We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 285: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The White Horse Inn is set in nice countryside, the only negative is that it's by a very busy main road. Having said that, I didn't really notice the noise inside the hotel. The rooms are separate to the main building and are very clean and warm with a brilliant shower and had good Wi-Fi reception. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this. Really pleased you liked what we do.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for lunch en route to Norwich; lots of cars outside which is always a good sign. They sell their own fresh eggs! Nice touch. Decent sized restaurant, open fires, lovely toilets and food was excellent. 2 x ham egg and chips (LOADS of ham) and 2 x coffees for £21. Big portions. Didn't stay here overnight but would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c0lm4ns
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back to The white Horse Inn soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 1 night 2 rooms good price clean warm very nice, Internet and phone signal very poor staff friendly and helpful.food nice but expensive for what you get not a lot on your plate and i would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this inn for a weekend away whilst visiting family, we did their special weekend break which was excellent value. Our room was very big, bed very comfortable, white sheets and towels, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits all in room and replaced the next morning. Lovely shower room with toilet and hand basin. Large wardrobe and chest of drawers, tv,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. For another time we do prepare soups that are gluten free as an option. We will have a think about further alternatives. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Hotel part. Woken up at 7.15am with Workmen with leaf blowers , banging on doors , leaf machine , you get the picture . Someone takes a shower next door , you know about it , trust me . Plumbing is dreadful . If you stay here bring ear plugs !!!! Food was awful , had steak and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crunchie1966
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to read that you had a difficult time sleeping. I notice you had a similar problem at the windmill! Generally we have comments that the rooms are very quiet. I will take on board your comments about the gardener and see that he doesn't start so early. Obviously we are keen to see guests are not disturbed during their...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a Tuesday evening with a friend and we both thought that the food was excellent and the service was great. The portion sizes were reasonable so offered good value for money. I really enjoyed the cheesecake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sazzy C
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for posting! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The White Horse.

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the 'round table' in advance as there is only one, Just means you can chat to everyone instead of jus the one next to you, Meal was good as always. Friendly staff too. Just one complaint (not hotel fault) party of 10 or so on another table were really noisy, so load and shouting that we could not hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 45Ray
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! sorry about the noisy neighbor.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The White Horse Inn, Stoke Ash last weekend to take advantage of their 'Sunday Sleepover' offer. The inn is probably several hundred years old but has been beautifully renovated and extended. It's close to Thornham Walks - a lovely area of woodland open to the public (there's a good café near the entrance). Our double room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrije
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you are going to become regulars! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Brentwood
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed one night, but what an excellent choice we made. Our room was large and very comfortable with little extras not expected for the great price we paid, tissues, bottles of water etc. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service we could not fault. The staff and manager were attentive and focused, well done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janb02
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review to read on a Sunday morning! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I know Florin will be pleased when he reads this too, thank you.

Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I decided to break the trip to Norwich and avoid the rush-hour, so we pulled in here quite by chance. Boy were we lucky..!! The food was marvellous. Haggis scotch egg was knockout and the sirloin steak the best I have had this year. Well done guys it was top class. Mrs G had the Steak &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaldonMark
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Ash
6.1 km away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
400 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
27.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
192 reviews
38.0 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
8.8 km away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Annie, Shane and the team offer a warm welcome at The White Horse Inn. Ideally situated on the A140 close to the village of Eye in Suffolk and midway between Ipswich and Norwich, this delightful Coaching Inn dates back to the 17th Century and continues to offer the very best in hospitality to the weary traveller.In the grounds are spacious, comfortable motel bedrooms offering en suite facilities, FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, flat screen freeview television, direct-dial telephone and hospitality tray. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 140 Norwich Road (Main A, Stoke Ash IP23 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stoke Ash
Price Range: $99 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Stoke Ash
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cotton, United Kingdom
4 months ago
south
7 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 8, 9, 10 and 11 are in a separate new building but it's less than 10 metres away across a small paved area.”
 of 5 bubbles Gerrije, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Roads to the coast are very bendy expect an hour travel.”
 of 5 bubbles jonW134, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I imagine a room positioned at the back of the hotel would be quieter...”
 of 5 bubbles Seenoff, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept rooms 8-11 far to close to the road..”
 of 5 bubbles jeansam2014, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight.”
 of 5 bubbles soloman44, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay