We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manhattans

Orbitz.comUSD 78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 78*
USD 78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Manhattans
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Manhattans
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
crewe
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Second stay here was just as good as the first. We had one of the new rooms. We had to share the Bathroom but it was nice and clean. Was good value for money and it is noisy from the Nightclub downstairs but this finished at 1.30. Defenitley going back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank slimlady70
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got back from staying at Manhattans and it was awful. The staff were friendly and welcoming but the rooms were not up to standard at all, 1 broken bed and a seriously dodgy tv......not great to start with but the worst thing was the noise, absolutely disgraceful. When I booked I could have never imagined that's would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Cheryl H
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were made aware 3 times, twice from booking.com as well as when you checked in at our hotel that the hotel is situated on top of a night club and that noise will be heard, you had...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at Manhattans after a party, the rooms are very nice and tidy. bar downstairs reasonably priced and Dj music was spot on. great value budget accommodation i would recommend it not to far from city center £7.00 in taxi

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leehoult
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 1am technically the day after we were suppose to check in. Luckily the bar downstairs was still open and a nice young guy helped us to our room. The room is quite spacious (3 beds when we only expected one). The rooms are very tidy and new. Obvious amount of restoration has taken place since the change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucachizz
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Where to start. Wow this place has got it all, amazing staff and manager, beautiful rooms and a nifty club underneath (sound proofed) I cant believe the service and help we received, were not from Newcastle and need help with places to go as it was my birthday and wanted a great night out and thanks to the staff that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandan1991
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Our second vist to this bar/nightclub it really is a great party venue. This time we had a large en suite room it was well worth the extra money £25 for two people. Basic room with tv and tea and coffee but also nice and clean. The staff where great as usual. The nightclub below is open till 2am so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smoothboy3
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just back from a septic weekend in newcastle. Three of us booked into one room in manhattans. We really enjoyed our stay. Only £7 for a taxi from manhattans to the city centre. Very friendly staff. Matthew the owner is a top man, very friendly and helpful with regards to where the best places to eat and drink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntoMc89
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There was a large group of us staying here, we all found the place very clean and tidy we were a little concerned about the shared bath room facilities but once we arrived and saw them we were all rather pleased. The rooms were all large and very spacious. It is ideally situated above a Pub which was great for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank porgi
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were staying over for a stag weekend, rooms where perfect for a group of people staying over. Bathroom and toilet were clean as well as the rooms. The staff were very helpful and nice. The bar/club downstairs was a bonus, we all spent plenty time in it. Would definitely recommend Manhattans as a place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmac25
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Good value for money. Good location to start the Hadrian's Wall walk. The staff were friendly. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed. The noise from outside was continuos all night and early morning. Funny damp smell in the corridors. Mixed views about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie_D1985
Ros K, Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you were not entirely happy with your stay with us. The carpets are vacuumed on a daily basis please keep in mind we are a hotel and have a lot of human traffic through the corridors and naturally we cannot have someone vacuuming carpets 24/7, a...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
545 reviews
5.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,341 reviews
8.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
382 reviews
4.4 km away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manhattans is a small hotel that endeavours to provide comfort and great service to our customers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Price Range: $99 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manhattans 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manhattans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are spot on”
835kelr, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Top floor in far corner is best insulated from noise”
darrenm334, 5 May 2015 | Read review
“upgrade to en-suite”
leehoult, 28 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Pay the extra money & get an en-suite.”
LouiseG_13, 1 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the Large En-Suite room as this also has its own dressing room!”
Kiera1990, 11 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 78* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
TripAdvisorUSD 78
Priceline
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates