We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manhattans

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Manhattans
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Manhattans
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with friends for a birthday and we were all left disappointed. We payed £300 for two rooms, most certainly not worth the money. There was broken lights in the room and uncomfortable beds. The cups had not been washed from previous guests and the spoons were stuck to the cup, absolutely disgusting. The 'nightclub' is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annoymous11362
Ros K, Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. What you forgot to mention in your review was that £300 was for 2 rooms for 8 people so your complaint about the pricing is utterly unfair considering that you cannot get a room in the city centre for 2 people for under £100 on a Saturday night. You also...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Four of us stayed for a football trip in Newcastle and I can't rate this place highly enough. Nice big spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Very close to a Metro line so easy to get around in the day. Best thing about it was that the owners were some of the nicest people you could meet and will do anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here mid-week so it was nice and quiet as the nightclub isn't on . The rooms where very clean and plenty of space and very reasonable in price. The shared bathroom was massive with a bath and the staff are very friendly great bar downstairs as well. Will definitely go back when next in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smoothboy3
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Just returned from 2 nights at Manhattans!! Literally had the best stay great location, reasonable prices and the drinks in the bar downstairs are proper cheap too! Matthew was the perfect host, gave us the low down on the best places to go out! Ros and the rest of the staff were really friendly too! Rooms are clean and big!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RLC211
Lisburn
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from a hen weekend. Matthew is fantastic, friendly and an amazing bar an hotel owner. The hotel is so clean, fresh towels everyday. the nightclub down stairs is even better with DJ Matthew absolutely hilarious very good at what he does don't need to leave this place for anything cheap drinks with brilliant flash promotions, Also the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kathy188
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Omg cud not fault this place..... cheap booze,absoulutely fantastic bar staff and fun to be in. Me n the girls had grrrreat crack the whole stay. Rooms clean n fresh. Have da say the manager was sooo friendly,funny and great banter from all. Cant wait come back thanks for a smashin hen weekend xx

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank josie133
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in manhattans hotel in may for my sisters 21st.. forget all the reviews you have read about manhattans because there not even true! Very clean, brilliant warm, welcoming, fun, cheerful staff, very welcoming hotel, close to newcastle city centre. Perfect hotel for weekend stays! I will definitely be back! Loved every second of it!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jayne A
crewe
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Second stay here was just as good as the first. We had one of the new rooms. We had to share the Bathroom but it was nice and clean. Was good value for money and it is noisy from the Nightclub downstairs but this finished at 1.30. Defenitley going back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank slimlady70
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got back from staying at Manhattans and it was awful. The staff were friendly and welcoming but the rooms were not up to standard at all, 1 broken bed and a seriously dodgy tv......not great to start with but the worst thing was the noise, absolutely disgraceful. When I booked I could have never imagined that's would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Cheryl H
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were made aware 3 times, twice from booking.com as well as when you checked in at our hotel that the hotel is situated on top of a night club and that noise will be heard, you had...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at Manhattans after a party, the rooms are very nice and tidy. bar downstairs reasonably priced and Dj music was spot on. great value budget accommodation i would recommend it not to far from city center £7.00 in taxi

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leehoult

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
450 reviews
5.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,302 reviews
4.4 km away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
480 reviews
10.6 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manhattans is a small hotel that endeavours to provide comfort and great service to our customers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Price Range: $48 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manhattans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are spot on”
 of 5 bubbles 835kelr, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Top floor in far corner is best insulated from noise”
 of 5 bubbles darrenm334, 5 May 2015 | Read review
“upgrade to en-suite”
 of 5 bubbles leehoult, 28 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Pay the extra money & get an en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseG_13, 1 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the Large En-Suite room as this also has its own dressing room!”
 of 5 bubbles Kiera1990, 11 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5