We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solitaire Desert Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Solitaire Desert Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Solitaire Desert Farm
 Click to rate
Paris, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wassurprised at this price with half-board. We have to drive 7km on a side road from C14, however, it's worth to visit a farm surrounded by nature. Each room is wide and the ceiling is very high. This atmosphere is largely different from that of city hotels. Every guests looked satisfied.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hitoshit2017
Walldorf, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly staff, all managed very individual. Nice pool and restaurant area and perfect for sunset view. Very spacious bedrooms and bathrooms plus veranda also facing sunset. Be careful that you do not get stuck on the sandy driveway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 215burkhardv
Monster, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had been here before and had a good experience so we came back in February 2017. Suddenly we were not allowed in the swimming pool anymore. It was a big disappointment for our two kids. It is not mentioned on the website of the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judithzuiderwijk
Carey P, Manager at Solitaire Desert Farm, responded to this review

Dear Judith, So sorry for your disappointment. We've always had a day-use fee for campers to use the pools. Some campers book packages that include dinner, breakfast, and activities and pool use is added to that package. You may have been on such a package your first visit, but you were not on this trip. However, you and your kids...

Zofingen, Aargau, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All in all it is a nice place for a few days: There are two refreshing pools, a nice beer-garden (slow service) and a good restaurant (but if you stay 3 days it will be two times exactly the same food from the buffet). The landscape around is beautiful. The prices are fair. Note: If you are going to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
Fortaleza, Brazil
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel in a great location in the middle of the desert. We were able to walk around, feel the sun, even practice yoga. The sunset there is something else out of this world. It's just amazing. Also the staff was very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 40marcia
Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

beautiful setting, comfortable rooms, fabulous dine and wine, excellent atmosphere. Lovely swimming pool with bar area. Christine, the manager is a very friendly and special person! Wifi available in some areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 806millied
torino, italy
Reviewed 18 February 2017

very nice place, not the exaggerate luxury lodge I don't need when traveling, but everything working and excellent service. We received very good informations on our next destinaions and enjoyed swimming pool and panorama.Near Solitaire much game, Oryx and Zebras.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank turistanonacaso
Reviewed 28 January 2017

This accommodation was part of an overland camping tour I was on, on arrival we were blown away with how beautiful the site is. There was 2 pools. a bar, a chill out area. and WiFi as well as a restaurant. When the temperature is 40 degrees the first thing you would want to do is jump in the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tej_Chau
Carey P, Guest Relations Manager at Solitaire Desert Farm, responded to this review

Hi Tej, As an owner of Solitaire Desert Farm, I can certify that the swimming pools are for lodge guests only. We could indeed “Fire the manager”, not for the reasons you suggest, but for bending that policy for your group. We won't fire her, because we adore her, she is talented and incredibly hard-working, and we stand behind her...

Schlangen, Germany
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Nice lodge with nice rooms near Solitaire, a good stop on your way from Sossusvlai to Swakopmund, dinner and breakfast are good, there is a small swimming pool to relax, you can park your car directly infront of your room

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G1741ZXclaudiac
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

This place was quite the nice surprise. Located 7km from the main road this property had it all. Wifi, bar, pool, great rooms with powerful AC, great buffet selection and the staff was great. Don't pass this place up as I hear the camping grounds are top notch as well

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom H

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitaire
20.0 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
230 reviews
24.2 km away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
185 reviews
27.1 km away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#15 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
150 reviews
0.0 km away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Solitaire Desert Farm is a small, peaceful lodge at the foot of the Rantberg Mountains. Guests enjoy hiking, mountain biking and fat tire bike rentals, nature drives and night drives. The farm is rich in free-roaming wildlife and endemic bird species. Our open-air restaurant serves fresh, delicious dinners with a great selection of fine South African wines. We sit at the centre of the Solitaire Land Trust, dedicated to preserving the natural habitat of the Namib desert and bordering grasslands for endemic zebra and vulnerable cheetah populations that historically reside here. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solitaire Desert Farm

Address: | 7 km from C14 and C19 junction, Solitaire 9000, Namibia (Formerly Solitaire Guest Farm Desert Ranch)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Solitaire
Price Range: $173 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitaire Desert Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Solitaire Desert Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solitaire Desert Farm staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Solitaire Desert Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wifi was available in the bar and restaurant and if your room was close to reception!”
 of 5 bubbles AJKPerth, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No A/C but a ceiling fan in all rooms. Some rooms a a good walk from reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 679hughc, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I believe that all rooms had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles Micheljane, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Family house also available”
 of 5 bubbles E4522GKrobertl, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are situated in quiet farm-style arcade, lodge offers self-catering rooms and campsites.”
  • Desert landscape of the Namib
  • Sparkling pool
  • Rock and plant garden
 of 5 bubbles MaSmaNa, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5