We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Sunderland High Street West

313 reviews
Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (5)
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“per hour”(6 reviews)
“stayed here”(39 reviews)
“travel lodge”(18 reviews)
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (313)Write a Review
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
185
91
18
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
185
91
18
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsper hourstayed heretravel lodgebreakfast boxesplenty of places to eatcentral locationtrain stationreception staffclean roommin walkcar parkmulti storeytown centregreat value for moneygood nights sleepnight staysaturday night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Basically the same as all the rest. Cheap, clean and basic. Bog standard breakfast available though I advise you walk into town for a decent breakfast at half the price. The best thing about this hotel is location for the city centre.

Thank David G
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Very disappointing stay in this Travelodge! We usually stay in the Sunderland Central Travelodge but decided to give this one a try. On the plus side, it was cheap,near to the city Centre, the room was spacious and smart and the reception staff were lovely....More

Thank Lynn U
Response from TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland High Street WestResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for submitting your review of our Sunderland High Street West Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so...More

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on a Friday night whilst at my Christmas party in Sunderland, paid just £34 for a double room which I thought was fantastic value. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, ordered a taxi for me which took 2 minutes to arrive....More

Thank MrCDT
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Another excellent stay, just a few tweaks needed for a 5/5 from me. Check in was quick and simple had a room on the "business floor" not sure what the difference is as I've stayed on all three floors now and not noticed anything different....More

Thank David H
Response from TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Sunderland High Street WestResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for submitting your helpful review of our Sunderland High Street West Travelodge. We're pleased to hear you found our Dreamer beds to be comfortable and your room was clean however we're sorry to hear of the issues that impacted your stay. In instances...More

Reviewed 13 November 2017

I've stayed here many a time due to having family in the area and I keep returning because it's always a great price and I know I will have a clean comfie bed and a good nights sleep. Once again the room was spotlessly clean...More

Thank nikfik
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345663
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Details
Price range
USD 50 - USD 89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 50 - USD 89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Haz D
3 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sunderlandhighs... M | Property representative |
Good Morning, there must be an 18yr old in the room with you as stated in the booking terms and conditions. Failing to abide by these may result in your booking being cancelled or being asked to leave the hotel. No one under... More
0
Votes
Cazz1975
20 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Tonyntracy | Reviewed this property |
Best off booking well in advance and you will get the rooms for a lot cheaper. My brother stays long term when he visits from his home in Spain and he has never spoke of any loyalty card scheme. He normally gets the room... More
0
Votes
Maureen1077005
8 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Sunderlandhighs... M | Property representative |
Hi Maureen, Thank you for the question. There has recently been an open air car-park open next to the hotel which charges 60p per hour between 8am and 6pm. The car park is free after 6pm and on Sundays. If you have any... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"I would pay the slight extra to have a room on the top floor"
Read review
"Ask for a room on 2nd floor or above."
Read review
"the beds are really hard so be careful"
Read review
"When booking pay the extra £5 for a quiet room there is a busy street outside."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing