adventures and definitely will try again if...

Thank YY625
Mona Vale, Australia
Reviewed 13 April 2015

I had read about feeding the wild dolphins on this island and this is what attracted me at first. There is so much more to do once you arrive! The ferry leaves three times a day from Brisbane Wharf. Twice in the morning and once in the afternoon. The ferry has free WiFi and is a very comfortable ride over...

1Thank GMF1959
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Currently staying in resort and whilst there are lots of daytime activities (usually additional cost) but limited in the evening to pub style entertainment. This is probably why the service in the only restaurant was so slow! Over an hour to get either food or drinks, although even at the beach cafe for lunch it was 45 minutes. OK the...

3Thank 45viv
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

I found the location beautiful. The resort needs updating. The resort needs to oversee their restaurants as there is no decent food to be found in the resort and it is all extremely over priced. On an island you would hope for fresh seafood yet we got what felt like frozen prawns and calamari on our first night and we...

2Thank Chelsea S
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here at least twice a year for the past 10 years or more. For tourists who are in Brisbane and short on time but want to experience the best Aussie waters and beaches but don't have time to visit the Barrier Reef, then here will not disappoint. There have been a lot of renovations recently which has...

2Thank TombRaider62

1,065 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1063)
View from Room (82)
Room/Suite (59)
Pool/Beach Area (169)
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Dining (29)
Bathroom (5)
Family/Play Areas (13)
Videos (1)
Other (581)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (2)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tangalooma
31.3 km away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
131 reviews
31.7 km away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
20.0 km away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#5 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
83 reviews
20.8 km away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Bribie Island
87 reviews
26.1 km away
Oaks Mon Komo
Oaks Mon Komo
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tangalooma Island Resort is surrounded by white sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and fringed by national park, presenting another world away right on Brisbane’s doorstep! The highlight of any stay is the opportunity to interact closely with nature. Each evening, a pod of wild bottlenose dolphins eagerly swim up to the beach where they are hand fed by our Dolphin Care Team and resort guests. Only 75 minutes from Brisbane, over 75 tours and activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tangalooma Island Resort

Address: Tangalooma, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Tangalooma
Price Range: $208 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tangalooma Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tangalooma Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangalooma Beachcomber / Driftwood Hotel Moreton Island
Tangalooma Island Hotel
Dolphin Resort Tangalooma Wild
Hotel Tangalooma Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tangalooma Island Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Tangalooma Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
dilysa2016, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Based on my experience on the beach don't go”
794yanam, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Villas offer more opportunity for relaxation away from day trippers than hotel rooms”
  • View from beach of our villa
  • View from Beachside Villa
  • split level accommodation in villa
cleve6, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book early”
Dwight1960, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Much of this resort has limited views. Villas are the best option but views are determined by the vegetation in front.”
Gottabekidding, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5