We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Daintree Crocodylus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Daintree Crocodylus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Daintree Crocodylus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

This is the closest You can get to that experience without sleeping on Your on in the rainforest. For people looking for something Nic extra ordinary this is the place to visit. If You are FB addicted the just skip the place. Also people who are not camping minded should think twice. Bug are included on the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T11N
Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Love: the location, the novelty of staying within a rain forest environment, the staff, the delicious value-for-money meals, comfy beds, mosquito nets, the lo-fi, unconnected experience. However, don't take literally the 'resort' title in the entrance sign. This is definitely 'glamping' or backpacker style accomm and although we enjoyed our visit (our second), Crocodylus is showing its age. Our cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy0704
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I recently stayed in Cow Bay for 7 days, but I was not staying at Crocodylus. The hosts at my accommodation recommended that I check out Crocodylus for dinner the first night I arrived. I took their advice, and I'm glad I did. They seem to cook up a menu consisting of a few different dishes each night, catering for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mezzamez1704
Bristol
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Great location, has a restaurant and bar, and the accommodation is excellent, real rain forest experience. The prices are cheap too which is the icing on the cake. Friendly welcoming staff and their "OMG omelette" is to die for. I live on the tablelands and whenever we have guest, we always take them here! 5 stars guys!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markybones
Stavanger (sola.tananger)
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing nigth walk. Learn abote the rainforest. Its amazing=) lende abote trees and how the rainforest is conekted. And all the spes animals. Its an azome tour. We så dragon.spiders.bat.rat. And more can regomended it on the highest. Relly good guide! Our walk was on 24.october.2016

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PKS1989
Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Accommodation basic Eco style, comfortable beds and good mozzie nets. Could do with some general tidy maintenance the overall "resort" is looking very tired and needs a good scrub. The pool is disgusting with stains, dirty water and no pool furniture at all! No one swan in it; it looked like it might hold the resorts namesake a crocodile instead...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saltwater-living
daintreecrocodylus, Owner at Daintree Crocodylus, responded to this review

Just a couple of notes in response to the review: Overall our policy is to keep Daintree Crocodylus as close to natural jungle as possible. This means we do not manicure our rainforest, resort or paths but rather keep the jungle at bay just enough to let our guests move around comfortably. POOL The pool is getting a refurb over...

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This was a unique experience. Waking up in the middle of the rainforest was amazing. Highly recommend doing the night walk with Steve. It was great fun for the kids. The rooms are basic with shade cloth walls and mosquito nets but that is part of the experience. Great food is available as well from the restaurant on site.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daren S
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We had such a lovely stay at Crocodylus - stayed for 2 nights but could have easily stayed longer. Sleeping under canvas with the sounds of the rainforest was amazing. We were 'lucky' enough to have heavy rain for 24 hours, so we felt the full rainforest experience. Common area was very well set up with darts, lots of books,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kendra2472
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My partner and I had the best stay in one of the private cabins, we really got the feeling of sleeping in the middle of the jungle but without the annoyance of mosquitoes. The staff is lovely and very friendly. We loved meeting other travellers in the communal eating area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna P
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This place is amazing, we stayed in Satin Ash, this cabin had its own shower and toilet facilities. It's a tent like cabin in the forest, each bed has its own mozzie net, if you like sleeping with the sounds of nature then this is the place for you. You can self cater, kitchen and fridge facilities provided or you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Flobble F

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
10.9 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
511 reviews
3.8 km away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
1.8 km away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
15.5 km away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
336 reviews
17.8 km away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If your are looking for the real rainforest experience with no air conditioners or manicured lawns then Daintree Crocodylus is your answer. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms with or without ensuites, and our large Rainforest Bungalow that sleep up to eight. On-site we have eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, self catering kitchen, swimming pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. On top of that our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crocodylus, your ECO adventureland ... more   less 

Additional Information about Daintree Crocodylus

Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Rd | Daintree Rainforest, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Price Range: $56 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Daintree Crocodylus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Daintree Crocodylus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Crocodylus Daintree Region/Cow Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Daintree Crocodylus staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Daintree Crocodylus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the cabins are fine, but make sure to indicate that you want dorm-style or cabins with more privacy.”
7311234, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
22merelh, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is basic accommodation with shared facilities and showers only available at certain times.”
Cookalotta, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“You can book a family cabin for complete privacy”
K4522XZmicheles, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Huts all appear the same, can't recommend any”
JamesQH, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5