We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
55 Moo 5 Wang Krachae, 71150 Thailand
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 140
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 140
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 111
View deal
eDreamsUSD 143
TravelocityUSD 140
Orbitz.comUSD 140
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1170)
Room & Suite (419)
Dining (143)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 22 Speciality lodging in Sai Yok
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The FloatHouse River Kwai is a magnificent floating resort upon a finest part of the world's historical river,River Kwai.All floating villas are made of teak wood & bamboo featured with wooden furniture and broad range of services and facilities. Our distinctive design is to harmonize with gorgeous nature surroundings making the resort "design by nature".
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Lazy river
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Foot massage
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Thai
1058Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 649
  • 299
  • 74
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Meuok wrote a review Oct 2021
Bang Sare, Thailand130 contributions99 helpful votes
Reading Agoda's blurb, I thought 90m² rooms, full of old teak furniture, that's for me. Big mistake. The entire room might be 90m², but that includes the maintenance area, an area where the air condensers are, and the delightful raft area outside. The bedroom itself is about 30m². And the walls aren't teak panelled as one gets the impression, but the cheap rataan-style boarding. The toilet and shower area, however, is first class. However, as misleading are the pictures, the place is a delight and the view of the river and the jungle from your bed is worth the ฿3000 or whatever. The downsides are: you're obviously a bit captive here (although the resort organises horrendously priced expeditions) and the rather average food is expensive (and plus, plus). The breakfast, too, is very standard-issue (cold bacon), and should be better and more inspirational, bearing in mind the room rate, but the staff will fall over themselves to serve you. The wake from passing boats, causing the room to see-saw up and down might annoy some (though I considered it therapeutic!) Am I glad I had a night here....Yes...100%. Would I return....don't think so...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Khun Meuok, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
DieterJennifer86 wrote a review Jul 2020
Kissing, Germany75 contributions85 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
We stay there for several days. The boat transfer from the peer to the hotel was well organized and the trip with the longtail boat is always fun. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The bathroom has a seperate shower included a rain shower, the bed was comfortable and each room has the own private terrace with river access. The room was clean and the stuff friendly and always attentive. During the day boats passing by the hotel. Some people are not comfortable with the noise but we are never disturbed on that issue. Exactly this one and the shaking room after a boat is passing by make this place so special and gives a special feeling. In the evening and until the morning time it was totally quiet and so we could hear the animals and the sound of the river. The breakfast had not much choice but it was fresh and delicious and nice served. Because of the location there are no easy options to go to another place for dinner. But this was not necessary. The food at the restaurant was very delicious, fresh and for a location like this not too expensive. At this hotel its much fun to swim in the river. It's a must do! The only thing i have to criticize a little bit is the way back to your room after swimming. If the (beautiful) wooden way becomes wet its very very slippery. The staff try to dry it, but its a never ending and impossible work to do. Also if you walk barefoot or with good shoes it will be very slippery. You just need to know you have always touch the railing. But it will be better they can find a other solution to make it more secure. During COVID-19 time the resort must follow a lot of measures but they do it very exactly and in a not disturbing way. So it was a great location for our first holiday after the Corona outbreak. However, we love this resort very much and if we go again to this area we will stay here again and will recommend this resort to our friends. Special thanks to the very friendly staff at the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded 24 Jul 2020
Thank you for your recent visit to The FloatHouse River Kwai - Luxury River Retreat among the great green nature. It was our great pleasure to welcome you this time as well. Thank you for your compliments and we wish to have you back again in the future. We will definitely work more on the slippery when wet. Kindest regards, The FloatHouse
Read more
DelphineSpinelli wrote a review Oct 2021
Bangkok, Thailand142 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
It all starts at the pier when the boat comes to pick you up, you feel already in a remote place, in the middle of nowhere. The vegetation is luxuriant and we were impressed by the quite strong current. The water is brown at this time as we are still into the rainy season. There is also a land access, however it takes some steep steps to go down to the resort. The Resotel pier is definitely the best option. After a 10 minutes ride you reach the hotel, and for me it was a full wow effect. The hotel is composed of floating bungalows tied to each other with the lobby and a restaurant in the middle. Each bungalow has its own terrace right on the river. In the back there is a walkway running all along the bungalows and to the stairs where you can reach the land. The bungalow itself is super cozy and the view on the river simply breathtaking. The place is filled with good vibes. Bed and linen are very confortable, and the rain shower delightful. one thing we didn’t like was that the bathroom have no ceiling, that includes the (separated) toilet so that lacks a bit of privacy. Also each floating unit has two rooms separated by a set of doors on each side, but those doors are not really tightly closed, so if you have noisy neighbors you’d hear them very well, same goes if they decide to stay on their terrace all night. We were afraid to have an issue with mosquitoes or other bugs, but honestly we had less than in our house in Bangkok! Other than that we saw an occasional beetle and dragonfly. Restaurant is good, Thai choices excellent, western choices however less interesting. Breakfast is decent. The whole staff, lobby, restaurant, cleaning, etc is super nice and helpful. The hotel propose several activities, we went on a one hour boat ride which was fantastic. (Boat goes up river, it’s just an amazing scenery). When you go up the stairs you can grab a bike and ride to the nearby village or to the Resotel resort (we went there for a coffee, place looks amazing too), you can also use the pool there. We saw a lot of people swimming in the river as well! Over all we had a beautiful time at the Floathouse, beautiful place, beautiful scenery, nice and warm people - As said earlier, good vibes feel good place, ideal for a short getaway to just rest!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Khun DelphineSpinelli, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
jbene777 wrote a review Oct 2021
Maui, Hawaii222 contributions143 helpful votes
Attention, Attention, Attention, Tourists, Locals, and those looking for a special place to get away from Bagkok to relax. The Float House Resort on the River Kwai is truly the best on the river. The perfect get away from the Bangkok heat and for those looking to get in some relaxation, solitude, and a great experience. A true first class Resort directly on the River Kwai. All rooms and the Resort are floating on the river. All rooms have spectacular views, are decorated in fantastic Thai theme, have all the amenities of home, clean, great WIFI, and with nice linens. The bed, with the view, was very comfortable, and had the most amazing view overlooking the river. The Float House Resort on the River Kwai is the "Higher Standard" for "People, Product, and Process." I forgot to mention the food, breakfast included in the rate, was amazing!! Authentic Thai, amazing taste, and perfect!! Important when you are in such a secluded place for solitude and peace!! Thank you The Float House on the River Kwai for an amazing stay and I look forward to coming back to see you all again, since I live here in BKK!! If I have given you motivation to come stay, please give me a like and enjoy your amazing experience at a great resort!! To see any negative reviews say anything bad about the Float House is flat out ridiculous!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Any room is amazing. The float villas are in a line along the river. Can't go wrong in any of...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear, jbene777 Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
SidSolanki wrote a review Aug 2021
Pattaya, Thailand109 contributions17 helpful votes
Positive : 1. Good location 2.decent food 3. Room comfortable Negatives : 1. Big negative is their card machine does not seem to work with International card. I left the hotel and could withdraw money from atm - but at the hitel the card machine did nit accept 2. Coffee was watery 3. Food was average 4. Breakfast was below average - except egg station 5. We were checking out on Sunday and requested late check out . I asked if hotel was busy as normally on Sunday yiu have usually only check outs and very limited check in during covid times ….but lady at reception was very rude and flatly refused . After requesting , she gave one hour more ..which we said yiu can keep . They lost my lunch revenue and my future business of mine and my expat friends in bangkok
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Carry cash . Card has issues
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded 30 Sep 2021
Dear SidSolanki, Thank you for your kind feedback. After thorough investigation, we wish to clarify as follows:- 1. Card Machine (EDC) has been working very well until today. Unfortunately, only Master and Visa Cards are accepted at the Resort 2. Watery Coffee. During buffet breakfast, standard coffee was served. However, we do provide fresh coffee making machine in room free of charge. 3. Average Food. Our Chef was called to improve both the menu and the taste to suite all clients. 4. Below average Breakfast. Buffet breakfast comprising of varieties of European and Asian foods was served hot until 10.00 am. We always improve our menus to satisfy different nationalities of clients. 5. Checking-In and Out. According to Resort policy, checking in time is 14.00 hrs. and checking out is 12.00 hrs. However, we always compromise this regulation subject to rooms availability, as in your case you are allowed to early check in on arrival. We do hope above has clarified your kind comments. Please be assured that all of us here will spare no efforts to improve our service to the satisfaction of all our clients. Best Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 117 - USD 216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandKanchanaburi ProvinceSai Yok
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Float House River Kwai
Which popular attractions are close to The Float House River Kwai?
Nearby attractions include Rock Valley Hot Spring & Fish Spa (4.5 km), Kaeng Lawa Cave (0.5 km), and Mon Tribal Village (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Float House River Kwai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Float House River Kwai?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Float House River Kwai?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Float House River Kwai?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Float House River Kwai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Off Road Kitchen, Khrua ASA, and Baan-Aaya.
Does The Float House River Kwai have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Float House River Kwai offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Float House River Kwai have airport transportation?
Yes, The Float House River Kwai offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Float House River Kwai have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.