We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Booking.comUSD 97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 97*
USD 97*
USD 97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a beautiful location. The reception staff were all lovely and I cannot fault them, very helpful. The rooms looked nice and the view was good. The bathroom is very dated, old titles and a shower curtain, flush on the toilet didn't work. The bed was really uncomfortable and pillows very hard. Had a really bad nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ka8dal
Floriana, Malta
Reviewed 1 week ago

In the middle of the nice countryside, this hotel is very typical. The bedrooms are on the other side of the reception and inn, so it is calm. You see sheeps and trouts in the river just in front of the window. Large parking. The restaurant is mediocre, same "today's dish" for the two days we ate there. Menu very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sophiewoltz
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a superior room for a Saturday night at £170 and expected a bit of luxury. Sadly disappointed - £170 room shouldn't have been more than a £100 tops. Nothing special about the room other than it was quiet and overlooked the river through a small window. One pack of biscuits, basic coffee, no water and a duvet too small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PSE57
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PSE57 Thank you for your email, we are sorry you felt the bedroom was not to the standard you expected, we do feel that all pictures on all websites do give people a true feel of each bedroom. In regards to the features, we feel that not only are the Superior Bedrooms to a higher standard, the lovely setting,...

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The team are welcoming, the menu is varied and offers great choices especially with the specials. The Fishcake is very tasty as is the sizzly chicken fajitas. Coffee was excellent as well. This is a great place to dine out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeafR
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HeafR Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed meal with us. We hope you will return in the future. Kind Regards Jon Calvert Hotel Manager

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a meal here Saturday evening. It was very disappointing. The lady behind the bar was friendly but we had to find our own table and the young man who brought our meal was not very welcoming. My husband ordered steak which was tough and my fish was inedible as the skin had not been prepared properly resulting in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not good at all. After looking forward to our stay here for quite a while, it being slightly more than we would usually spend, we were disappointed with all aspects of our stay here. Walking in there was no welcome-although the receptionist was on the phone she didn't even look up to acknowledge us. The rooms were clean, but dated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HarrietLauren
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HarrietLauren Thank you for your review. I am sorry if your stay with us was not to the standard you were expecting, I have spoken to all departments about your review and the comments you have raised and they are unaware of these and nothing has been mentioned throughout your stay. If you had asked to speak to me...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been looking forward to staying here for a long time - it is a beautiful hotel and in fact we had the most wonderful view of the brook and fields from our room, which was spacious with good storage and a comfortable bed. The food too was generally good. However the trip was marred by several things. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken on board all comments mentioned. Kind Regards Jon Calvert Hotel Manager

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

First rate service from check in to out. Good Friday and hotel wasn't too busy but everything was first rate. Clean smart room, comfy bed, beautiful location, very helpful and atentative staff. Highly recommended this hotel. Poor internet and TV reception was the only thing wrong, but knew this before our visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MartinB thank you for your lovely review. We have now improved our internet speed with a new provider so hopefully this issue will now improve all our guests experience. Kind Regards Jon Calvert Hotel Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Three of us had lunch here on Sunday. The service was excellent as was the food. The scallop starter looked insignificant next to the smoked salmon scotch egg. For main courses we had the burger and also the nut roast. The burgers were delicious but were served on a narrow plate which made juggling everything on the plate a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R W
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Kind Regards Jon Calvert Hotel Manager

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We had a meal for five at 7.15 pm tonight. Service was somewhat slow, but good and attentive staff. Two of the party had beef and mushroom pie. However, my wife's pie had 2 small pieces of meat - that was it! She complained and the staff took the meal away. By the time a new pie came back, this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mwtflyer
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mwtflyer Thank you for your review. I would like to inform other customers about what happened. I will admit the Pie did come back and we did indeed give you a new pie but I disagree with your statement that it only had two piece of meat in it, as that is not true we sell over 70 Steak...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
7.0 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
881 reviews
4.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,432 reviews
4.3 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
453 reviews
4.3 km away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
599 reviews
4.6 km away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Price Range: $128 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift, you have to carry up your luggage”
sophiewoltz, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to room 10 (mind the broken lavatory) or 11 for a beautiful view”
CatherineA409, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have a lot of bags ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift.”
JuttaJumbuck, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms 24 to 28 for river view”
Allez-Brive, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River side rooms have a great view.”
Resurgam20, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 97* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 97
TravelocityUSD 97
PricelineUSD 97
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates