The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Peninsula Riverside Apartments

53 South Perth Esp, South Perth, Western Australia 6151 Australia
Traveller (105)
Room & Suite (71)
View from the Mends Street Jetty restaurant where we had breaky - went here to use the x1 $20 voucher from the hotel.
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 4 hotels in South Perth
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the Peninsula Riverside Serviced Apartments situated on the picturesque South Perth foreshore, overlooking the Swan River and Perth City skyline. Set in landscaped gardens The Peninsula is in an ideal location. It is only a few minutes walk to shops and cafes, an array of fine restaurants and the Ferry terminal; and is only 5 minutes by car or ferry to the Perth Central Business District. With a range of self contained apartments to suit short, medium or long term accommodation requirements there really is something for everyone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Thai

Location

53 South Perth Esp, South Perth, Western Australia 6151 Australia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Perth Airport
11.5 km
See all flights
316Reviews6Q+A74Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 111
  • 48
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mel13061973 wrote a review July 2020
Bunbury, Australia17 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I always stay here when I hit the city from Bunbury on business or family commitments and it is perfectly suitable. Bright and airy inside with a fully self contained kitchen with everything you need. An IGA is within walking distance so very Convenient for buying a few groceries while you are there. The foreshore is across the road with walk paths and a beautiful view of the city. The ferry is about 8 mins walking distance. Restaurants are within walking distance too. Freeway is just around the corner. It is in a quiet location with friendly ladies on the 24hr reception desk. The building is very secure with a password entry required after 8pm.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen S wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Australia211 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay 1 night in a 1 bed apt with king bed and side balcony. Great view of the Swan River and Perth City. No need to stay in the very more expensive front apts. It was a small apt which suited my husband and I for the 1 night. 2 disappointing points 1) no door on the bedroom, which was right by the front door and if one us had wanted to stay up and watch TV would have been difficult to sleep perhaps 2) only A/C unit in the lounge/kitchen which had a hard time cooling the bedroom, well not at all really - one reason no door on bedroom too i guess. 2 Levels to apts with central lift. Small common room for guests but a great idea with tv/beverage facilities, toilet and shower. Had breaky at the Mends Street Jetty Restaurant to use the 1x $20 voucher the hotel gave us. We booked direct with hotel and got a cheaper rate than Booking.com etc.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanja J, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you Karen. Our location is highly rated especially now with the redevelopment of Mends Street, with a number of new eateries and retail shops. Mr W on the jetty is a favorite with our guests. For future reference we do have on hand pedestal fans.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo D wrote a review July 2023
North Lakes, Australia8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff went out of their way to retrieve a dropped earring from a floor drain! I will
be forever grateful!

Great location for South Perth offices, lots of cafes, bars and restaurants within and easy walk (and a lovely view while walking along the river!)

Room was large and clean with modern decor and a private courtyard. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
surfing70 wrote a review Jan 2020
Secret Harbour, Australia91 contributions46 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night in December. Good
location and great view out the front of the river and the city.
However it says services apartment. There is a sign in the kitchen saying if you don’t do your dishes before leaving they will charge you $20. Isn’t that the point of paying for a SERVICED apartment. Not sure how much I would trust the people staying in the room the night before us how well or what they washed the dishes with. Could be a hygiene issue. Therefore I didn’t feel comfortable drinking out of the glasses/cups etc as we couldn’t be guaranteed how clean they would be. If I’m paying for a serviced apartment I should be assured my kitchenware is cleaned professionally by a staff member. Not just rinsed by the previous guest.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandorallen wrote a review June 2020
Perth, Australia23 contributions37 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
With its superb location to both amenities and the splendid backdrop of the city at night, you would think the owners of this location would build a truly wonderful experience with the rooms they supply. Sadly this is not the case.

We have spent less in caravan parks and had better facilities. The building in itself is dated and in real need of renovation. The internal set up of the rooms is cramped (and remember you can be paying $200+ for this “privilege”) and comes across as cheaply furnished with a real eye on the dollar when it comes to hair dryers/kettles and the horrendous sachet coffee.

Perhaps we could have let this slide as this was a one-off night’s stay however what made the experience truly dire was the row between guests below us that went on from around 2am till 6ish. We asked them to keep the noise down and were ignored and you only have an emergency mobile number to contact as there is no reception after 6pm and while incredibly tiring and frustrating I could not in good conscious say it was an emergency.

Even then we could have let our anger subside and write this off as an aberration until we told the receptionist of our experience, to which she responded, there’s nothing I can do about it and followed up with you’re checking out anyway……..

She seemed genuinely confused that we would wish to leave negative feedback though eventually she did say she would note it down.

WA has been called Wait Awhile and I would urge anyone considering a stay here to wait awhile and look at all your options. The 8.9 rating we saw for this establishment was way to high, it may rate a 6.

The overall view was, we can see why people don’t necessarily find Perth appealing especially as you pay top dollar for average. That being said there are good establishments out there who take care of their customers and in these changed times, if you want to support Australian business’s then make sure you get value for your bucks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry B wrote a review Apr 2021
Berkeley Vale, New South Wales, Australia21 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After leaving feedback , to the managers credit ( Sue ) I received a call to discuss my issues . Unfortunately though I am feeling further underwhelmed by the service . We booked three nights in the One Bedroom Suite - Riverside . It was advertised on Booking.com as " This suite is located on either the middle or upper floor and features a balcony with views of the Swan River. With an open plan, kitchen, living, and dining area, and an en suite bedroom. " taken from first paragraph of description. Disappointingly we were ground floor with a view of the car park with obscured views through Landcruiser canopies and other large 4wd vehicles of the River , understandably these vehicles are popular in WA. It was advertised as middle and upper floor though. Also the booklet within the hotel said daily room servicing including public holidays . However after leaving towels on the floor to indicate fresh ones were required , we were informed late in the afternoon that no room service was done on Sundays . Foxtel did not work , the microwave locked shut and the lounge had holes in it . They have signs in kitchen saying that they charge for washing up of dishes on departure , so we spent the first part of our stay re washing the plates , glasses and utensils as we are effectively being told that they were not professionally cleaned for our visit . The car park fills up quickly and it was difficult to get a park . After parking further down on the street another guest advised there was a rear car park , this is actually a smaller but secured car park . Would have been nice to have that info provided by the reception when we checked in ( reception window is next to the full car park so its a no brainer to advise of other parking options )
Managements response to my feedback was to predominantly blame Booking.com for the false description and photographs , "its a battle we have " . As for the car park being full of large vehicles that blocked any hope of a view , the response was " we ask the larger 4wd not to park against the balconies ( funny , we weren't asked not to park there ??? ) .She was shocked to learn of the description on booking.com , I would have thought its a key part of managements job to know what is being sold . Finally she asked if I was returning the the area again soon ( obviously to offer a cheap stay as goodwill ), i advised that it was not likely that we would cross the country again for at least a decade , she just stopped making the assumed offer . She simply thanked me for my feedback and said how much they value it , to which i said " so that's it then , I'm basically left out of pocket for not getting what I paid for as per the booking description "which went non responded , no offer of refund or any offer really.
So why have i given 2 stars , well the location is superb and the place was clean and comfortable so I have to be fair on that score despite my overall disappointment .
I hope this review helps others choose their stay wisely .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I would read the other reviews in the 1 to 3 star bracket . I should have ! Cant beat the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tania H wrote a review Jan 2020
Vasse, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are ALOT more dated than what is shown in the website gallery. My children were unable to sleep in their beds due to being itchy, we put this down to the heat and they spent the night in our bed. Upon inspection in the daylight we saw the room and beds were infested with ants. I have videos that show the extent of it but staff would not come and look on the day, Management are ignoring my emails including the videos. Reported to the woman on duty was told Manager wasn’t available.
Phone call we eventually received was unprofessional. She blamed staff and spent the time on the phone complaining about staff. Not what you expect when you pay $300 for a night in a hotel, despite the Managers claims 'this is what happens when you book a ground floor garden room'. No hotel room should present this way, there is no excuse, my children should not have been sleeping in beds being bitten and crawled on by ants. I live in a rural area in bushland in a ground floor house and have no such issue.
An offer to compensate us 'if and when we return to the city' was made which is laughable. Why would we want to return?! I have emailed the management and they are ignoring me.. not a good experience, beautiful location, bad management.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanja J, Business Development Manager at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Our ultimate goal is guest satisfaction at all times so we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation for this visit. We have referred your feedback to the various departments to address.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
What wrote a review Mar 2023
Toronto, Canada845 contributions490 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for three weeks and plan to do so again. The accommodation was fairly spacious although lacking a little in drawer space. The kitchen was quite well equipped, but no dishwasher. The front desk is very helpful if there is something you need. Our apartment was cleaned most days, but not all. We never did figure out the schedule. But service was certainly more than adequate. We had a ground floor room (Number 8) with a nice little patio. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the room was very quiet. Incredibly convenient for the ferry to the CBD, to a Good Grocer supermarket that could provide everything you could possibly want to eat or drink and to several restaurants, cafes and other retail stores. Altogether a fabulous place for a long stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms with a patio are especially nice. Better than just a balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lex C wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this accomodation for my business trip and could not travel because of the virus. Contacted them to cancel my booking. They refused any type of refund and just pocketed the money. I than said in that case I will try to get into Perth anyway. They just said sorry your booking is already canceled and cannot be reinstated. Spend your money elsewhere. They will try to take you for a ride if they get the chance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanja Juers, Sales at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Dear LexC83, Further to our initial response below, we believe we have established the booking channel that you booked through. Your payment was made to this booking channel and not direct to us. We had authorised the cancellation of your booking without penalty, therefore you should have received a refund from them. If this is not the case, please contact us so we can further investigate. Initial response- We have tried to locate your booking to establish how we may help you. Could you please advise which booking channel you used to make the booking and the date the reservation was made. We would like to investigate this further for you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RIceAdel wrote a review July 2023
Adelaide, Australia86 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely accommodation, close to ferry and eateries, glorious water views and Perth city. Stayed in both the courtyard and balcony suites, each great for different reasons. Courtyard was lovely but cool in winter (not much sun), however, bedroom had a TV as well as lounge. Bedroom a wee bit bigger. AC extended into bedroom. Balcony room fabulous views and a warmer room, delicious for winter, could sit on balcony and enjoy views on a sunny day. No TV in bedroom, which was a tad smaller and a bit stuffy (AC couldn't reach into bedroom). However, still pretty comfortable, great location. Lounges a little tired, but all in all fabulous value for money. We had everything we need. Communal laundry facilities. A bonus was the eatery vouchers, thank you. Great time here. Would recommend...and we would certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Balcony room fabulous for views, but may be a bit hot in summer, depending on your comfort. ...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsty asked a question Sept 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Do any of these rooms have balconies?
Answer from The Peninsula P
Hi Kirsty, Our Balcony, Riverside suites have small balconies that have a table and chair setting for 2 people. The Panorama, Esplanade Riverside, Grand Riverview and Executive suites have larger balconies with table and chair setting for 6 people. These suites have views of the Swan River and Perth CBD.
Matt L asked a question Sept 2019
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand196 contributions40 helpful votes
Is there a bath in any of these rooms ?
Answer from cheriko112
Singapore, Singapore173 contributions69 helpful votes
Yes only 1 bathroom with attached toilet in the master bedroom, to be shared by all.
Kerry B asked a question Nov 2018
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions5 helpful votes
Do any apartments have their own laundry
Answer from Smithsabroad123
Queensland, Australia105 contributions24 helpful votes
There is a coin operated laundry room on site
MaryannePerth asked a question Jan 2018
Australia256 contributions45 helpful votes
Is there a toaster in a standard room?
Answer from shelstaj
Berowra, Australia31 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes it did
Ken T asked a question May 2017
Devonport, Australia28 contributions9 helpful votes
Do you have a charge back facility from local restaurants to the rooms?
Answer from MummaB59
Perth, Australia9 contributions2 helpful votes
There is no charge back facilities but they do give you a voucher ($20) for a great restaurant over the water which we used for breakfast 😃
Kathy P wrote a tip Nov 2023
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No netflix "
Read full review
cervelogoldcoast wrote a tip Aug 2023
Gold Coast, Australia222 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We didn't have a car, but parking is no problem; otherwise, all good."
Read full review
RIceAdel wrote a tip July 2023
Adelaide, Australia86 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balcony room fabulous for views, but may be a bit hot in summer, depending on your comfort. Courtyard is lovely under trees."
Read full review
Cathy H wrote a tip Apr 2023
Gold Coast, Australia165 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free on-site parking but super tight spots beware"
Read full review
What wrote a tip Mar 2023
Toronto, Canada845 contributions490 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms with a patio are especially nice. Better than just a balcony."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the South Perth area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$220 - AU$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peninsula riverside apartments hotel perth, peninsula perth, perth peninsula
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaGreater PerthSouth Perth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PENINSULA RIVERSIDE APARTMENTS (AU$220): 2024 Prices & Reviews (South Perth) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Nearby attractions include South Perth Foreshore (0.1 km), Mends Street Jetty (0.3 km), and Paddle Steamer Decoy (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rambla on Swan, The Windsor Hotel, and Mister Walker.
Is The Peninsula Riverside Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of South Perth.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Thai, and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bell Tower (1.4 km), The Perth Mint (2.3 km), and DFES Education and Heritage Centre (2.1 km).
Does The Peninsula Riverside Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All South Perth HotelsSouth Perth Hotel DealsHotels near The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars