We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 746: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi, I would like to thank you for the amazing Christmas Day we had at the roker hotel. When we walked in we got a lovely feeling as we saw the waiters at each table. We were seated at our table to find mocktails for the kids and prosecco for us as promised from last year when lunch was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your Christmas Day Luncheon at our hotel and also that gave us the opportunity to show our dedication and commitment in what we do and can assure you that we will pass you kind comments to Ishan. Finally we would like to wish you all a happy New Year...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Plans fell through and had to book somewhere last minute. Could not have been better from them arranging a table for two to the actual meal itself. The staff, food, service and view were excellent. Only tiny complaint was the food could have been warmer but it was a very minor niggle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 399eh
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review following your Christmas Day Luncheon and also for the positive feedback which has been taken by the team as a reward for their effort. Our aim is to improve always where necessary and therefore your comments are valuable and being looked upon. We look forward to your next visit...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were fantastic, service very good, starter was very tasty had ham hock terrine,beef cooked to my liking, food tasty but cold,roast potatoes were black and not roasted,but who complains Christmas Day, still managed to have a great family day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathrine t
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review and also for the positive feedback which has been taken by the team as a reward for their effort but our aim is always to improve and therefore your comments are valuable and being looked upon. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully impress you once more....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable clean room with large bathroom including bath. Nice spacious bar serving decent food. Didn't use the Italian restaurant but heard good reports about it.Good value hotel. If visiting Stadium of Light a £4 taxi ride or 20 minute walk. A £3 metro ride from the airport takes 50 minutes to reach Sunderland centre or get off at Seaburn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodeway
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Your feedback is greatly appreciated and so are your positive comments on the BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel and we are naturally grateful for your recognition. We look forward to seeing you again as we promise to continue our efforts to improve. Yours sincerely Management Team

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just wanted to say a big thank you to all of the team at the Roker Hotel, We had a brilliant day today. We went to the Forever Frozen day for my daughters 3rd birthday. She and her cousins loved every minute, entertainment, staff and food was fantastic. Looking forward to the next one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review and I would also like to thank you for the positive feedback which has been taken by all of us as a reward. It is nice to know that our hard work is recognised and appreciated. The team has been making an effort to improve our guests overall experience...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing night at the Roker hotel. Drinks in the bar and then a fabulous meal in the Italian kitchen. There was 17 of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Service was fantastic.... we will definitely be back soon 😃 Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review and we would also like to thank you for the positive feedback which has been taken by the team as a reward for the effort and to know that is also appreciated We would like to thank you for your continued support of our hotel and restaurant and look...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Was going to write a long drawn review. .but to keep it short the food was c..p.maximum profit for minimum outlay.had a hotter salad.soup tastless insipid coloured water. .i sometimes do voluntary work in a kitchen for unfortunate prople.trust me the food made here is far better.but on a good note .hold there isnt one.if your wheelchair bound or on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven b
TavistockHospitality, Manager at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear steven b We feel extremely disappointed that you had cause to complain at the time of your visit and feel that you were let down by the experience. I have now tried to contact you directly in the hope that we can have a personal discussion about the issues you have experienced and resolve it to your satisfaction. Thank...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I would be grateful if you would pass on my thanks to your staff for the wonderful time we had at our Christmas party in LTBC on Friday evening. Please pass on my special thanks to Tracey and her team for the organisation on the actual night. The staff have unreservedly all commented on what a brilliant night and atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lbp66
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to post a review and we would also like to thank you for positive feedback and are pleased we were able to impress you and your guests at our Christmas Party night and can assure you we will pass you kind comments to Tracey and the team. We look forward to your next...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Im not a one for complaints how ever had a lovely afternoon with friends in bar but getting to our room wearing a white coat and wet grey paint every were carrying bags is not the best way to start the day after going through the first door then down stairs then up then down on and on like i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleen b
TavistockHospitality, Manager at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen b We feel extremely disappointed that you had cause to complain at the time of your visit and feel that you were let down by the experience. We have now tried to contact you directly in the hope that we can have a personal discussion about the issues you have experienced and resolve it to your satisfaction. Thank...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I've just had my Christmas Party here (10/12/16) and overall a good experience! We arrived for checkin at 3 to friendly reception staff, found our room quite small but for one night, not a big deal, the bed was like a rock though! Generally the room was clean, the shower door/cover was slightly broken so water went everywhere, but as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
Manager184, Management Team at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your time posting a review as we do take all comments seriously and they are also shared with the team but following your initial problems we are pleased that our efforts were rewarded with positive feedback. Please rest assured that we have taken your constructive criticism on board and will certainly endeavour to improve on...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
1.0 km away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
652 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
233 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0.0 km away
The Pullman
The Pullman
#10 of 11 in Sunderland
149 reviews
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Italian Farmhouse Sunderland
Italian Farmhouse Sunderland
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Let There Be Crumbs
Let There Be Crumbs
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms and 2 function venues for events for up to 350 people, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more, we also house three bustling eating and drinking establishments. Open to residents and non-residents alike Let There Be Crumbs tearoom, Poetic License bar and Italian Farmhouse restaurant can all be enjoyed under our one roof. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: $74 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel Sunderland, United Kingdom
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
sunderland
10 days ago
Tividale, West Midlands
7 months ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No Wifi reception in room 114”
 of 5 bubbles redsterfootball, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 793ernestr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at the Hotel, just are Christmas Lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles 399eh, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for sea view you won't be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles 488cathrinet, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“143 this has been renovated with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Y2459TVandreab, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay